Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ ALL THE THINGS!
Allie Brosh is the creator of the award winning blog "Hyperbole and a Half". Allie writes and illustrates stories from her childhood, anecdotes about her dogs and a candid account of her own struggle with depression. Allie depicts her comic persona usually wearing a pink dress with y shaped hands and a blonde shark fin ponytail.

And now she FINALLY has her own...
Published 12 months ago by AvidReader

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad.
Beautiful looking book, very glossy and hefty.
And the crude drawings are done with a certain amount of skill.
But the recollections are just OK. The first one is brilliant and really had me chortling - but it never got as funny as this again.
It's a nice book to dip into as there are little bite-size chapters but don't expect to be in floods of tears.
Published 3 months ago by J. Lee


‹ Previous | 18 9 1013 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Allie Brosh FTW!, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, some of the favourite parts from her blog (eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee) as well as some hilarious new stories, plus some slightly more serious, touching stories, all printed in high-quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened (Kindle Edition)
Whether you have read the blog or not, get this. I just had to stuff a sleeve in my mouth to stop myself cackling out loud on the train home from work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are familiar with Allie's blog you probably have a copy of this book already - if you haven't heard of her before you are in for a treat - have a look at her blog if you are not sure - or just jump in and treat yourself to the funniest, most moving comic book available - in turn eye-wateringly funny and heart-stoppingly poignant (her description of depression is second to none) and her drawings are just genius - enjoy!
Oh yes - and I love the different coloured pages for each chapter - more genius xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!!!!, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I discovered the blog about a month ago and immediately pre-ordered this book and I am soooo glad I did.
Having a near constant struggle with depression myself, Allie's accounts of her own, personal experience are not only insightful and hugely beneficial for those who would like to know more about it, but they are easy to relate to in a way that is both humorous and touching - a rarity for this particular illness.
At the moment, there aren't many things that make me smile, but this had me almost crying with laughter, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who is having a particularly bad day or is feeling a little down, for whatever reason.
I have now officially declared this as my 'happy book!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed and cried, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book that will mostly make you laugh, even if you have already read the blog. Yet some parts might make you cry and not just from laughing. Her experiences with depression are tough to read about yet make it a lot more relate-able. In the end it is a book that will leave you feeling a little bit less alone, knowing you are not the only one struggling with themselves if it comes to self esteem, motivation or cringing at your past self, Allie makes you feel normal. Somewhat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My sides, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A perfect extension of Dogs Don't Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving and Depression Part 2, two of my favourite blog posts. Had to stop multiple times to breathe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant read, I can't recommend this book enough. Its a great description and insight into depression that can be understood by those who suffer from it and those who had never had it.

Its very entertaining as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. G. L. Roberts (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would (and do) recommend this book to anyone. You'll find yourself laughing along at Allie's hilarious anecdotes. Just check her blog out if you're not sure if you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously Funny Brutally Honest, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have ever read Allie Brosh's blog Hyperbole and a Half you will know exactly what to expect from this book and will probably have bought it already. If you haven't read the blog, buy this book anyway, you will not be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No suitable for Kindle, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened (Kindle Edition)
I should have known something unusual was going on when the book took several minutes to download to my Kindle rather than the usual few seconds. I use an "old-style" (I suppose) no-colour Kindle - bought around 2011. The text of this book is extremely small. You can magnify it but then you can't see the whole page and have to keep moving the text around. Worse, some of the text is on what is presumably, in the original book, some pretty coloured background, which comes out as grey on the Kindle and makes it even more difficult to read. The cartoon illustrations are even more illegible than the printed text.

I usually read in bed at night by the light of my bedside lamp, but this was nearly impossible. Only by using my "nearly blind" magnifying reading glasses and using lighting suitable for an average size professional sports stadium was I able to make any progress.

As for the literary content, I did not enjoy the book as much as many other reviewers seem to have done. No laugh out loud moments for me. But then maybe the general frustration of finding it so hard to read made me rather biased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1013 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews