Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a brief book but worth reading
I liked it. Nothing spectacular but interesting. A light read and if that is what you want then this is the book for you.
Published 12 months ago by peterbbb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but could have been so much better.
I expected more from this book, I guess I wanted it to give me more "WOW!!" moments and surprise me a bit more. However, where it lacks in shock and awe value, it makes up for it with very accessible writing, straight forward explanations and some cute asides and stories.
Published 11 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a brief book but worth reading, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fact or Fiction: Science Tackles 58 Popular Myths (Kindle Edition)
I liked it. Nothing spectacular but interesting. A light read and if that is what you want then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fact or Fiction: Science Tackles 58 Popular Myths (Kindle Edition)
very good book and i learned a lot from this book it was good science book and my friend liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learning a lot, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fact or Fiction: Science Tackles 58 Popular Myths (Kindle Edition)
As a subscriber and reader of Scientific American, I'm really enjoying reading this on my Kindle. It is enlightening to learn what are myths and waht is true. Well written and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining book to dip into, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Roger (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fact or Fiction: Science Tackles 58 Popular Myths (Kindle Edition)
This is a good book to dip into. Fifty eight myths are objectively examined to determine whether they carry some truth, starting with the toxic effects of chocolate on dogs (it is, depending on the weight of the dog and the amount and the type of the chocolate) and finishing with whether a spoon can keep champagne bubbly (it's not necessary - just keep it cold). The myths are a mixture of the trivial and the serious and whilst it refers to them as "popular myths" there are some I'd never heard of, such as that males can lactate (it can happen under some exceptional circumstances, such as if there is a pituitary tumour produces prolactin).

All of the information in the book has been previously published in Scientific American, in many cases in 2007 or 2008, but, whilst it doesn't say so, in at least one instance the information has been updated because an article on the necessity or otherwise for a big toe, originally published in 2007, makes reference to Oscar Pistorius competing in the 2012 Olympics.

Overall, this is an entertaining collection of articles which lays some ghosts to rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Myths answered, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fact or Fiction: Science Tackles 58 Popular Myths (Kindle Edition)
Puts to bed many old wives tales and answers them in a very entertaining fashion.good reading for young boys and girls alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fact or Fiction: Science Tackles 58 Popular Myths (Kindle Edition)
An easy read but not all the myths are mythical -- no one really believes Mozart improves cognitive function. Some are rather obscure as well but on the whole edifying and amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating snippets from one of the world's leading science journals., 21 Sep 2013
By 
M. C. Kimmance (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fact or Fiction: Science Tackles 58 Popular Myths (Kindle Edition)
This book of bite-size entries is perfect 'dip-in' material, examining and dealing with scientific myths in a very accessible way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but could have been so much better., 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fact or Fiction: Science Tackles 58 Popular Myths (Kindle Edition)
I expected more from this book, I guess I wanted it to give me more "WOW!!" moments and surprise me a bit more. However, where it lacks in shock and awe value, it makes up for it with very accessible writing, straight forward explanations and some cute asides and stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and entertaining, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fact or Fiction: Science Tackles 58 Popular Myths (Kindle Edition)
Very clearly explained also for non-scientists. The chosen subjects are familiar to everyone. This should be mandatory reading also outside the scientific community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Aug 2014
By 
spike 701 (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fact or Fiction: Science Tackles 58 Popular Myths (Kindle Edition)
Not a page turner!. Haven't finished it yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fact or Fiction: Science Tackles 58 Popular Myths
1.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews