Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to see it to believe it!
Having watched this series last year when it first showed on tv channel Watch, I was hooked from episode 1. The chemistry between all the actors is brilliant, the concept of the show is great, and overall, I love it. It is mostly light-hearted, but also has it's serious moments.

Eric McCormack plays Dr Daniel Pearce, an eccentric professor of neuroscience who...
Published 12 months ago by Emma

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER ADDITION TO AN OVERWORKED THEME
Dr. Daniel Pierce struggles with mental problems, they exacerbated because he will not take his pills. Apparently he is still able to assess the minds of others - FBI Agent Kate Moretti forever seeking his services.

Ten episodes. No extras.

Television series abound with police relying on quirky helpers, their skills sometimes questionable. Some...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. D. L. Rees


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to see it to believe it!, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched this series last year when it first showed on tv channel Watch, I was hooked from episode 1. The chemistry between all the actors is brilliant, the concept of the show is great, and overall, I love it. It is mostly light-hearted, but also has it's serious moments.

Eric McCormack plays Dr Daniel Pearce, an eccentric professor of neuroscience who also happens to suffer from paranoid schizophrenia. When FBI agent, and ex-student, Kate Moretti (Rachel Leigh-Cook) comes to him for help on a case she is working, his visions and delusions help him to tie together the pieces they cannot see.

Whilst there have been countless crime drama shows depicting the "officer + expert" teaming up to solve crimes, this one stands above the rest due to it's creativity and chemistry. I am part way through watching series 2 now and it is just as good. I have no idea why it is taking so long for these series to become available in the UK on DVD! Series 3 has just been comissioned, so excited for that too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 30 April 2014
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Takes a while to get going, but when it does, it's very good TV. Eric McCormack's acting is excellent, and it's really nice to see a main character dealing with a mental illness whilst still having an important role to play within his fictional world, and within the show. And his character, Dr Daniel Pierce, does not merely have safe little hallucinations then go back to normal, he does really struggle with his illness. The fact that the show manages to explore these issues sensitively whilst staying watchable and entertaining, is a testament to the quality of the writing I think. The premise of a FBI consultant with 'special powers' (in this case, his hallucinations) may have been done before, but this mental illness approach does put a new twist on it, and does it very well. Every episode is good. If you like American procedural dramas, or Eric McCormack, you wont be disappointed with 'Perception'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this one!, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought perception on a whim - but I really enjoyed it. The characters are interesting, I think that they will really develop in the second season. Worth a watch if your looking for some light hearted crime drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just plain fun, 1 Sep 2014
I have to deduct a star for the fact that there are way too many detective consultant stories with a twist out there. Also the main character seems to switch roles between Neuroscientist, Psychologist, psychiatrist and philosophy lecturer.

That being said this is a very fun show with endearing characters and fairly intriguing story lines. The pilot is, like any show a little undeveloped so I'd recommend another episode to get started. It's not the most original show out there but it is entertaining enough to make up for it.

On a more random note it is very refreshing not to have ten minutes of what happened on the previous show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying to try, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Saw 5 episodes so far , better than I expected( great price as well).watched it on holiday, watch the rest when I get home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is real and what is not?, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I am completely hooked on this series and gutted that season 2 is not yet available. Was a huge Will and Grace fan and it is always hard when you play a big character, to transition into another one, but Eric McCormack is very convincing in his role. The stories are fast pace and diverse. You get drawn into his very complicated personality and you are not sure what is real and what is a delusion. I would recommend this series and please Amazon, hurry up and get season 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER ADDITION TO AN OVERWORKED THEME, 6 May 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Dr. Daniel Pierce struggles with mental problems, they exacerbated because he will not take his pills. Apparently he is still able to assess the minds of others - FBI Agent Kate Moretti forever seeking his services.

Ten episodes. No extras.

Television series abound with police relying on quirky helpers, their skills sometimes questionable. Some viewers may find Daniel one of the least convincing. Amongst other eccentricities, he often speaks to people who are not there (it disconcerting when they suddenly vanish from the screen). Those at times around to offer assistance include Joan of Arc and President Kennedy.

All a bit much? Far more acceptable are contributions from Max, the likeable young assistant hired to help Daniel distinguish between hallucinations and reality.

Reactions may well depend on how many such series have already been seen - they varying in quality, a few greatly trying the patience.

For most of the way I found the show ludicrous, too much of it shallow and not particularly well acted. The two-part finale, however, proves more worthy, Daniel caught up in sinister events which send his paranoid schizophrenia completely out of control. Here, at last, is something of substance.

Three stars therefore, instead of two. In the interest of honesty, I have had to confess "Perception" did not appeal to me. Be advised others have enjoyed the series very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Nov 2013
By 
pepemia (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception: Season 1 (DVD)
My friend recommended this series and I was a bit hesitant . However really enjoyed this series, I had unfortunately caught one or two episodes of the second series before this came in & didn't like them as much . I thought I had made a mistake purchasing this but I really enjoyed the ten episodes .
It's exceptionally well acted by Eric Mcormack and its his likability that Carry's it off . Its got a good bases about a professor who has struggled, and continues to struggle with life but has a quest & desire to learn. Each episode begins with him lecturing and this links to the theme if the series. He is on the quest with the viewer and learns something thought too. It has a degree of realism about schizophrenia and is sympathetic to this , but does include episodes where he can't cope . And throughout the episodes despite the fact the professor is pessimistic about his own life he is optimistic & works hards for others to enhance there life's and overcome there obstacles . He just struggles with his own . It's nice to have a flawed main character who is searching with the viewer.

Overall I would definitely recommend buying this , it's a good price and likeable series - I pref it to season 2 - which seemed a bit to frivolous .
Just a shame there is only ten episodes in a season. Thankfully a season 3 has been commissioned .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling and imaginative!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perception - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought 'Elementary' season 1 and thought I'd try this - very pleased I did as it is superb. Such a shame I now have to wait so long before I can buy the second season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun and easy on the eye., 18 Sep 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this fairly predictable romp, will watch the rest of the episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perception - Season 1 [DVD]
Perception - Season 1 [DVD] by Eric McCormack (DVD - 2014)
£7.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews