Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable
I'd spent all day, and much of the night looking at Les Dawson videos on YouTube and knew I needed some of his books. Whilst looking through some autobiographies yesterday, I came across this lovely story. I found it in the nick of time as I'd been feeling blue for a few days.

I'm one who grew up during the 60s and 70s. Les Dawson was one of my favourite...
Published 10 months ago by Radiojock

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This clown will cry no more.
This is Les dawson's second volume of autobiography and he calls it the story of an ordinary man in an extraodinary career. It is an intensely moving book, in which he talks frankly about the personal dramas which were to have such a profound effect on his life both on and off-stage. In particular, he records the devastsing loss of his much-loved and respected wife,...
Published on 8 April 2011 by Syd Carton


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Radiojock (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Tears for the Clown: An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I'd spent all day, and much of the night looking at Les Dawson videos on YouTube and knew I needed some of his books. Whilst looking through some autobiographies yesterday, I came across this lovely story. I found it in the nick of time as I'd been feeling blue for a few days.

I'm one who grew up during the 60s and 70s. Les Dawson was one of my favourite comedians. Having enjoyed that TV sensation The Comedians, plus The Wheeltappers and Shunters Social Club, also on telly during the early 70s, any book like this will have me laughing out loud.

If you like old comedy, I just know you'll love this book. I have since bought a few more of Mr. Dawson's books, knowing I'll enjoy every one.

This is actually part 2 of Les's self-written autobiography. I wish part one was also on Kindle. I truly love this man. It takes less than a few seconds to have me guffawing with laughter when I hear or read him. Les Dawson will always be one of those on top of the pile. No longer with us, but still raises a laugh.

God bless him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that has both humour and tragedy combined, 31 Jan 2011
By 
Middlec (Warrington, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
A tremendous read, and there is a lot of Les's brand of humour here in his stories from his life. Although Les came from a humble background, his skill in writing and storytelling was excellent. He had a way of describing the scene before captivating the reader with the tale. A very good book, he sadly passed away not long after he completed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving book to read, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Tears for the Clown: An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
This is Les's second book about his life and it covers the time after his beloved Meg dies and the loss he felt. He was lucky to meet Tracy but the press absolutely torn him and Tracy to pieces because his wife hadnt been dead long and there was a large age difference between Les and Tracy. Les struggled as his career dipped.. Panto became his bread and butter. You cant always be at the top and his health suffered. Eventually Les and Tracy get married and he has a few health scares, Tracy nags him to look after himself and they do find happiness when Tracy is pregnant. The same press who slated him for their relationship now congratulate the couple on the successful pregnancy! Sadly as we all know Les didnt have long with his daughter but this book is not all sad.. You will laugh as you read the jokes that Les so kindly put at the beginning of each chapter.. Cissie and Ada are featured a lot and its so good to read about and remember one of our comic greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, tearful, tragic, 18 April 2001
By A Customer
This book is a must for any Les Dawson fans, I have read it dozens of times and it still makes me laugh and understand the life Les was leading right up until his death. The king is dead - long live the king
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say ??, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say this is Les at his best, funniest, saddest and most of all when he was just 'Les'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you remember Les Dawson you will enjoy this book, a decent read and a very honest portrayal showing yet again, the fragile confidence of a clown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Comedian, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A compassionate read about love, tragedy and hope from one of our best loved comedians. Les Dawson had a completely unique talent and was able to bring smiles and laughter to just about anyone without the need for the base coarseness of todays acts. This book will bring you warmth, tears and laugh out loud moments, truly a gift even after he has gone. Sadly missed but never forgotten. God bless Les.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL CRACKING THE GAGS!, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Tears for the Clown: An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Loved Les when he was with us. Loved his book. Made me laugh just as much as the man in person, it was nice to get to know him more personally though. Great book. Still sadly missed Les.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This clown will cry no more., 8 April 2011
This is Les dawson's second volume of autobiography and he calls it the story of an ordinary man in an extraodinary career. It is an intensely moving book, in which he talks frankly about the personal dramas which were to have such a profound effect on his life both on and off-stage. In particular, he records the devastsing loss of his much-loved and respected wife, Meg, after a prolonged illness, and the tremendous difficulties he faced both during her illness and after her death - not least of which was having to stand on stage and make others laugh when laughter was the last thing on his mind.
With his own inimitable brand of candour and honesty, he tells of how the shadows lifted as he found a wonderful new love and, with her unerring support, began to rebuild his life.
At the same time, in true Dawson fashion, he recalls funny moments, too, for the show had to go on for this crowned King of Comedy and, as you would expect, the laughter rises triumphantly out of the tears.
Twelve pages of black and white photos included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tragic and comic, 7 July 2014
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Tears for the Clown: An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
This is an enjoyable if short and incomplete autobiography. Following on from his earlier "A Clown Too Many" (not available on the Kindle) this volume opens with Les and his first wife Meg recovering from illness, but tragically Meg was found to be terminally ill. The book covers Meg's death, and Les's life from then until his second marriage and birth of his daughter. As you'd expect his humour shines through, regardless of how upsetting the story he tells may be, and even as he realises his TV career was over he's still joking away. It's light, entertaining, and short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews