Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre!
This is the second instalment of the Unbreakable Trilogy, and follows on from The Silver Chain in which the reader was left at the end knowing Pierre, Gustav's long lost brother returns. However we had been left knowing Serena and Gustav were in a position to move on with their relationship which takes them to New York. Pierre follows them there and he certainly has a big...
Published 16 months ago by Foxylutely Book Reviews

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite racy but very predictable !!
Predictable chick-lit with a racy edge and plenty of erotic passages mainly about life in New York with photographer Serena and her stud of a boyfriend Gustav with his brother Pierre thrown in to spice things up a bit. It's a bit boring at times and you struggle to find the impetus to keep on till the end - but I managed it and decided that it was only just worth it...
Published 14 months ago by David H J Ashdown


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre!, 24 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Golden Locket (Unbreakable Trilogy, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second instalment of the Unbreakable Trilogy, and follows on from The Silver Chain in which the reader was left at the end knowing Pierre, Gustav's long lost brother returns. However we had been left knowing Serena and Gustav were in a position to move on with their relationship which takes them to New York. Pierre follows them there and he certainly has a big impact on the storyline.

In this book Serena has matured considerably from the first book which was engaging in the `older, rich tycoon ravishes young country shy girl' kind of way. But here, well let's just say she is a totally different woman. Capitalising on the success of her first art show which Gustav had played a major part in, she is now trying to establish herself in New York to the rich and famous who she has promoted her skills as an voyeuristic photographer with the acclaims sweeping over the pond from London. It is in these commissions she lands that shows another darker and more advantageous side of Serena. Although Gustav shows conflict with this he knows he needs to let Serena experiment and act on these desires that he played a major part on being released.

For me it is these areas of the book I found a little hard to take. Whilst taking the pictures of the rich couple from high society she finds herself moved from being the voyeur to being engaged in the activity. Then again with the senator's wholesome and innocent daughter on her pre marriage photo shoot and the dancers in the theatre behind that screen - just flabbergasted me! A whole lot of WTF was going through my mind reading these scenes.

As for Pierre, he was a conundrum and his behaviour so bizarre but then I guess we have a lot more to learn about Gustav's younger brother and the `damage' Gustav's ex-wife, Margot has done to him. Oh yes Margot was still ingrained and entwined throughout the book and her evil spread even into the relationship Serena holds with her cousin Polly.

Polly was another eye opener in this book, as in book one she was a go getter, trend setter, kick ass who let no one control her. Yet here she is with Pierre being a total doormat. Gasp!

It was a delight to see the trust built between Serena and Gustav and I loved the action of what Gustav does to the silver chain near the end of the book. A wonderful significance of what the chain had been throughout both books.

But I guess the star of the book is the golden locket (hence the title) and I had tried to guess the significance of this. Was it an ownership emblem? What was held inside? Would it be a new contract for Serena or would it mean an entirely new direction for them both? I loved that by the end of the book Serena and Gustav had overcome another hurdle and cemented a new depth of love and trust.

However naughty, naughty Ms Bond leaves us with another cliffhanger! Who was the voyeur in that car outside the gallery, who left that letter and what the hell did it say? Good heavens I shall have to wait until The Diamond Ring is released in May 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite racy but very predictable !!, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Predictable chick-lit with a racy edge and plenty of erotic passages mainly about life in New York with photographer Serena and her stud of a boyfriend Gustav with his brother Pierre thrown in to spice things up a bit. It's a bit boring at times and you struggle to find the impetus to keep on till the end - but I managed it and decided that it was only just worth it although the erotic parts were a lot better than in " 50 Shades of Grey "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Locket (Unbreakable Trilogy, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I had high hopes for this book think the author lost her mo Jo half way through writing it. The story had a great character & a great love interest with some raunchy stuff thrown in. Why the author chose then to throw three somes, lesbian scenes in I don't know . To mixed up for me no thread as to why the character would suddenly be doing all this stuff. Stopped reading half way through & was totally bored . If you loved the fifty shades & couldn't put it down & the man trilogy by jodi malpas this book isn't in the same league very disappointed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Followup to The Silver Chain, 9 Oct. 2014
Overall, The Golden Locket delivered great character development, tension, and l loved walking away with my own sense of being a voyeur. Serena Folkes is quickly discovering a new side to her, and isn't shy in convincing Gustav in what she wants. Although, the poor guy after all he's endured with his ex-wife, I just want him to have his peace, and be happy.

This installment in the Unbreakable Trilogy was a vast improvement over the first, and I'm dying to read the final book. Aside from a few quirky lines that feel misplaced, this series is a must read for fans of the Fifty Shades of Grey series, and have an appreciation for photography. Be prepared to be whisked away to Serene's world where anything goes, and middle-aged folk are sexy and confident in their lifestyle choices.

4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Locket (Unbreakable Trilogy, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
the story continues Gustav has asked Serena to go with him to New York where she will carry on with her photography but during these sessions she learns more about her own sexuality. Meanwhile ghosts from Gustav' s past keep appearing, after years apart from his brother and him returning Gustav wants to rebuild their relationship but his brother has other ideas. Will the past insecurities drive a wedge between Gustav and Serena get your copy to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 24 Sept. 2014
By 
This is the second book in this trilogy and it is just as good as the first on. The first book left us wanting to know if Serena and Gustav's can have a relationship together. I found that Serena had matured a bit more in this book and that helped with the storyline. Gustav is still the same strong character coming across. Another good read and can not wait to read the final book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed up story, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Edna Elizabeth Hoyle (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I will definitely read the whole set but not as enjoyable as other similar type books, the fact that Sabrina can't seem to make up her mind properly whether she likes men, women or both but has sexual relations with both whilst being deeply in love with a man makes for a bit of a strange tale to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Locket (Unbreakable Trilogy, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely gripping storylline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars None, 3 July 2014
This review is from: The Golden Locket (Unbreakable Trilogy, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I have really enjoyed this series, up to a point. I don't know why Serena suddenly turned into some kind of sexual deviant midway. I get that she was throwing off the shackles of her awful past and finding Gustav, older, experienced in things she had no knowledge of, could have a major effect on her sexually but really, when finally finding the acclaim she sought through her photography she is suddenly having lesbian threesomes with her clients? she seems to 'suddenly' find her clothes being removed? At this point it felt more like a Carry On soft porn film. I will stay with these books because, other than the point I mentioned, these are good and very well written stories. I want to find out about Margot and what will happen between the brothers . I'm halfway through the Locket so really hope Serena sees the light and goes back to the feisty girl she was and maybe picks up a few morals on the way : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Locket (Unbreakable Trilogy, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed and got in to this book a lot easier than the 1st book was very shocked in certain parts of the story ! Can't wait to get started on the next in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews