Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Debut
Review
Steven is a new member of the fraternity of self published Historical Fiction writers who can actually write. Its a surprising and welcome find when one of these authors pop up. Not only do they have to come up with an idea, write the idea well, but they also need to edit the book, proof it but they also need to do the PR for it. It often the PR they...
Published 9 months ago by Parm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, but...
An enjoyable reworking of the classic tale. The pace of the story is sufficient to make the book engaging enough, but there is no real depth to the characters and the plot is a little one dimensional. The text is a little simplistic and the authors desire to remain historically accurate seems to outweigh the need to tell the story, so much so you could be forgiven for...
Published 3 days ago by Peter Gregory


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None, 16 Aug 2013
This review is from: Wolf's Head (The Forest Lord Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
a brilliant book, not the type of book i usualy read but once started i couldnt put it down! Really looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf's Head (The Forest Lord Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very entertaining. Enjoyable and easy to read. Hope there is a follow up soon. Historically accurate. Where does maid Marian come into this story?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic read, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Jonathan R. Baker "Baker2_40" (South Westerner England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was epic, can not wait for the next one! (which I hope is soon). Finished the book in 2 days couldnt put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody good read, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf's Head (The Forest Lord Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Rater than try and compete with Angus Donald (he wrote a thoroughly enjoyable series about Robin Hood), this chap has brought hood forward to the reign of Edward II, and making Robin a peasant. This he has given his readers a whole different chunk of English history for Robin and his some times merry men to operate in with great effect. I look forward to reading the sequel.
If you like English historical fiction, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 13 July 2013
I have to say that I enjoyed this book greatly. Although I'm a fan of historical fiction, I've never really been interested in reading about Robin Hood before. I often find that many modern adaptations of the tales either stick too rigidly to the popular aspects of the stories becoming a bit one dimensional or the author tries too hard to be original and loses many aspects of the stories that people love. I am happy to say that in the case of Wolfs Head neither is true. What Steven A. McKay has written is wonderfully original yet keeps true to the stories roots. Setting the story within a real historical context made the book a more interesting read; I also felt that that to base the characters in Yorkshire as opposed to the obligatory Nottingham was a brave decision that paid off.

If you are a fan of historical fiction you must read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another outlaw tale, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did I want to read another story about Robin Hood I wondered but this isn't just another re telling of the well known story.
This is a tale of survival against a well researched historical backdrop of a time of injustice and hardship. It's also a cracking good story with lots of action and adventure with characters that develop and grow through their own unique stories which are then skilfully woven into a tale that grips from the start and carries you through to the end. The language allows the story to flow while recreating the time and place in history in a carefully crafted way that adds to the enjoyment of the tale. Can't wait for the next part of the trilogy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf's Head (The Forest Lord Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Seemed like young adult fiction in style. Started poorly in that regard. Plot wasn't bad. Light reading and with some decent editing could have been pleasing. Might read the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf's Head (The Forest Lord Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Not a can,t put down type of book. It plods along and throws up few surprises. Will not buy next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf's Head (The Forest Lord Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It was an ok read but not sure I would pay the full price for it (got it at a discount).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Jun 2014
By 
T. Gee "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf's Head (The Forest Lord Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read bit predictable and with little or no character development.

The book seems to be well researched in terms of the historical detail, but very little attention has been paid to the plot or the development of the characters. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolf's Head (The Forest Lord Book 1)
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews