Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, just wow
what an amazing show. each episode is good enough to be a movie!
love it. the actors are all amazing and the writers and producers and directors are all genuises!
Published 2 months ago by brian creevey

versus
9 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars STICK TO SERIES 1 & 2
If you enjoyed Series 1 & 2 (and you can buy those together for much less money), don't assume you'll enjoy Series 3. The latter sharply divided opinion between those who still found the show entertaining and those who thought it was massively disappointing. I fall into the latter camp and consider this third series to be woefully weak; I find it hard to believe that...
Published 3 months ago by Sou'Wester


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, just wow, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
what an amazing show. each episode is good enough to be a movie!
love it. the actors are all amazing and the writers and producers and directors are all genuises!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British drama at its best, 8 Jan 2014
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
When the BBC declared they were going to take on the greatest of all detectives, there was great excitement, and from the very beginning of the first episode, Study in Pink, the British public was hooked. Sherlock takes on an almost superhero quality, being able to see everything in minute detail, while struggling to understand how "normal" people get by with their boring existences.

The appearance of a legendary adversary's name in episode one suggests that the writers were never sure they would get another series, but it's not until the end of series 2 that it reaches its conclusion (or does it?). Inbetween, there is smuggling, infatuation and, of course, giant hounds.

Series 3 begins with an almighty cliffhanger from the previous series, but is less "procedural" than even the previous two series. Plots are wrapped inside everyday tales of dealing with loss, marriage and everything besides. It ends with typical head scratching "But... but...?" leaving the audience clamouring for more.

For the completist, the additional material will no doubt offer insight and interest, as BBC DVDs always do. For the newcomer, having all the episodes so far is the perfect gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elementary, my dear Watson, 12 Jan 2014
By 
B. Russell - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Over the last 70 years there has been countless versions of the Sherlock Holmes made, and many of them fail to live up to Arthur Conan Doyle's original series - although some did. However what Sherlock does is place the eccentric charecter in a settting we know and we can relate too - and the conclusion works amazingly well. This boxset, which includes the first three series (comprising nine feature-length television films) alongside a nice selection of special features, is great for anyone who has seen the series, or likes the charecter from previous versions made before.

Series 1 introduces Cumberbatch as the eccentric detective, alongside Dr Watson (and all credit to Martin Freeman for an excellent portrayal). The first series focuses on the relationship between these two charecters and the cases that they face together. This series, unlike the two to follw, is much more linear - their is a case they solve througout. The conclusion to the series, 'The Great Game' is far the best from the first set of three, and introduces Moriarty, portrayed here by Andrew Scott. The plotline, with Sherlock solving a series of mini-cases, is genius and really allows the audience to connect with the idea of a 21st century sherlock. In fact the first series is great for this as Sherlock uses taxi's, the homeless and modern technology to solve the crimes. The writers have cleverly adapted the original stories to fit the new context.

Series 2 introduces Irene Adler, played by the brilliant Laura Pulver. One thing about this series is that the cases are less linear; there are several events going on and they all link together at the end (some things can seem of no impotance earlier on and then there is a realisation of their importance). I think this method is better as we are experiencing Sherlock like the mind of Sherlock - very chaotic but everything connects in the end. I loved the adaption of the Hound of the Baskervilles within this series - it's such a classic Sherlock story, and the adaption works well with joining the original with the modern day. Of course, the most famous part of this series is the cliffhanger, very cleverly written: "How did Sherlock survive the fall".

Series 3 continues on in the same style as the third series, which I think is great. The first episode, I musst admit, does feel a little confused but by the second episode this has improved. The idea of Sherlock giving John's best man speech and then solving a murder at his wedding is genius - and it creates for a great mix of tension and humour. Furthermore, the introduction of Mary - Dr Watson's wife - introduces a great new dynamic to the show which is great, and insures the show does not run dry. The final story is reminiscient of the end of the first series, as Sherlock chases Augustes Magnussen. This episode is my favourite from this series, and rounds of the serise nicely.

This series works on every level, and the only one yet to mention is Benedict Cumberbatch. His portrayal of Sherlock is nothing short of genius - and he thoroughly deserves the multiple awards he has won for the role. No doubt, the show would not have worked so well with other actors - the show is very lucky to have Cumerbatch. There are rumours of a fourth series, and I really hope this is true. The series is most certainly 'Elementary, my Dear Watson'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benedict Cumberbatch at his best, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
It's a brilliant series where Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman work well to create an intriguing, witty and enjoyable set of programmes. Highly recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Sherlock!, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sherlock is a great TV series, probably one of my favourites!
Everything about this was great. The delivery time, the price and of course the content in the box set.

They just need to make more episodes quicker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Modern Update Of Conan Doyle's Legendary Detective, 21 Jan 2014
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Positive.
1)Benedict Cumberbatch & Martin Freeman star as Sherlock Holmes & Doctor John Watson & share a great chemistry detective duo partnership.
2)The adapted story's of sir Arthur Conan Doyle's scripts by Steven Moffat & Mark Gatsis are fresh & engaging.
3)Andrew Scott as Jim Moriarty chilling & disturbing advisory for Holmes & Watson.

Negative.
Some of the plot elements are of a extremely fast paced may confuse some viewer's.

Dvd Info.
Series 1-3 of nine 90 minutes episode's.

Trivia.
1)Matt Smith auditioned for the role of John Watson prior to his Doctor Who audition.
2)Amanda Abbington who plays Mary Morstan Watson's Fiance/Wife is the real life long term partner of Martin Freeman.
3)In 2011 Danny Boyle directed theatre production of Frankenstein starring Benedict Cumberbatch & Jonny Lee Miller, Miller playe Holmes in the US version called Elementary.
4)Benedict Cumberbatch voices Smaug the Dragon in The Hobbit movie's alongside Martin Freeman as Bilbo Baggins.
5)Benedict Cumberbatch played villian Khan in 2013's Star-Trek Into Darkness.
6)Composer David Arnold has to date composed 5 James Bond movie's.
7)Wanda Ventham & Timothy Carlton who play Sherlocks parent's are Benedict Cumberbatchs real life Mum & Dad.

Review.

This show is truly magnificent.

Modernized for the 21st century Shelock Holmes is a eccentric genius private detective aid's Scotland Yards led by Inspector Lestrade on unsolvable crimes & mysterious encounters.

Aided in his cases by Doctor John Watson the duo form over time a unlikely freindship with the enigmatic arrogant genius that is Sherlock Holmes & the Ex soldier Watson whom is now a Doctor.

Watson trys to keep the genius sleuth detective in check throughout there bizarre case's & is the heart of there partnership while Sherlock is genius using his mind palace as the ultimate weapon his superior intellectual mind.

Along the way the detective duo will come up against some very intriguing & seemingly unsolvable cases until eventually they are confronted by an advisory whom is as clever & enigmatic as Sherlock Holmes.....Jim Moriarty.

Timelords Thoughts.

This is a genius piece of tv drama.

Steven Moffat & Mark Gatsis have done a near impossible task of updating the work's of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle sleuth detective into a 21st century modern day setting & delivered the highest quality stories possible over the course of these first three series.

Benedict Cumberbatch is outstanding as Sherlock Holmes portraying a awkward socialite who's arrogant genius & intellect boarders on the verge of insanity, Cumberbatch is just brilliant in this role making at times an unlikable character likeable.

Equal praise goes to Martin Freeman as Doctor John Watson a former soldier who served in Afghanistan who over time builds up an unlikely friendship with Holmes who keeps the detective as grounded as he possible can & is Holmes conscience.

Freemans Watson is our eye's for the viewer's into this series & gives the show it's emotional beats.

Andrew Scott gives a very chilling performance as Jim Moriarty who is the dark side of Sherlock Holmes which makes for a very disturbing advisory pitting his wits against the legendary detective.

Supporting Actor's Una Stubbs, Mark Gatsis & Rupert Graves as Mrs Hudson, Mycroft & Inspector Lestrade respectively roind out the main cast, These roles are very important to the series & played superbly by the three actor's.

This is one of the BBC's best dramas for year's which delivers great acting & quailty engaging scripts making this must see telly & a must buy purchase for fan's of the show.

A highly recommended dvd box set release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trapped !!!, 9 Feb 2014
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
The series has only one problem.Which happens to be self-imposed !
Season 1 set a standard which is next to impossible to maintain !
It was so brilliant that repeating would be a monumental feat.For the producers ,the directors and the actors-even for the astonishing Cumberbatch ! They led themselves into a trap ! How to beat perfection !
They have since been engaged in this thankless struggle.To make brilliance a repetitive phenomenon.
They appear to be losing this fight,as expected.But they are losing it with such grace that they can easily be forgiven !
After all whatever they came up with is still light years ahead of anything else in the "entertainment"market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a fan of Sherlock and to watch all the series in HD is fantastic!! I would recommend this to any Sherlock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved every minute + the extras., 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
When 2014 started I had not heard of Sherlock, yes I had been living under the rock of two small children. I ended up whatching an episode by accident, a repeat was on and I thought I'd give it a chance since it had the bad guy from star trek in it (who I had found quite attractive) and the guy from the hobbit. Well once I had watched one I had to see more but as I found out later I had watched the end of season 1 and they had just shown season 3 on the bbc. So to my relief this handy boxset was released. I will admit that I was suprized there was only 3 episodes in a series but each one is about 1 1/2 hrs long so that does make up for it. The first series may seem a little dated now but it was made in 2010. I won't go into detail about each episode that would spoil it,but most episodes are related to an A C Doyle book. They are clever, witty, dark, laugh out loud and well acted. Would recommend to anyone who likes crime dramas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock, 17 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 1-3 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant plot, great characters and twists. Watching again allows you to see the clues you (and Lestrade) missed first time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa30c40cc)

This product

Sherlock - Series 1-3 [DVD]
Sherlock - Series 1-3 [DVD] by Benedict Cumberbatch (DVD - 2014)
18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews