Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great cricket
This DVD makes great viewing. The cricket really speaks for itself and the DVD quality is, at the very least, adequate. Michael Vaughn, Geoffrey Boycott and Simon Hughes provide good commentary. The main point is that there is enough time for each match to unfold, 407 minutes, or on average 81 minutes per test, this makes for exciting viewing. Like other reviewers I was...
Published 5 months ago by ozric

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Update - 2Entertain admit cost cutting.
UPDATE:

Following a complaint to 2entertain (BBC), a bland 2 line response indicated picture quality will vary when so much is squeezed onto a DVD.

So, by their own admission they acknowledged the poor quality of the product and that compressing the content into 2 discs was a deliberate cost cutting exercise.

It now seems a logical...
Published 5 months ago by Gunz412


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Update - 2Entertain admit cost cutting., 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
UPDATE:

Following a complaint to 2entertain (BBC), a bland 2 line response indicated picture quality will vary when so much is squeezed onto a DVD.

So, by their own admission they acknowledged the poor quality of the product and that compressing the content into 2 discs was a deliberate cost cutting exercise.

It now seems a logical progression for people with DVD recorders to simply compile their own highlights programme.
Which! & BBC Watchdog will be notified accordingly.

Macroblocking resulting from poor video compression and high speed data transfer was common place in the early days of DVD production. Today it is simply unacceptable and serves no other purpose than to cut costs. I imagine it stems from an assumption that buyers only want a souvenir or record of an event rather than a high quality product to view repeatedly.
It is disgusting exploitation. I have challenged several production companies about this in the past but this is the first time 2Entertain appear to have gone down this path.

I assumed the ECB had contracted a new digital media partner but the 2005 and 20009 Ashes were also produced by 2Entertain.
I will be writing to the ECB, making sure they understand the damage this could do to their brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cricket great, DVD not so..., 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who is enthralled by cricket and knows what happened in the 2013 Ashes will not need me to provide a review of the actual cricket itself, so I won't do that.

However, the poor quality of this production must be mentioned. It is basically a hotch potch of the Channel 5 daily highlights, which is fine, as long as you don't mind listening to Geoffrey Boycott and Michael Vaughan.

But...there is no option to 'Play All' of the Tests on each disc, you have to select a Test, and then, in a sub menu, select a Day from that Test. This is irritating, and then even more so, because at the end of each day, it defaults back to that sub menu, doesn't continue on with the Test, so you have to select the next day etc etc.

There are no extras either, like a post series wrap up, or a look ahead to this winter's upcoming return series in Australia.

But the worst thing, by a mile, is the picture quality. There is no high definition offering, even though the highlights were broadcast in HD every night, and this SD picture looks like it was filmed in the early 90's, not this year.

All in all, if you love cricket like me, you'll buy it and put up with the many pitfalls, but to be honest, a poor show from the ECB, Channel 5 and 2entertain, a great series deserved much better, and the only reason I give it 3 stars is because the cricket itself deserved 5, and the DVD production deserved 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quality is a total disgrace, 10 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Ashes 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
The cricket was fantastic, however the quality of this DVD is a total disgrace, the image is blurred and grainy, the title pages must have been put together during a primary school lesson, they are clunky, there's no automation, this is the worst quality DVD I have ever seen. For such a superb event as the Ashes to be treated with such disrespect is unacceptable, England Cricket, who's name is on this product most take some responsibility and sort this out. In this day and age why do we not have the choice of a Blu-Ray HD quality disc as well. I have been looking forward to reliving the series but this has now been totally ruin by this complete load of rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly poor quality, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
loved the series but i'm disgusted by this 'worse than vhs' video compression. the footage looks awful, awful, awful. so disappointed. i can only hope that the ecb take a stand and insist on the repressing of this dvd set. if so, i'll definitely re-buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ashes tests, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
dreadful just a load of highlights from channel 5, and to top it all dont play whole test at a time just each day then have to click onto next.Absolute rubbish not worth the money or even half of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality DVD, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with the points made by the first reviewer. The picture quality is so poor, I thought I had a bad disc, or my system needed tweaking. There is no continuity, no analysis and none of the banter we had with the Sky commentary on the same series.
Why such a poor quality release is the only option I cannot imagine.
Three stars, for the cricket only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor in comparison to other DVD Series Releases., 22 Dec 2013
By 
Rob Nunn (Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
I have the boxsets for the 2005, 2009 and 2010/11 Ashes series. They are very nicely put together sets with lots of great extras. So I was very much looking forward to the 2013 DVD release and more of the same. How wrong I was! Yes the highlights are there but the quality of the product is terrible. It seems to have been rushed out. There are no extras at all and even the playing interface is rubbish. By that I mean in the previous Ashes releases and indeed in just about every other boxset there is, you can either select the "Play All" option, or select the day you want to watch. In other DVDs this allows you to select an individual episode to watch or allow the whole thing to run through. Sadly you are unable to do this with this series, it stops after each days play meaning you have to press play again. This may be only a minor inconvenience but it does show the poor way the DVD has been put together.

As a celebration of a successful Ashes Series it falls very short of mark. Almost as if it was put together by an Aussie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great cricket, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD makes great viewing. The cricket really speaks for itself and the DVD quality is, at the very least, adequate. Michael Vaughn, Geoffrey Boycott and Simon Hughes provide good commentary. The main point is that there is enough time for each match to unfold, 407 minutes, or on average 81 minutes per test, this makes for exciting viewing. Like other reviewers I was disappointed by the lack of extras, but it still remains a great record of an Ashes summer.

It has cheered me up on my winter commute for several days, perhaps I am easily pleased but I really enjoyed this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointing, just not cricket..., 25 Oct 2013
By 
Maneblusser 7 (Mechelen - Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
Living in Belgium and as such having to rely on Cricinfo website to follow the Ashes since Sky sports is not available over here, I looked out with great anticipation to the release of this DVD.
I must say that I expected a similar, well made and well documented product in line with the previous Ashes Dvd's (2010-2011 series DVD Box had no fewer than 7 discs and a lot of extra's). The most recent ones were stacked with information and an additional booklet with interesting facts and figures. Now there are only two discs, nothing else in terms of extra's. The contents also don't show anything else than boundaries, a few shots when these brought up a player's 50 or 100 and the odd post match interview. Fortunately there was good old Geoffrey Boycott whose commentary never fails to entertain and at at the same time here's a man who knows what he's talking about. Anyway, at least I was glad I could finally see what the Broad "non walking incident" was all about (the final bastion of cricket's gentlemanly conduct collapsed in an embarrassing way...) and the blatant shortcomings of the DRS system making fools of both umpires and players while there are very big question marks as far as the system's reliability is concerned. In all a rather disappointing pair of discs which seemed to have been rushed into production. The result is a skeletonlike overview of an otherwise captivating series which could have ended with a very different result if the Aussies had made those few runs needed to win the first Test... But I would have been prepared to pay an extra fiver to get a better product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ashes 2013 DVD, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2013 [DVD] (DVD)
As grateful as I am to have a record of this Ashes series I have to agree with previous reviewers that this DVD set is very disappointing in terms of both presentation and content.

The picture quality is poor; there is no 'play all' option for each Test; no announcement of scores at lunch and tea to give more structure and a better sense of the flow of play in each day's footage; a dearth of post match interviews and no post match presentations, even at the end of the fifth Test. Failing to at least show Alastair Cook being presented with the urn and Ian Bell with the Compton-Miller medal is inexcusable, a second or two of podium celebration is certainly not adequate, and there are no extras whatsoever.

Anyone who recorded the Channel 5 highlights programme for each day's play has a better record of the series than this DVD set provides. It offers the bare minimum.

2 Stars is because I love cricket. This DVD is a very poor product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbccd3da4)

This product

The Ashes 2013 [DVD]
The Ashes 2013 [DVD] by Mark Nicholas (DVD - 2013)
6.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews