Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Ferry at his very best
The Live in Lyon DVD is quite simply superb. A wonderfully eclectic set list covering all parts of Ferry's career (from early Roxy "If there is Something" through to Olympia's "Reason or Rhyme" - two of the highlights), the band and Ferry himself on absolutely top form, and done full justice here by an excellent recording and visuals. Brought back happy memories of the...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. S. Harris

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!
I was very disappointed with the audio quality of the show.
The SACD Boys and Girls has a much better audio.
But, the picture is good.
Published 8 months ago by Aguinaldo Lm Engrel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Ferry at his very best, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. S. Harris (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Lyon [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
The Live in Lyon DVD is quite simply superb. A wonderfully eclectic set list covering all parts of Ferry's career (from early Roxy "If there is Something" through to Olympia's "Reason or Rhyme" - two of the highlights), the band and Ferry himself on absolutely top form, and done full justice here by an excellent recording and visuals. Brought back happy memories of the Kew Gardens show which I attended on this tour (though this show if anything is even better I think). I can't recommend it highly enough to Ferry/Roxy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just olympic!, 21 July 2013
By 
This concert has been showing on Sky Arts for some months and is fantastic. Great backing artistes and watch for the dancers. Always a fan of Roxy Music i had forgotten Bryan also had a solo career. This has brought me back to rediscover his catalogue. Put this on the biggest screen and best audio you can find and chill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing concert from a pretty amazing artist! =), 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Lyon [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Bryan Ferry - more his solo work than Roxy Music (though I like them too). I already own Roxy Music's 'Live at the Apollo' and Bryan Ferry's 88/89 'Bete Noire' tour DVD - both of which are excellent. Saw Mr Ferry at Kew Gardens during his Oylmpia tour of 2011 so was keen to buy this DVD. It doesn't disappoint - there's something for all tastes - lots of material from both his solo career and Roxy Music days. The musicians (as with Kew), are all very talented (Jorja Chalmers on Sax and Oliver Thompson/Neil Hubbard on guitar being particularly good). The visuals and overall look of the show is great - helped by a stunning location! All-in-all, an excellent show which showcases Bryan Ferry as an excellent performer and song-writer ('Reason or Rhyme' from Oylmpia, Slave to Love, Don't Stop the Dance and My Only Love being personal favourites and ones all featured in the Lyon set. Highly recommend buying!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enjoyed., 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw this Concert on Sky Arts and recorded it, kept looking for the DVD and found out it was coming out shortly on the Brian Ferry Facebook page, the Concert on Sky had not got all the tracks on as the DVD, but I could not stop watching it, as I am going to see him in November I just had to buy it and Oylimpia his latest album , he plays quite a few tracks off this album, would recommend it in blue ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best concert blu ray's ever, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
so far the roxy/ferry fan had nothing to watch and enjoy on blu ray. well this waiting has ended and has been rewarded with a must have blu ray.
just everything is 5 star with this realese : picture, audio and to top it , the concert. a marvellous mix of roxy classics, covers and solo songs.

this is a blu ray to watch over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD!, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say? If you love Bryan Ferry you will love this! He just gets better, like a good wine he improves with age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The master of cool, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent a great performance from the man who can still perform to a standard of the highest quality,a true legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Nick (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
The whole production is a joy to watch and listen too. Oliver Thompson's guitar playing is outstanding!

Only disappointment is that the whole concert is not replicated on the audio CD; otherwise 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Ferry Live in Lyon, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Lyon [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
excellent dvd. every one should have this, I have watched it over and over again, I don't think I will ever tire of this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like a lot of people I caught the shortened version of this on Sky Arts. But on blu-ray and with DTS HD Master Audio, this is in another league.
The picture and sound quality are really fantastic, particularly the audio. Luckily also there’s little fancy camera work to distract you and the audience noise generally takes a back seat. This is every bit as good as Richard Thompson’s recent blu-ray which I thought would be hard to equal.
If I’m not mistaken BF has worked with most of these people before over the years and it shows. So not only excellent audio and video but BF and the band are very together and some of the versions on here of stuff we know and love are excellent versions. For example I’ve never particularly liked their take on Like a Hurricane before but this one seems better somehow.
Everyone will have their own favourites but for me Don’t Stop the Dance and Alphaville are real highlights.
If you like BF and Roxy then this is a must, if you’re not sure then get this anyway.
I got the BRD/CD version and even though CD data storage limits how much of the concert you get, it’s still worth having. Again the audio quality is excellent and it’s a great listen.
The packaging is pretty glossy and fancy, although slightly awkward , but is miles better than the presentation we’re used to with the Roxy collections.
Overall a definite ten out of ten for audio, video and content, a gem. And even better for concentrating on the band, not the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live In Lyon [DVD] [2013] [NTSC]
Live In Lyon [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] by Bryan Ferry (DVD - 2013)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews