Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential guide
I found this book thorough, informative,and truly essential for anyone interested in natural remedies for many of our most common complaints, although I do regard it as complementary rather than as an alternative to a visit to the doctor.
By the way, I am 74 years old and have had 2 major operations for cancer. I am now in excellent health and with the help of the...
Published on 7 Oct. 2010 by noddy

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Pretty comprehensive
Published 8 months ago by Conrad Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential guide, 7 Oct. 2010
I found this book thorough, informative,and truly essential for anyone interested in natural remedies for many of our most common complaints, although I do regard it as complementary rather than as an alternative to a visit to the doctor.
By the way, I am 74 years old and have had 2 major operations for cancer. I am now in excellent health and with the help of the information in this book I intend to stay that way. D. West Sussex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide to better health, 25 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The cover of this second edition says it is the essential guide. And so it is.
Many of us do not eat enough healthy foods. As a result of changing farming practices, including the trend towards more and more genetic modification of plants, health promoting nutrients may be lacking from the food we eat. Consequently, it has become necessary to add supplements of essential vitamins and minerals to the diet.
Dr Brewer's guide is in two parts, one describing the supplements that are available, the other offering treatments and advice for common health problems. She gives descriptions, benefits and recommended dosages based on extensive research and where applicable also offers life style suggestions.
The supplements she describes are available from some pharmacies without prescription, health food shops, many supermarkets, and mail order companies. However, the guide tells you when to be cautious about using supplements and when to take medical advice. The vitamins and minerals described are intended to promote and maintain good health and are supplements to pharmaceutical medicines.
One reason that the book is essential is that it fills a gap caused by legislation that prevents full information being given on the packaging of many supplements. This enhances its value as a source of guidance for anyone who is concerned to obtain the best effects from their daily diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must!, 16 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must for anyone, who takes or is thinking of taking supplements. Tells you what each supplement can be used for, unlike many lables which give a description of product and doseage, but not always what the condition they are intended to help. Also, it list aphabetically, illness/conditions, and which supplement would be the most suitable. A very informative read, that tells it as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential guide to vitamins, minerals& herbal supplements, 21 Oct. 2010
This is a really excellent book. It is well written & the information is fantastic.
Everyone interested in food & diet should first read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive no-nonsense guide to vitamins, supplements and health foods, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This well-balanced guide to vitamins and supplements is comprehensive, informative and evidence-based. I liked the fact that it is written by a GP who has researched the subject, rather than another so-called (i.e. unqualified) 'nutritionist'. It is well presented with an alphabetical guide to specific vitamins and food supplements and the benefits they can provide in the first section. The second section contains an alphabetical glossary of medical conditions with information about supplements, foods and vitamins that can help particular symptoms and conditions. This is a useful no-nonsense reference for anyone who is thinking about taking vitamins and supplements and feels confused by all the different ones on the pharmacy/health food store shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of interesting information in here. I would recommend to anyone who doesn't like medicines and would prefer more natural remedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 22 Aug. 2011
I purchased this book for myself originally and was that impressed I bought it for a friend. Very informative book, great to learn more about this area and certainly has made me look at my diet more. Would definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative and easy lay out, good advice on each vitamin etc, This book aswell as New vitamin Bible and Readers Digest Guide to supplements and Vitamins, has helped me overcome migraines which I have not had for about five months now, and my skin has never looked this good as I suffer from Rosacea and used to be on constant Antibiotics, It arrived quickly was well packaged and in great condition. Very happy customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vitamins, Minerals and herbal supplements by Dr Sarah Brewer, 1 Jan. 2012
very good found it very helpful and used some of the recommendations from it worth getting has good idea's for good health for all ages. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 26 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked this book, lots of information that all makes sense and a very easy read. I could not put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews