Customer Reviews


214 Reviews
5 star:
 (191)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best series on British TV.
Once Breaking Bad had finished, I was looking to find another show on TV that I could immerse myself into whilst waiting for the fourth season of Game of Thrones. My friend then introduced me to Sherlock, a modern day TV show adaptation of Arthur Conan Doyle's classic detective novels. When I heard that Mark Gatiss of The League of Gentleman and Dr Who writer Steven...
Published 6 months ago by HipsterSithGuy

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Poor quality DVD, 3 DVD's in box set and none of them labelled correctly. Otherwise excellent series.
Published 2 months ago by Kate


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best series on British TV., 2 Jun 2014
Once Breaking Bad had finished, I was looking to find another show on TV that I could immerse myself into whilst waiting for the fourth season of Game of Thrones. My friend then introduced me to Sherlock, a modern day TV show adaptation of Arthur Conan Doyle's classic detective novels. When I heard that Mark Gatiss of The League of Gentleman and Dr Who writer Steven Moffat were behind the show, I was intrigued and I started watching the first and second seasons in only three days and then caught season 3 on BBC1 earlier this year. All I can say is that this show is absolutely amazing.

I at first found the concept of modernising Conan Doyle's books to be a bit flimsy. Updating classic stories to fit a certain time period can be a risky move, especially when the source material is so acclaimed. However, setting Sherlock in 2010s London has been done to perfection. The characters and situations blend seamlessly and makes for compelling viewing. I never read Conan Doyle's books myself so I'm unaware of how much the show follows them aside from the setting.

Benedict Cumberbatch is excellently cast as Sherlock, creating a character that is witty, deadpan and clever as well as arrogant and snobby yet displays moments of genuine compassion to those closest to him. The character displays some symptoms of Asperger's syndrome which is even suggested in one episode and as an Aspie myself, this characterisation allows me to identify with Sherlock's character brought on by Cumberbatch's amazing portrayal. There are also hints that Sherlock is asexual which displays his general apathetic attitude to normal human behaviour. Martin Freeman also does great work as John Watson, who is the yang to Sherlock's yin. Relatively more calm and rational, he acts as the emotional angle to Sherlock's scientific persona. the supporting cast are also strong. Una Stubbs and Mark Gatiss in particular both provide excellent warm performances as Sherlock's landlady Mrs Hudson and older brother and semi-rival Mycroft respectively.

Each season of Sherlock is divided into three episodes which at first glance appears to be insultingly short yet they all run at around 80 minutes each, which gives each episode more of a mini short film feel than an episode of a show. Each episode is thrilling and watching Sherlock and Watson investigate the different cases and playing off one another really makes for great viewing especially in scenes where Sherlock arrogantly professes his genius or talks down to others. Even the weaker episodes ('The Blind Banker' and 'The Hounds of Baskerville'), which tend to go a bit over-the-top are still exciting to watch and I always have a great time watching them.

If I had to pick my favourite season, I'd probably have to go with the second season as 'A Scandal in Belgravia' and 'The Reichenbach Fall' are definitely the most compelling episodes and show a deeper side to Sherlock's character than in other episodes. Season 3 starts off a bit slow but the finale is tremendous and jaw dropping. Season 1 does what it needs to do by introducing us to the principal cast and offering some exciting mysteries with the reveal of main villain Jim Moriarty played excellently over-the-top by Andrew Scott who also represents what Sherlock would be without his close group of friends.

My only real criticism of Sherlock is the fact that each season ends with a cliffhanger. I generally don't mind cliffhanger endings but considering that there is a two year gap between seasons, it's a bit of an annoyance and feels too much of a tease when fans have to wait so long for the next episode to see what will happen after something shocking has occurred. It's not a detriment to the show itself because the cliffhangers are still incredibly effective. It's just a bit of a nuisance to have to wait a couple years for them to be resolved.

Sherlock is essential British TV that is both entertaining and deep viewing. It's quite possibly my favourite TV show at the moment and definitely worth watching if you enjoy character-driven thrillers with some comedy to them. This show is funny, thrilling, compelling and bloody brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely original interpretation that pays off, 14 April 2014
By 
Lucy Isabella "LUCY" (Lake Tahoe, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit - I stayed well clear of Sherlock for the first two series for several reasons. I wasn't a fan of Benedict Cumberbatch, and I was beyond infatuated with the RDJ and Jude Law film series; I didn't think I'd enjoy the BBC series at all. However, just before the start of the third series I decided to take the plunge and watch the pilot episode - I was hooked in the first five minutes. The series is so clever and funny without any feeling of forced humour, and still manages to carry the serious tone of the show without turning it into a real drama along the lines of NCIS. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are a serious dream team, with a totally unique take on Sherlock and Dr Watson and such fantastic chemistry that they draw you in from the moment you see them meet on screen. The cinematography is beyond incredible and the writing some of the best on television - the scene of Sherlock's 'mind palace' in the third episode of the third series being one of my favourites. Mark Gatiss and Steven Moffat have done a phenomenal job on this interpretation of the book series, and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent New Adaption Of Conan Doyle's Eccentric Detective, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Sherlock - Series 1-3 (DVD Box Set).

DVD Info.
Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: English
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Region:2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.78:1
Number of discs: 6
Classification: 12
Studio: 2entertain
Running Time: 793 minutes

Positive.
1)Benedict Cumberbatch & Martin Freeman star as Sherlock Holmes & Doctor John Watson & share a great chemistry detective duo partnership.
2)The adapted story's of sir Arthur Conan Doyle's scripts by Steven Moffat & Mark Gatsis are fresh & engaging.
3)Andrew Scott as Jim Moriarty chilling & disturbing advisory for Holmes & Watson.

Negative.
Some of the plot elements are of a extremely fast paced may confuse some viewer's.

Dvd Info.
Series 1-3 of nine 90 minutes episode's.

Trivia.
1)Matt Smith auditioned for the role of John Watson prior to his Doctor Who audition.
2)Amanda Abbington who plays Mary Morstan Watson's Fiance/Wife is the real life long term partner of Martin Freeman.
3)In 2011 Danny Boyle directed theatre production of Frankenstein starring Benedict Cumberbatch & Jonny Lee Miller, Miller playe Holmes in the US version called Elementary.
4)Benedict Cumberbatch voices Smaug the Dragon in The Hobbit movie's alongside Martin Freeman as Bilbo Baggins.
5)Benedict Cumberbatch played villian Khan in 2013's Star-Trek Into Darkness.
6)Composer David Arnold has to date composed 5 James Bond movie's.
7)Wanda Ventham & Timothy Carlton who play Sherlocks parent's are Benedict Cumberbatchs real life Mum & Dad.

What's The Story.
This show is truly magnificent.

Modernized for the 21st century Shelock Holmes is a eccentric genius private detective aid's Scotland Yards led by Inspector Lestrade on unsolvable crimes & mysterious encounters.

Aided in his cases by Doctor John Watson the duo form over time a unlikely freindship with the enigmatic arrogant genius that is Sherlock Holmes & the Ex soldier Watson whom is now a Doctor.

Watson trys to keep the genius sleuth detective in check throughout there bizarre case's & is the heart of there partnership while Sherlock is genius using his mind palace as the ultimate weapon his superior intellectual mind.

Along the way the detective duo will come up against some very intriguing & seemingly unsolvable cases until eventually they are confronted by an advisory whom is as clever & enigmatic as Sherlock Holmes.....Jim Moriarty.

Timelords Thoughts.

This is a genius piece of tv drama.

Steven Moffat & Mark Gatsis have done a near impossible task of updating the work's of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle sleuth detective into a 21st century modern day setting & delivered the highest quality stories possible over the course of these first three series.

Benedict Cumberbatch is outstanding as Sherlock Holmes portraying a awkward socialite who's arrogant genius & intellect boarders on the verge of insanity, Cumberbatch is just brilliant in this role making at times an unlikable character likeable.

Equal praise goes to Martin Freeman as Doctor John Watson a former soldier who served in Afghanistan who over time builds up an unlikely friendship with Holmes who keeps the detective as grounded as he possible can & is Holmes conscience.

Freemans Watson is our eye's for the viewer's into this series & gives the show it's emotional beats.

Andrew Scott gives a very chilling performance as Jim Moriarty who is the dark side of Sherlock Holmes which makes for a very disturbing advisory pitting his wits against the legendary detective.

Supporting Actor's Una Stubbs, Mark Gatsis & Rupert Graves as Mrs Hudson, Mycroft & Inspector Lestrade respectively roind out the main cast, These roles are very important to the series & played superbly by the three actor's.

This is one of the BBC's best dramas for year's which delivers great acting & quailty engaging scripts making this must see telly & a must buy purchase for fan's of the show.

A highly recommended dvd box set release.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British drama at its best, 8 Jan 2014
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
When the BBC declared they were going to take on the greatest of all detectives, there was great excitement, and from the very beginning of the first episode, Study in Pink, the British public was hooked. Sherlock takes on an almost superhero quality, being able to see everything in minute detail, while struggling to understand how "normal" people get by with their boring existences.

The appearance of a legendary adversary's name in episode one suggests that the writers were never sure they would get another series, but it's not until the end of series 2 that it reaches its conclusion (or does it?). Inbetween, there is smuggling, infatuation and, of course, giant hounds.

Series 3 begins with an almighty cliffhanger from the previous series, but is less "procedural" than even the previous two series. Plots are wrapped inside everyday tales of dealing with loss, marriage and everything besides. It ends with typical head scratching "But... but...?" leaving the audience clamouring for more.

For the completist, the additional material will no doubt offer insight and interest, as BBC DVDs always do. For the newcomer, having all the episodes so far is the perfect gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I may be on the side of the angels, but that doesn't make me one of them, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-3 [Blu-ray] [2010] (Blu-ray)
The best detective series ever made, the reimagining of Sherlock is genius and it looks fantastic in glorious in HD. Stop reading this and buy it already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elementary, my dear Watson, 12 Jan 2014
By 
B. Russell - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Over the last 70 years there has been countless versions of the Sherlock Holmes made, and many of them fail to live up to Arthur Conan Doyle's original series - although some did. However what Sherlock does is place the eccentric charecter in a settting we know and we can relate too - and the conclusion works amazingly well. This boxset, which includes the first three series (comprising nine feature-length television films) alongside a nice selection of special features, is great for anyone who has seen the series, or likes the charecter from previous versions made before.

Series 1 introduces Cumberbatch as the eccentric detective, alongside Dr Watson (and all credit to Martin Freeman for an excellent portrayal). The first series focuses on the relationship between these two charecters and the cases that they face together. This series, unlike the two to follw, is much more linear - their is a case they solve througout. The conclusion to the series, 'The Great Game' is far the best from the first set of three, and introduces Moriarty, portrayed here by Andrew Scott. The plotline, with Sherlock solving a series of mini-cases, is genius and really allows the audience to connect with the idea of a 21st century sherlock. In fact the first series is great for this as Sherlock uses taxi's, the homeless and modern technology to solve the crimes. The writers have cleverly adapted the original stories to fit the new context.

Series 2 introduces Irene Adler, played by the brilliant Laura Pulver. One thing about this series is that the cases are less linear; there are several events going on and they all link together at the end (some things can seem of no impotance earlier on and then there is a realisation of their importance). I think this method is better as we are experiencing Sherlock like the mind of Sherlock - very chaotic but everything connects in the end. I loved the adaption of the Hound of the Baskervilles within this series - it's such a classic Sherlock story, and the adaption works well with joining the original with the modern day. Of course, the most famous part of this series is the cliffhanger, very cleverly written: "How did Sherlock survive the fall".

Series 3 continues on in the same style as the third series, which I think is great. The first episode, I musst admit, does feel a little confused but by the second episode this has improved. The idea of Sherlock giving John's best man speech and then solving a murder at his wedding is genius - and it creates for a great mix of tension and humour. Furthermore, the introduction of Mary - Dr Watson's wife - introduces a great new dynamic to the show which is great, and insures the show does not run dry. The final story is reminiscient of the end of the first series, as Sherlock chases Augustes Magnussen. This episode is my favourite from this series, and rounds of the serise nicely.

This series works on every level, and the only one yet to mention is Benedict Cumberbatch. His portrayal of Sherlock is nothing short of genius - and he thoroughly deserves the multiple awards he has won for the role. No doubt, the show would not have worked so well with other actors - the show is very lucky to have Cumerbatch. There are rumours of a fourth series, and I really hope this is true. The series is most certainly 'Elementary, my Dear Watson'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Story So Far, 29 Sep 2014
By 
Trish23 (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So, here’s every episode to date of everyone’s favourite TV show in one handy box set and it pretty much ticks all the boxes fans of Sherlock will want ticked.

By now we all know Sherlock is rather wonderful. A twenty first century re-imagining of Conan Doyle’s iconic detective it achieved instant popularity and an iconic status of its own. It’s not hard to see why. Extremely well written , character driven & very funny, with star making, showy performances from Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman it’s pretty hard to resist. Yes, repeated viewing reveals that things don’t always add up but Sherlock is such a glittery confection that I find I don’t really care.

One of the reasons I really like it is that it’s a rarity in BBC drama output, a show that occupies the sadly deserted middle ground between ‘heartwarming’ fare – Call the Midwife, Our Zoo – and the downright miserable & disturbing – Happy Valley, The Fall. There’s no lingering for hours here over the mental torment of the victims family. Bad things happen, shocking things happen but funny things and daft things happen too. The bad things aren’t dwelt on, there’s a shrug and we move on. It’s very much The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes & Doctor Watson rather than crime drama and steers well clear of the gritty realism & misery that we get far too much of on TV these days.

There are generous extras for all three series – behind the scenes & ‘making of’ features, cast interviews and in the case of series one and two, two episodes of each with commentary. Mark Gatiss and Stephen Moffat are always good value when they’re talking like the Conan Doyle fanboys they genuinely are. I was a bit disappointed there wasn’t a single episode of series three with commentary but I suppose all involved are very busy these days and it seems unfair to quibble when the content is very generous on the whole.

This box set was good value for money too. Every home should have one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What did we do before Benedict Cumberbatch?!, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What did we do before Benedict Cumberbatch?! He is absolutely terrific in this role and Martin Freeman is a delight as Dr Watson. These first three series of Sherlock are very enjoyable, with well constructed and developed stories, nicely drawn characters, excellent dialogues and satisfying crime solutions that still leave tingling threads yet to play out. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-3 [Blu-ray] [2010] (Blu-ray)
I strongly recommend this Sherlock Holmes version.
Good package, no expensive, a lot of special contents and behind the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual, I only got into this series after everyone else had been raving about it for at leas 2 years! Love the whole series and Mr Cumberbatch plays Sherlock brilliantly accompanied by Martin Feeman playing Holmes. A brilliant modern take on the old characters and stories we all know and love. And if you don't know them then you'll enjoy discovering them. Would love to get Sherlock and Sheldon from Big Bang Theory in the same room and be a fly on the wall, the conversation would be thrilling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock - Series 1-3 [Blu-ray] [2010]
Sherlock - Series 1-3 [Blu-ray] [2010] by Coky Giedroyc (Blu-ray - 2014)
£22.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews