Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re-released Boxed Set 2013, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Springfield (Audio CD)
This is a re-release of the original box set but in a smaller, more compact box. So, you get the same music as reviewed for the previous release. The important aspect for me was that the original 68 page booklet is also included (not always the case with this type of re-issue) and so you can buy this music for a great price without any worries. I bought the Retrospective LP nearly 45 years ago (as well as subsequent cd releases) and their music still impresses.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An almost complete collection, 10 Sep 2002
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
If you do not own any of the Buffalo Springfield records already, this would be a good buy. For Neil Young fans it's great because there's a few tracks on here which you cannot find elsewhere. It is dissapointing not to find there alternative version of 'Bluebird' on here. Richie Furay's 'In the Hour of Not Quite Rain' is not on here either, but it's probably one of the Springfield's worst songs anyway. The box-set is compiled by Neil Young himself, therefore it includes alot of the same songs, but different versions- Neil Young is a firm believer in documenting everything even if it is repetitious or poor. There isn't much from the 'Last Time Around' LP, probably because Young wasn't recording with the band by this point and the songs weren't of the band's previous quality anyway. However, the alternative versions of Young's 'Clancy' and 'Round & Round' are fantastic.
I think the box-set artwork is nice. It has the famous Buffalo Springfiled steam-roller sign on the front and the booklet is quite thick, offering a quality that suits the era in which the music was made.
All in all a good buy if your a Neil Young or Buffalo Springfield fan, but it is a bit of a let down at times. A luxury not a necessity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have (Despite The Omissions!), 6 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. P. Scoble "sydsacid" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
Despite the fact that other reviewers cite this box set as incomplete (a fact which I cannot deny) it does not detract from the fact that you should own it. I am afraid I approached Springfield in a reverse fashion, having favoured CSN and Young's early solo records before I took the leap back into Springfield where Stills & Young started.
This was a recent purchase (29/12/03) so it is still very much in my mind. Okay, so a few tracks are omitted like the full version of Bluebird (see other reviews for a full breakdown - I haven't the patience) but this box set is a beautiful collection of music nevertheless, the first cd's demos from 1966 are especially outstanding and primarily solo performances that foreshadow what the future would hold, especially Neil Young's songs.
I can see why completists are wingeing, but there's more than enough here to satisfy.
I especially recommend the set if you haven't got anything by this Band (which I didn't), and if you dig Neil Young and CSN it's a must have. Nuff Said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Music Poorly Presented, 24 Oct 2009
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
If you want to screw up a golden opportunity to compile the work of a seminal American band of the 1960s, then this is a prime example of how to do just that! Despite containing some fine fine music and a generous offering of out-takes, demos & alternate versions, this 4-disc box set is so messily programmed that it's difficult to ascertain any sort of logic to the planning behind it. You'd think that perhaps it was worth re-issuing this band's 3 officially released albums as originally issued & then bundle the 'extras' together but it seems that this was a proposition too far. Okay, so there's an attempt to do something like that on Disc 4, which presents the mono version of the debut album (which was issued twice with 'For What It's Worth' replacing 'Baby Don't Scold Me'- the latter tacked on as the closer here) & the classic Buffalo Springfield Again presented in their entirety & in correct running orders. BUT, the same service is not awarded to Last Time Around. Indeed, this album does not appear in its entirety. There are 4 tracks missing: 'Pretty Girl Why', 'Four Days Gone', 'Carefree Country Day' & 'The Hour Of Not Quite Rain'. What we get instead is an earlier version of 'Pretty Girl Why' & the demo of 'Four Days Gone' but no mention whatsoever of the other two titles. A 5th victim is 'On The Way Home', which appears as a pretty pointless remix which offers nothing more than an obtrusively boosted bass part. Interestingly enough, 'Carefree Country Day' featured Jim Messina while both 'Hour Of Not Quite Rain' & the original 'On the Way Home' carried Ritchie Furay lead vocals. I wonder what they felt about this? Were either of them consulted? It is fair to say the Last Time Around, issued shortly after Neil Young had left the group for the lat time (to be replaced, albeit briefly, by Messina), was not the Springfield's finest offering but it has always attracted followers on account of its strong country-rock flavourings & the treatment it receives here is unforgivably shabby.

Then there's the repetition of 9 of Again's 10 tracks ('Mr. Soul' is the one that isn't reprised on account of the inclusion of an earlier version): completely unnecessary. As other reviewers have noted other out-takes that could have been considered instead. Then, of course, there's this band's legendary live reputation but this box completely ignores it. Me, I'd also have have preferred one of these discs to have featured as much as still exists of the abandoned Stampede album that was shelved prior to the group's starting on Again. Much of it is here but presented without any intelligible coherence. All in all, then, this adds up to a bit of a mess.

These shortcomings do not, however, detract from the quality of the music included here, with Buffalo Springfield Again's standout tracks ('Mr. Soul', 'Rock & Roll Woman', 'Expecting To Fly', 'Bluebird', 'A Child's Claim To Fame', 'Everydays' & 'Broken Arrow') joining 'For What It's Worth'' & 'Kind Woman' in the list of definitive Springfield studio recordings. I just can't help believing that the band deserves better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity, 17 Jun 2014
This review is from: Buffalo Springfield (Audio CD)
I originally wrote this before listening properly to every track. I have finally had the opportunity to do so.

Comments:

1) Not all of the 3rd album Last Time Around is here. Granted, it wasn't as good as the first two, but still .... the decision to omit, especially, "... Not Quite Rain" and the final release version of "Pretty Girl Why" was an unfortunate one, as these two songs were of high quality. They could have easily fitted LTA into the set in its entirety. Neil Young, for whom I have the greatest respect, had a major hand in this box set compilation; he had had little involvement with Last Time Around, so he may have seen some of its tracks as dispensable.

2) The 9:00 version of Bluebird (with the terrific jam in the middle) was not included. Even though many have commented that they're no longer "relevant," jams like this are a relic of the times. I would argue that Springfield itself is a "relic", and if you want an archive of a seminal band, virtually everything they did was significant, especially when we consider how important the individul members (at least Still, Young, and Furay) became. Possible reason for its omission of this Stills showpiece: the Stills-Young rivalry, which certainly was a factor back then, and it may persist even today. The long version only appears on an early 70s 2-LP compilation (called "Buffalo Springfield", creatively enough - I still have a copy).

3) The repeats of tracks from the first two albums (mixed into the first 3 discs in chronological order of recording date) have been objected to by many as redundant (actually, not quite, as the first album part of Disc 4 is in its (superior) mono form, while the individual tracks in the other discs are not). The 4th disc, which contains the first two official albums in their entirety, is the one people (certainly I) will go back to again and again. "Baby Don't Scold Me was the song that was dropped from the second edition of the first album in favour of the Hit "For What Its's Worth" - it's restored here (twice - once in Disc 4 and again in Disc 2!).

For what this set DOES have (the first two LPs, mono versions, demos, outtakes and alternates), this is valuable. But I see a box set of a band as historically significant as Springfield as an opportunity to be comprehensive,and should include all officially released albums (especially when there were only three to begin with) plus all singles and major alternate versions like 9:00 Bluebird. There's simply no excuse not to include them.

Still strongly recommended (****), despite the noted reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good set and worth the money., 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Springfield (Audio CD)
Good set, but the original reviews were probably a little too fulsome in their praise,
It is however much better value at it's re-issue price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make the best of it, 27 Nov 2009
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
Yes, there are ommissions there always are.
However, compared to other albums the sound is tremendous & it is hard to ignore Stills' & Young's solo careers. Everyone is always moving forward.

Yes the bits of live BS I have heard are astonsishing (Young's still missing 'Journey Through the Past'has some) BUT, its what there is & its terriffic stuff.

It took the Beatles years to take the journey that BS took in about 18 mad months. Something this mad was never set for the long haul & I would rather bands flowered & died in this way than today's carefully controlled marketed releases.

I have owned this since release & listened to what is there & not missed what is not. If you are remotely interested in Young & Stills buy it & take in one of the 60s greatest acts.

For the completist, in comparsion to the recent Neil Young box set this is far better & offers more insight & the last disc of the 2 finished albums is great in the car. Best viewed as a 3 disc set with an extra freebie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing young band of the 60's era. Welcome, Buffalo Springfield., 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Springfield (Audio CD)
Really enjoyed listening to Buffalo Springfield at home & in the car. I'm amazed at how cheap this box set is. I love all the album stuff, demos, unreleased music, booklet & the whole package.

I know from other Amazon reviewers, I need to get Buffalo Springfield's final Album to be a completest.

highly recommend this Box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly magic sounds, tracklisting not so magic, 20 Jun 2014
By 
N. Mortimer (Devizes, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Springfield (Audio CD)
I've been a big Neil - especially with Crazy Horse - fan since way back when but sorta overlooked Buffalo Springfield. I didn't buy the box set when it first came out cos it was too expensive so when this very reasonably priced reissue came out I bagged it (quite a bit cheaper than it's selling for now too). Anyhoo, the demos are really good, some totally magic. The regular BS tracks are mostly there - with a few notable exceptions as other reviewers have pointed out. But the tracks are in a waaaay eccentric order and just don't really make for a great listening experience taken as a whole, with repetitions, tracks apparently left out for no particular reason and it doesn't appear to be chronological either. Needless to say Neil programmed the running order. I burnt two CDs of the best stuff and have tended to play those. But 4 cds worth of music for 20 is still great value, so I'd still say this is a good buy - and much of the music is totally totally TOTALLY great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Springfield (Audio CD)
Great selection of tracks from one of the most influential bands to emerge from the Late 60s west coast scene. Good informative booklet. Great value too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buffalo Springfield
Buffalo Springfield by Buffalo Springfield (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews