Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant clasic game
bought as a gift on impulse as it was an amazing prie. 6.66 is awsome for the newest version of the classic game
Published 8 months ago by Chelsea Berresford

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy.
Ideal for taking on holiday as the box is a smaller than the normal as the board folds in to 4 and opens out full size. Took it to Centre Parcs and had great fun with it.Delivery was prompt as i ordered it at the last minute.
Published 2 months ago by Mrs G Ranger


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant clasic game, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Board Game (Toy)
bought as a gift on impulse as it was an amazing prie. 6.66 is awsome for the newest version of the classic game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Board Game (Toy)
this is a perfect traditional family game making a fantastic Christmas present for my son it was cheaper then anywhere else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaches you all life's essential qualities, 9 Jan 2014
By 
BaldyChops "#baldychops1" (Top secret for security purposes) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly Board Game (Toy)
Buying this game teaches you to argue, cheat, exploit, bankrupt, destroy and ultimately hate and kill. Ok so it doesn't HAVE to end in murder but let's face it after 7 hours of playing it no jury would convict you if you killed your family just to make it stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its a maligned classic that still has a place in our house, 6 Nov 2013
By 
Adrian "adrianjfrost" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Board Game (Toy)
Ok I admit we play lots of more modern board games in our house (like Ticket to Ride, Pandemic, Carcassonne and Forbidden Desert) but we still have some fun with Monopoly. And I cant imagine many people who haven't played it, so it wont be easy to make this review new and interesting

The 2013 set comes with the new cat piece, which is quite sweet, and pretty much everything else is what you would expect. All the cards and money feel a bit small/flimsy to me but the player counters are metal and the whole game is typically about a tenner on Amazon, so that seems fair. The full rrp of 17 seems a little high (to me at least)

We have played the adult Monopoly (this 2013 and previous versions) with our children since they were about 7 after migrating from Junior Monopoly. And we all have fun. We tend to play 'quick and dirty' with a few house rule variants to speed/liven things up (see below if you are interested). The kids have learnt to manage money/counting/sums, negotiation skills, strategic decision making and experimenting with new rules (and the consequences) - admittedly with some with prompting from mum and dad - so there is some educational value in the game. The game has 2 normal dice and a red 'speed dice', we mostly prefer/use 'normal dice' but the red dice makes for a bit more speed/luck.

Taking Monopoly on its own terms it is a perfectly agreeable family game (in my opinion), it isn't a game we would play lots of and probably wouldn't be our first choice for an adults only game - 3 stars seems too harsh so we give it a (generous) 4 for being an adaptable classic.

. . . a few house rules if you are interested (or haven't tried changing rules yet: all fines etc go on to free parking to keep more cash in the game (does anyone not do this?), no purchases on the first round the board (or until all players have passed 'Go' once (or twice!)); each property is auctioned to the highest bidder as it is landed on (3 or more players and its ruthless!), no rents can be collected in jail; game ends when 1 player is bankrupted and the winner is the one with most cash (or more usually asset value); being allowed to build on properties without owning the set (stated rents with houses are halved until the set is complete) is good fun too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greay buy, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Monopoly Board Game (Toy)
Had hours of fun with kids my 6 yr old loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Board Game (Toy)
Fun traditional game, can't go wrong with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best price around!, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Board Game (Toy)
Bought this for Christmas for our ten year old grandson. He has had a lot of fun playing it. Best price anywhere!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy., 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Board Game (Toy)
Ideal for taking on holiday as the box is a smaller than the normal as the board folds in to 4 and opens out full size. Took it to Centre Parcs and had great fun with it.Delivery was prompt as i ordered it at the last minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Monopoly Board Game (Toy)
Child very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Board Game (Toy)
Quick delivery, classic game with a little cat too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monopoly Board Game
12.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews