Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent effort from Mr Calleja
In his mid 30's Joseph Calleja by any standards is an impressive tenor and certainly when compared to others singing in the past 10 years or so, IMHO is at the very top. With Jonas Kaufmann I think they are at the point of today's pyramid of singers. Kaufmann is is equal but I cannot think of anyone better.

This album is lighter and more easy listening than his...
Published 10 months ago by Trev-R

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amore
Couldn't wait to play cd and was very disappointed when I did. The sound quality was dreadful as if a cheap copy had been made.
Published 9 months ago by Brenda Pamela Elizabeth Gibson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent effort from Mr Calleja, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Amore (Audio CD)
In his mid 30's Joseph Calleja by any standards is an impressive tenor and certainly when compared to others singing in the past 10 years or so, IMHO is at the very top. With Jonas Kaufmann I think they are at the point of today's pyramid of singers. Kaufmann is is equal but I cannot think of anyone better.

This album is lighter and more easy listening than his last offering (also superb) and features songs from Italy and the Mediterranean area as well as film and other works. He has been compared to Pavarotti but my opinion is that he has a more distinctive voice that is more Caruso/Schipa/Bjorling in that it has a distinctiveness that not only takes him from the mainstream of 'same' voices but also makes him easy to identify.

I really like his interpretations of these songs, my favourite probably being La Vie en Rose which surprised me. There is not a bad track on this album and I believe 90% of listeners will enjoy 90% or more of the content (assuming you didn't arrive here by mistake while looking for Led Zepplin). The fact that they have included duets with Nicola Benedetti including Mattinata, which they performed together at the Last Night of the Proms 2012 enhances the album further.

I am reviewing this from Spotify and the quality on the High Quality stream is excellent so I have to assume the CD quality will be better. Engineering seems to be very good and the BBC Concert Orchestra under Steven Mercurio are sympathetic to Joseph Calleja's interpretations.

I look forward to seeing him in the role of Enrico Caruso in the forthcoming major film The Immigrant starring Joaquin Phoenix and Marion Cottilard, due for release at the end of this year I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars caught up in the rapture, 2 Sep 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Amore (Audio CD)
The Maltese tenor Joseph Calleja can do no wrong as far as I'm concerned, so I have to admit I am quite biased in reviewing this disc. Anyone who heard him live at the Proms last year will surely have been moved by his extraordinary voice, allied to an ardent, unselfconscious temperament that makes him a natural for this kind of heart-on-sleeve repertoire. You feel he really means the full-on romantic sentiment, and his one-in-a-million vocal gift allows him to make it totally convincing and heartrending!

This new CD has been a year coming, and finds him going down a lighter path than in his last tribute to Mario Lanza, Be My Love, which in itself was lighter that his previous more purely operatic discs. The emphasis here is on the beautiful tune bursting forth spontaneously and within a fairly narrow range stylistically. It starts in a subdued manner with two charming numbers, Tosti's La Serenata, which I didn't know, and Besame Mucho, which everyone knows. Personally I love Dalida's version of this classic and Calleja can't match her shimmying, willowy form on stage, perhaps, but as with everything the sound is so beautiful he convinces you this is THE version as you listen. By track four he has risen to a massive crescendo of superb intensity in Dalla's Caruso, cushioned by a sonorous orchestral backing. Two songs by film composer Ennio Morricone come across particularly well, one of them a duet with Nicola Benedetti on the violin, called Mattinata. Another duet with her is an arrangement of the slow movement of Rodrigo's Concierto de Aranjuez, which is very heavy-sounding after the airiness of the original, but actually sustained and impassioned in a way I'm sure Rodrigo would have liked. The numbers are nearly all highly memorable and emotional, concluding with Tchaikovsky's None but the Lonely Heart and an arrangement of a Chopin Etude, before a tasteful but powerful rendering of O Sole Mio. I would say this disc is absolute confirmation that Calleja is incomparable. His timbre can touch you in a unique way, and he spins pure gold out of every song he gives his voice to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joseph just gets better and better, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amore (Audio CD)
His voice is just pure pleasure, plus in every interview or performance I have seen him in he comes across as a lovely young man with, as we say in the north, no side to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amore Joseph Calleja, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amore (Audio CD)
What good value, what a magnificent eclectic collection and just what a voice! Style, style, style as well as that romantic, italianate timbre place him in the pantheon of great singers of any generation let alone his own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Voice., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amore (Audio CD)
With a great choice of songs and an untouchable tenor anything this man sings is pure velvet and gold. His latest CD which further enhances his already unassailable reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another ace from the Maltese tenor!, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amore (Audio CD)
Joseph Calleja gets better with every recording. Whilst just a smidgeon behind Pavarotti his type of singing of the numbers on this CD sets new standards. My wife will not stop playing this recording!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMORE, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amore (Audio CD)
I took delivery of this Album today and have played it 4 times in succession. it is beautiful to listen to. I woukd definitly recomend this Album' five stars plus twenty times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amore (Audio CD)
wonderful what more can you say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality and enjoyment, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amore (Audio CD)
I am a huge Calleja fan, my favourite track from the album is Amore, there is such a great mix of arias and songs that you cannot fail to be delighted by it. Can't wait for the next album. I love the mix of classic and popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great cd from joseph calleja, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amore (Audio CD)
another great cd from the natural successor to all the greats fantastic selection of music and songs from joseph callejae 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amore
Amore by Joseph Calleja (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews