Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars refreshing
I stumbled upon this band at a 'gentleman of the road ' event with mumford and sons. They are a lively and refreshing band with some high quality songs along with wonderful musicianship. Its hard to categorise them, but if you like the mumfords and the lumineers you will love them. Rarely does the energy of a live performance translate to studio albums, but all three...
Published 9 months ago by 'Seventies' Simon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic zeros
Bought this album after hearing a song on radio 2. The album grows on you, can't really compare to any other bands, parts are like music from the 60's
Published 13 months ago by spryman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars refreshing, 12 Jan 2014
I stumbled upon this band at a 'gentleman of the road ' event with mumford and sons. They are a lively and refreshing band with some high quality songs along with wonderful musicianship. Its hard to categorise them, but if you like the mumfords and the lumineers you will love them. Rarely does the energy of a live performance translate to studio albums, but all three Edward Sharpe and the magnetic zeros albums do..... brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Summer tunes, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have all 3 of Edward Sharpe's albums, and this may be my favourite. The mellow feel of 'Here' has been replaced by the original summer hippy vibes present in 'Up From Below'. Whilst there is no standout track like 'Home' from the first album, there are few weak songs in the latest edition from the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Better days is a great song but ..., 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros (Audio CD)
Think the production could have been better and ed should have given his voice a rest bfor recording, a bit of a let down this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow..., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cosmic....epic...this is my favourite release of 2013...saw them live in the summer and there music is lifting, entertaining and any other words that elude...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 Nov 2013
By 
D. Fulford "Mamahen" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really like this band. They are superb live, full of energy and get everyone to their feet to join in ( maybe that's why I love this album, I'm biased).
I agree with the reviewer who said it has quite a quite 60's feel ( some of the tracks are slightly reminiscent, in my humble opinion, of Velvet Underground).
Unfortunately, there will always be mixed reviews, so if you are visiting this and are confused on whether to spend your hard earned cash, I'd suggest giving it a go. After all, if you listen and you decide you really hate it you can always pass it on as a present to someone. Something along the lines of "oooh I loved it so much I bought you one too.......no, strange that, they don't seem to come sealed anymore, blah,blah,blah". Most recipients again in my opinion, will be too polite to say anything and they may love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album but not great, 18 Oct 2013
There are many highlights on this album but it falls just short of previous albums by the band. I would still recommend it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such happy, happy songs and signed by Mumford & Sons could not be any better, i saw them onthe Gentlemen of the road tour and they were infectious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different!, 9 Oct 2013
Having bought their other two cd,s which are excellent bought this one as soon as it was available,
Thought it was not as good as the others however after a few re-plays I really like it quite different
Would love to see them in the flesh maybe next year they may come here don.t know why they
Are not amongst the big timers - Well done Edward for happy go lucky music from you and your
Musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 4 Oct 2013
This review is from: Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros (Audio CD)
A very disappointing follow up to their first two albums. It feels and sounds a complete miss mash of sounds and styles that never really works. I struggle to recommend a single track on this record. Maybe the group were under pressure to produce a record for their new label or perhaps Alexander was "enjoying" himself
a bit too much; either way save your
money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone who has not purchaseed this albulm needs it in their life!! Trust me :-)
Brilliant album form a brilliant band!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros
Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros by Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews