Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to see it to believe it!
Having watched this series last year when it first showed on tv channel Watch, I was hooked from episode 1. The chemistry between all the actors is brilliant, the concept of the show is great, and overall, I love it. It is mostly light-hearted, but also has it's serious moments.

Eric McCormack plays Dr Daniel Pearce, an eccentric professor of neuroscience who...
Published 9 months ago by Emma

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER ADDITION TO AN OVERWORKED THEME
Dr. Daniel Pierce struggles with mental problems, they exacerbated because he will not take his pills. Apparently he is still able to assess the minds of others - FBI Agent Kate Moretti forever seeking his services.

Ten episodes. No extras.

Television series abound with police relying on quirky helpers, their skills sometimes questionable. Some...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. D. L. Rees


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to see it to believe it!, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched this series last year when it first showed on tv channel Watch, I was hooked from episode 1. The chemistry between all the actors is brilliant, the concept of the show is great, and overall, I love it. It is mostly light-hearted, but also has it's serious moments.

Eric McCormack plays Dr Daniel Pearce, an eccentric professor of neuroscience who also happens to suffer from paranoid schizophrenia. When FBI agent, and ex-student, Kate Moretti (Rachel Leigh-Cook) comes to him for help on a case she is working, his visions and delusions help him to tie together the pieces they cannot see.

Whilst there have been countless crime drama shows depicting the "officer + expert" teaming up to solve crimes, this one stands above the rest due to it's creativity and chemistry. I am part way through watching series 2 now and it is just as good. I have no idea why it is taking so long for these series to become available in the UK on DVD! Series 3 has just been comissioned, so excited for that too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER ADDITION TO AN OVERWORKED THEME, 6 May 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Dr. Daniel Pierce struggles with mental problems, they exacerbated because he will not take his pills. Apparently he is still able to assess the minds of others - FBI Agent Kate Moretti forever seeking his services.

Ten episodes. No extras.

Television series abound with police relying on quirky helpers, their skills sometimes questionable. Some viewers may find Daniel one of the least convincing. Amongst other eccentricities, he often speaks to people who are not there (it disconcerting when they suddenly vanish from the screen). Those at times around to offer assistance include Joan of Arc and President Kennedy.

All a bit much? Far more acceptable are contributions from Max, the likeable young assistant hired to help Daniel distinguish between hallucinations and reality.

Reactions may well depend on how many such series have already been seen - they varying in quality, a few greatly trying the patience.

For most of the way I found the show ludicrous, too much of it shallow and not particularly well acted. The two-part finale, however, proves more worthy, Daniel caught up in sinister events which send his paranoid schizophrenia completely out of control. Here, at last, is something of substance.

Three stars therefore, instead of two. In the interest of honesty, I have had to confess "Perception" did not appeal to me. Be advised others have enjoyed the series very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this one!, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought perception on a whim - but I really enjoyed it. The characters are interesting, I think that they will really develop in the second season. Worth a watch if your looking for some light hearted crime drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sit back and relax, enjoyable., 1 July 2014
By 
Ms. EJ Raymond "EJx" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
That's something I enjoyed to watch. Cant wait until second one come out. It's so different character between Daniel (Perception) to Will (Will & Grace).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perception Series 1, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Have tried to watch but due to shift work kept missing episodes, hence the reason l bought this disc.

Great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is real and what is not?, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I am completely hooked on this series and gutted that season 2 is not yet available. Was a huge Will and Grace fan and it is always hard when you play a big character, to transition into another one, but Eric McCormack is very convincing in his role. The stories are fast pace and diverse. You get drawn into his very complicated personality and you are not sure what is real and what is a delusion. I would recommend this series and please Amazon, hurry up and get season 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 30 April 2014
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Takes a while to get going, but when it does, it's very good TV. Eric McCormack's acting is excellent, and it's really nice to see a main character dealing with a mental illness whilst still having an important role to play within his fictional world, and within the show. And his character, Dr Daniel Pierce, does not merely have safe little hallucinations then go back to normal, he does really struggle with his illness. The fact that the show manages to explore these issues sensitively whilst staying watchable and entertaining, is a testament to the quality of the writing I think. The premise of a FBI consultant with 'special powers' (in this case, his hallucinations) may have been done before, but this mental illness approach does put a new twist on it, and does it very well. Every episode is good. If you like American procedural dramas, or Eric McCormack, you wont be disappointed with 'Perception'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying to try, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Saw 5 episodes so far , better than I expected( great price as well).watched it on holiday, watch the rest when I get home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Jorg Wheelan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I am enjoying this DVD, it';s different takes a little to get to grips with it, but once you get into his health problems and understand the progam more it's worth a watch. I would not give it 5 stars yet but might well do in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling and imaginative!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought 'Elementary' season 1 and thought I'd try this - very pleased I did as it is superb. Such a shame I now have to wait so long before I can buy the second season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perception - Season 1 [DVD]
Perception - Season 1 [DVD] by Eric McCormack (DVD - 2014)
9.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews