Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Enjoyed This
I really rate this book.

It's not a fluffy sexy romp through an imagined world of glamour and excitement; this is raw and quite dark in places. But the characterisation is fantastic and I got completely immersed in this introduction to the band Oblivion who are teetering on the edge of potential collapse due to their drummer being away in rehab.

For...
Published 2 months ago by ArtyMum

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars couldnt get in to it
Its an Ok storyline at times it felt rushed, i just couldnt get that connection with the characters, that something was missing,
I also couldn't connect to the book in the way I could similar kinds of books. Its got a nice introduction, and it goes along nicely at times, its just not one id personally read again.
Published 14 months ago by LindaLvsMick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Enjoyed This, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seduced (Rockstar Romance) (Lost in Oblivion) (Kindle Edition)
I really rate this book.

It's not a fluffy sexy romp through an imagined world of glamour and excitement; this is raw and quite dark in places. But the characterisation is fantastic and I got completely immersed in this introduction to the band Oblivion who are teetering on the edge of potential collapse due to their drummer being away in rehab.

For a so-called introductory book this was a full novel length, and none the worse for it. All the band members, new and old, feel like they are there because they're necessary, and not just as fillers for the ones who get more of the story line.

There is some sex, as you'd hope, or seriously why would we all dream of snagging a rock musician (or is that just me?) but it's part of the story and not gratuitous.

Making room on my Kindle for all the next books in the series :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars couldnt get in to it, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seduced (Rockstar Romance) (Lost in Oblivion) (Kindle Edition)
Its an Ok storyline at times it felt rushed, i just couldnt get that connection with the characters, that something was missing,
I also couldn't connect to the book in the way I could similar kinds of books. Its got a nice introduction, and it goes along nicely at times, its just not one id personally read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A true 3 star worth..., 7 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Seduced (Rockstar Romance) (Lost in Oblivion) (Kindle Edition)
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seduced (Lost In Oblivion) (Kindle Edition)

I love writing reviews, seeing all the overwhelming 5 star ( in the USA ) and here I am with my 3.5 star review, I can't help feeling a bit challenged. For several days now I have been attempting to post a review but always chickens out at the last minute. I hate to stick out as the "only one" to give a less than 5 star rating everyone generously gave. ( I guess that's what an arc does to some reviewers, somehow they feel obliged )

From the very star,t you get a glimpse of the waning friendship between Nick, Simon and Deacon, they are at wits end especially Nick who seem to be having a complex writer's block. At each others throat, each one is ready to blame and hurl accusations toward one another on who's going behind who's back. The one sure thing they have in common is drugs, alcohol and having sex with one and the same woman at the same time. When they are not doing that they are bickering or are in fisticuffs trying to beat the hell out of each other.

Lacking focus and ideas after losing their drummer to rehab, on Deacon's idea, they took in "two someone new"...Jazz, the feisty purple outfitted pixie and sprite drummer and guitarist bassist with complex personality, Gray, made up the new dwindling band.

With the two new band members I started to hope the mood would start to pick up and lighten up, sadly, it turned even more somber and depressing. All these characters are of loose morals, sex and booze is all they can think about. Simon is almost always on the lookout for a woman to sex up, that or get 3 sheets to the wind, drunk to oblivion. One can't help thinking this book is trying to say this is what a band is all about...sex, dirty sex, drugs, alcohol and more drugs. To say this is a shining 5 star worth, oh Phulleezze, give me a break!

*** SPOILERS...SPOILERS **

Nick, Jazz and Gray having a menage a trois was done that would leave you feeling icky, it's like being in the same room with two people shamelessly doing the dirty leaving you feel like taking a shower to feel clean again. To some this maybe hot, to me it's a complete turn off, the entire scene was quite daunting. I wanted Nick and Jazz's relationship to fully develop, I don't get why Gray has not said how he feels for Jazz or had acted upon how he felt for her when they have been together for a very long time ( He abandoned his own family to be with her ) To walk in and join Nick and Jazz while they were in their most intimate moment and have sex with them, the scene borders on being obscene and disconcerting!

To sum it up, this is the story of a fledgling band and all their folly's with low morale, loves to be smashed and stoned, who are down on their luck waiting for that one big break...and that's what they got...that one lucky break!

This was told from Nick and Simon's POV, the next 4 or 5 books will revolve around them, the 2nd book will feature Deacon and since they live together and are always around each other, then it's safe to assume it'll be more of the same. The writing is quite good, a real 3.5 star worth, not any less, definitely not any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different and I Loved it, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seduced (Rockstar Romance) (Lost in Oblivion) (Kindle Edition)
Well, where do I start. Very different from my normal reading material. Good characters who really start to develop through the book. I didn't "like" any of the characters as individuals, but there were really intriguing. Will definitely buy book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lefting me wanting to read the rest of the series!, 22 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Seduced (Rockstar Romance) (Lost in Oblivion) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed reading the start, can't wait to read the rest and find out how the characters progress. More gritty than most rockstar books, but some steamy scenes as well. Looking forward to reading the rest of the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and graphic, 13 Aug. 2013
By 
Sandy S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seduced (Rockstar Romance) (Lost in Oblivion) (Kindle Edition)
: SEDUCED is the first storyline in the contemporary New Adult series Lost in Oblivion co-authored by Cari Quinn and Taryn Elliott. As an introductory storyline SEDUCED reveals the history and background and the bands stormy rise to success. We are privileged to watch as Oblivion goes from a house band playing local gigs for beer to a platinum-selling rock group with demons and secrets not quite buried in the past.

The characters are flawed and rough. There is no holding back in this particular storyline: booze, woman, sex, fights, jealousy and graphic language. The band's rise to fame from virtual obscurity is fraught with bitter regret and rivalry, one-night stands, broken promises and broken hearts.

Cari Quinn and Taryn Elliott bring the reader up close and personal into the life style that is the legend of rock and roll. We watch as two best friends come to blows over the direction of the band as well as the choices each has made. And in doing so they will come to the realization that there must be more to life than sex, drugs and booze. But for one or two, it will take a little longer to see their way through the fogged haze of a lifetime spent on the edge of oblivion.

LOST IN OBLIVION is an introductory novel that is gritty, graphic and reflects the ugly side of a life style in which many try but fail to succeed. The characters are flawed; some of their choices have failed or proved wrong; but like many in the music industry, they keep plugging away until the final note is played.

The storyline is well written and fast paced. There is always something happening or someone reflecting on the what ifs and whys. To say the characters are likeable would be stretching the truth due to the nature of the storyline, but each member of the band has a story to tell; a past they regret; and a history of demons that need to be excised or controlled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cracking intro to band series to come, 17 July 2013
This review is from: Seduced (Rockstar Romance) (Lost in Oblivion) (Kindle Edition)
Seduced (Lost In Oblivion) Cari Quinn, Taryn Elliott
ARC provided by authors.
I'd recently read Cari's Dirty Distractions and loved it, and wondered what this one would be like. Its a prequel to what is going to be a fantastic series Lost in Oblivion, if its anything like this prequel. Cari has teamed up with another author Taryn Elliot for this series and the duo clearly are a great team when it comes to writing.
Dirty Distractions was fabulous but a real HEA romance, whereas Seduced is a much grittier, hardened read. I love band books like this where each book feature a band member. This book introduces the whole band crew and how they've got together. They're not one of todays "manufactured" type bands, where a group of people have been put together by a producer simply to make a sound, but one where they've been together for years, toughing in it out, scraping money for instruments, working little back street gigs and supporting themselves with part time jobs and - as one band member says - "living on ramen noodles". That's how bands used to form when I was a teen, and it makes for a better and more cohesive group when they know each other so well.
As often happens though there's been problems within the band, and one of the members in is rehab - it was that or prison...so they're looking for what Nick - band creator says is temporary - a new drummer. Along comes Jazz (Jasmine) - and Gray comes with her. The two are an odd team, Nicks not sure if they are together as a couple, Jazz seems to be saying no while Gray says yes, but the duo are incredibly talented and mix well in sound with the lads. Nick is having a hard time processing that Snake - the one in rehab- isn't going to be able to continue with them, but Deak and Simon are realistic, and need to persuade him that Jazz and Gray are needed as permanent members if they are to reach the success they crave.
They're a great cast, Nick, surface calm but who has traumatic stage fright he keeps hidden from all but Simon, Deak, the bands moderator who keeps peace and does the organising for them all, Simon - AKA Pretty Boy by Nick, he's the man whore of the group and happy to admit it :). Then they meet Jazz (Pinkie) and Gray. Gray is the quiet but deadly seeming guy, very protective of Jazz and not one to be put down. He'll do whatever it takes to succeed, except anything that harms Jazz of course. Jazz, she's like a slither of quicksilver, impossible to catch, always on the move and indefinable. Small in size but big in stature, she's a pink or purple haired whizz, always brightly coloured "see me" clothes and the focus of attention. Can the band succeed when its clear Gray wants Jazz, but he's not alone in that?
There are fights between them, over Snake, over Jazz and over the direction the group needs - and sometimes over nothing at all, but when the times get tough they pull together and its going to be a great series I'll look forward to reading. One of my favourite authors is Olivia Cunning and her Sinners series - another band, where books concentrate on one member at a time, and they're gripping, charismatic and very erotic. This series looks like its going to be similar, the writing style is very reminiscent of those, where the reader needs to work out the message that's unsaid from the conversation that is versed. One where there's often an hidden subtext. And the sex...hot, steamy and erotic, and fits perfectly the feeling of immediacy in the novel, a "live in the moment" feel to it where its all sweaty gropes and touches, kisses, grabbing and losing clothes without thinking about the consequences.( though thankfully they use condoms Every Time - hurrah, as I hate those where its seen as only necessary sometimes) Its very graphic, there's a warning and its accurate so take note of that's not your scene. For me when it fits - as this does, then its simply a fun and necessary part of the story
Overall a great read, its fantastic value at 367 pages for just £1.82 and its one that will bear multiple reads. I look forward to more from Lost in Oblivion.
Stars: well after all that it has to be another five doesn't it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING A MUST READ, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seduced (Rockstar Romance) (Lost in Oblivion) (Kindle Edition)
Read this book by chance and I am now totally addicted.
I was not sure at first as there are a few characters you need to get to know quite quickly but the authors made this very easy for you to do.
I can not wait to go on and read what happens next to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews