Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic is coming...
Season 1 of Once Upon A Time ended on a bit of a cliffhanger, shortly after the curse was broken Mr Gold decided to throw something else into the mix...with purple clouds making their way through the town of Storybrooke and Gold announcing: "Magic is coming." The curse may be broken but the town and people in Storybrooke don't have their Happily Ever After just...
Published 21 months ago by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars missing parts?
I bought this product after watching all the episodes on Channel 5 a few months ago. when I got to the last few episodes I started to notice that certain parts of the episode were being missed out. I rewinded the disc only to find the scene had been left put entirely. I don't know if this was the fault of the DVD or has happened to all of them. they may be on the deleted...
Published 15 months ago by someone


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic is coming..., 15 July 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Season 1 of Once Upon A Time ended on a bit of a cliffhanger, shortly after the curse was broken Mr Gold decided to throw something else into the mix...with purple clouds making their way through the town of Storybrooke and Gold announcing: "Magic is coming." The curse may be broken but the town and people in Storybrooke don't have their Happily Ever After just yet...

Having got their memories and identities back, all the favourites are back and more determined than ever that good will win over evil. Join Charming, Snow, Emma and Henry as they join forces with Red, Grumpy and co as they try to restore order and balance in the world they now find themselves in. But there are new forces which will come up against them. We see the return of characters from Regina's past, as well as a fiery and very handsome pirate in the form of Captain Killian "Hook" Jones.

There are many new fairytales and stories to be explored, including Jack and the Giants, Mulan, Princess Aurora and even Frankenstein. Once Upon A Time has certainly stepped up a notch and this season will have you on the edge of your seat! This is a series not to be missed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars US Blu ray is code free, 23 Aug. 2013
Just a quick note for all lovers of this fabulous series - I recently bought the blu ray version of season 2 from Amazon.com and I can confirm that it is region free and plays perfectly on my PS3.

Audio is DTS HD master and the picture is pin sharp: absolutely stunning!

The US blu ray cost me approx. £35 which I reckon is pretty much a bargain.

If you demand the best and can't wait for the UK release - you now know what you can do. Enjoy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMAGINATION GLORIOUSLY IN OVERDRIVE, 7 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Back to Storybrooke, evil Regina not having it all her own way - fairyland characters beginning to regain memories, questioning their presence in the town she has created so she can reign supreme.

As before, each of the twenty two episodes juxtaposes current events and fairytale adventures of long ago, all the way giving a new slant on those involved. (Presumably viewers have recovered from last season's revelation Little Red Riding Hood is a werewolf.) Prepare this time for completely new depictions of the Queen of Hearts, not to mention the Lost Boys in Never Never Land. Audaciously added to the mix are Frankenstein, Sir Lancelot, Mulan, Captain Hook and (briefly) Robin Hood.

Throughout is the theme of possible redemption. No matter how monstrous a person may be, somewhere within there surely lurks goodness. If tapped, it will thrive. Can wicked Rumpelstiltskin be saved? (Robert Carlyle clearly enjoys himself in a role delivering seemingly unlimited scope.) What of Regina? Snow White (foolishly?) is convinced her scheming stepmother will become nice if given yet another chance (the creators thereby ensuring a further season crammed with her villainy.)

Well done, all who managed to keep up! Even with episodes seen in quick succession, I was frequently (but enjoyably) confused. Commentaries help (they better when contributors represent different departments). Interesting bonuses detail the research and skills that go into the sets and costumes. A spoof breakfast TV show reports the town's latest news (a report from the boy who cried wolf cut off abruptly). Actors tell how they relish portraying characters offering such a range. (By the way, Captain Hook's fans are known as Hookers.)

Welcome here a soul-sucking wraith, tall dwarves, a small giant, magic beans, portals and much besides. Remember, though, magic always comes at a price. Certain newcomers are determined to destroy Storybrooke and everybody in it....

All concerned are clearly having a whale of a time. So will the show's addicts.

Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars even better, 8 Aug. 2013
season 2 of ouat is even better than the first, the storylines keep you hooked and invested in the show. a must see for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars missing parts?, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this product after watching all the episodes on Channel 5 a few months ago. when I got to the last few episodes I started to notice that certain parts of the episode were being missed out. I rewinded the disc only to find the scene had been left put entirely. I don't know if this was the fault of the DVD or has happened to all of them. they may be on the deleted scenes list but I would find this a huge waste as most of those scenes were favourites of mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic is coming..., 13 Sept. 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Season 1 of Once Upon A Time ended on a bit of a cliffhanger, shortly after the curse was broken Mr Gold decided to throw something else into the mix...with purple clouds making their way through the town of Storybrooke and Gold announcing: "Magic is coming." The curse may be broken but the town and people in Storybrooke don't have their Happily Ever After just yet...

Having got their memories and identities back, all the favourites are back and more determined than ever that good will win over evil. Join Charming, Snow, Emma and Henry as they join forces with Red, Grumpy and co as they try to restore order and balance in the world they now find themselves in. But there are new forces which will come up against them. We see the return of characters from Regina's past, as well as a fiery and very handsome pirate in the form of Captain Killian "Hook" Jones.

There are many new fairytales and stories to be explored, including Jack and the Giants, Mulan, Princess Aurora and even Frankenstein. Once Upon A Time has certainly stepped up a notch and this season will have you on the edge of your seat! This is a series not to be missed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant season, definitely as good as the first, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the first season of this so I just had to buy the second season, and it was not a disappointment. New characters are introduced like captain hook and you begin to love them straight away. Yet again the acting is brilliant, and there are even more twists in the plot in this season. I would certainly recommend this to anyone who has seen season one, and if you haven't yet seen season one then you should get that first. It is unique and definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite being "Good morning Story Brooke" with its satirical take ..., 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon A Time - Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This series had taken over my life. Dont get me wrong. I havent just discovered it. Mum and I have been watching it on Sky on demand, we watched both seasons. However after learning on demand will take the programme off this month (august) I just had to have it. The blu rays are packed full of extras. My favourite being "Good morning Story Brooke" with its satirical take on both local american news channels and the show. Im not here to write spoilers just to say, amazing product ordered yesterday recieved today. I love Amazon and O.U.A.T.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a joy to watch a series grow, 16 Sept. 2013
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The first series caught my attention with its fascinating weaving of various fairy tales into a single narrative, then cleverly placing a modern day situation on top and finally allowing each character their back story and realistic motivations so that even the villains had their moment in the sun.
The second series adds even more depth. Firstly by effectively merging Storybooke and Fairytale land when the population of the former becomes aware of its Fairytale identity and moving the `current day' narrative between the two worlds. Secondly by bringing new characters in a way that manages to add depth to the various threads while not cluttering up the overall. Thirdly in its homages to both the traditional tales (as recognised from our childhood days) and the classic Disney versions in a manner that brings extra colour to the episodes(- See Episode 4 `The Crocodile' merging Rumplestiltskin with Captain Hook's origins) . Fourthly by its viewing tales from differing perspectives (-See Episode 13 `Tiny'- ref Jack & The Beanstalk). Lastly by addressing that business of `leaving Storybrooke' issue.
Those traditional themes of Good Vs Evil and Love Will Conquer All continue but the paths are not straight or easy and once again villains have their chances at redemption and we get some sympathetic insights into their motivations (But not so much that you won't have a `Aww c'mon haven't you learnt your lesson yet' instant).
Those charged with the main roles have a strong grasp of their characters and those with recurring `guest' roles deliver good performances; episodes merge easily and the various tales within move along with no discernible jarring or lack on continuity. True you still do have to suspend disbelief in that Storybrooke manages to work in a remarkably self-contained way; but there again this is a Fantasy series, so what's the problem?
If you have seen Series 1, this is well worth the investment.
(Pleased to read there will be a third series and apparently a possible spin-off into Wonderland)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! *Spoilers*, 3 Aug. 2013
By 
Kim Brennan "iluvromance" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved season 1 of this show. At first with season 2 I was sceptical that they could keep my attention, now that the *SPOILER* curse had been broken! But they caught and held it anyway, despite having no clear theme for season 2. Season 1 was all about breaking the curse while season 2 had no clear direction. I especially loved ALL of the Rumbelle moments! And the finding of Rumplestilskins son.

This was an extremely entertaining season and i'm looking forward to Season 3 - Neverland and Evil Peter Pan!!!! Can't wait to buy this and watch it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once Upon A Time - Season 2 [Blu-ray]
Once Upon A Time - Season 2 [Blu-ray] by Jennifer Morrison (Blu-ray - 2013)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews