Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music
Archetypal Snow Patrol sound& lyrics. If your a fan of these you won't be disappointed only glad you bought it!
Published 17 months ago by Rick

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tired Pony - tired band
Sorry to anyone who rates this album, but I have to say it. The first Tired Pony album was on regular repeat for over a year, I thought it was stunning (it actually made me reassess Snow Patrol), with contributions from the likes of Tom Smith (on majestic form) and Peter Buck. There was something epic, almost biblical about the album. It was, in short, a real stroke of...
Published 23 months ago by A. Stevenson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Archetypal Snow Patrol sound& lyrics. If your a fan of these you won't be disappointed only glad you bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Of The Mountain (Audio CD)
Musical appreciation is subjective of course but I love this album - and think Snow Patrol fans would too probably. Most songs are instant classics and I seem to play little else at the moment. The backing singers are excellent too and I love little touches like the tremulous Mandolin of Peter Buck shining through on occasion to give little notes of REM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No ordinary supergroup, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Of The Mountain (Audio CD)
I hesitate to call Tired Pony a "super group" as all too often such collaborations fail miserably, but with Snow Patrol's lead singer Gary Lightbody fronting for others from the likes of REM and Belle and Sebastian, this certainly is not the case.

When the idea was conceived to put together Tired Pony, it was Lightbody's ambition to bring the listener a more Americana/Folk style recording, but whilst "The Ghost of the Mountain" may not resemble those genres totally, it is largely a much more stripped down affair compared to his own band's offerings.

The Snow Patrol front man's expressively plaintive vocals are made for such songs as the evocative "all things all at once" "I don't want you as a ghost" and the gentler acoustic guitar lead "carve our names" and "your way is the right way home".

I think Snow Patrol fans and those who aren't will be equally pleasantly surprised by what they hear on both this album and the debut "Places We Run From".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stick with it !!, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Of The Mountain (Audio CD)
This a bit of a grower and now I have listened to it several times I am beginning to find there are quite a few good tracks on this album. There are potentially some classics particularly the last track "your way is the way home"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gary lightbody is a genius, 15 Oct. 2013
By 
Amanda Teasdale "tetleyteabag" (cumbria englang) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Of The Mountain (Audio CD)
i`am very bias i love all of gary lightbody`s work brilliant songwriter, lyrically and musically songwriting doesn`t get better than this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Of The Mountain (Audio CD)
Very decent album! Not quite what I expected but certainly better than I expected in many ways. Will need to order the first album now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real music for real music fans!, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Of The Mountain (Audio CD)
The one sad thing about this CD? Most of the music buying public will never get to hear it because the record companies are more interested in profits than musicianship!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant album, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Of The Mountain (Audio CD)
I am very rarely driven to write reviews but this album is absolutely fantastic. Every track lingers in your head and its my favourite of the moment. A great array of talent combines to bring you this amazing album. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening., 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Of The Mountain (Audio CD)
I love this latest CD from Tired Pony - it makes easy listening and Gary LIghtbodys vocals are always exquisite ( apart from him effing a bit on track 3 - no need Gary)
Catchy little numbers with a slight country vibe. Lots of lovely guitars. Ive really enjoyed playing it over and over.
(i am a big snow patrol fan)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Hit, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Of The Mountain (Audio CD)
I bought this for my wife because she is a big fan and she never stops playing it its great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ghost Of The Mountain
The Ghost Of The Mountain by Tired Pony (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews