Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cult of celebrity worship.
I love the films Sofia Coppola comes up with! I saw "The Bling Ring" last night and was not disappointed - it is a funny, shifting, tongue-in-cheek on the mark portrayal of the madness of the celebrity obsession. The obsession that results in a feeling that we know people in the public eye, and have a right to invite ourselves to their homes. And this is what happens, a...
Published 21 months ago by Lola

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed
Saw the trailed and isnt normally a film i would watch but the trailer sold it too me. Enjoyed the film, it progressed well and emma watson played a great role. would recommend to Fans of emma watson
Published 16 months ago by Thomas wheeler


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cult of celebrity worship., 6 Aug. 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bling Ring [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love the films Sofia Coppola comes up with! I saw "The Bling Ring" last night and was not disappointed - it is a funny, shifting, tongue-in-cheek on the mark portrayal of the madness of the celebrity obsession. The obsession that results in a feeling that we know people in the public eye, and have a right to invite ourselves to their homes. And this is what happens, a posse of adolescent middle-class LA girls and their gay friend (brilliant Israel Broussard portraying a young adult who is embracing his gayness, his performance is flawless) embarked on a thieving extravaganza, targeting homes of the celebrities next door (Paris Hilton, Orlando Bloom, Lindsay Lohan et al). Time after time, they broke into celebrities' abodes and tried on stuff, innocently bagging a bracelet or two. Those "trips" continued and the thieving escalated with the amount of publicity their gang received. As their sense of cautiousness disappeared, they started to bag as much bling as they could carry away, occasionally taking Ferraris for a ride (returning them in time of the lawful owner's return back to LA). Until, of course, they got caught and were put behind bars. For real.

As the credits started to roll (to yet another great piece of music!), a couple of girls behind me voiced their opinions: "What was that about? Completely pointless..." I felt smug. God, I felt energised and elated after the film, a bit like after watching a fine thriller. The whole experience felt like a good thriller to me - I was at the edge of my seat, tensed and a couple of times literally holding my breath (the gun scene?!).

The film is very well made. Cinematography is beautiful. There are numerous scenes that are stunning and well thought through (the night driving, when we see just the road ahead? the car crash scene? the sad and disturbing scene, where the ring leader (played by Katie Chang), stands in Lindsay Lohan's bedroom and sprays herself with perfume? the almost silent scenes of robberies? the list is endless!). The acting of the young actors is solidly good (some critics pointed out that there are scarcely any dialogues in the film, but this is not a radio play that would not survive without a good dialogue, this is Sofia Coppola's film!). Chang and Broussard and our own Emma Watson are excellent!

And the humour! This is (perhaps first) genuinely funny Coppola's film - Leslie Mann is hilarious and sweet as a spiritual mum home-schooling her children on the principles of The Secret. And the fuchsia pink shoes!

And the music!

This is definitely a film that will divide opinions, but sometimes you need to think outside the lines. This is not just a portrayal of a incident that took place a few years ago, without comment or any directorial input, this is a satire of the world's celebrity culture. In her last film Somewhere [DVD] (2010), Sofia Coppola tried to illustrate the meaningless of celebrity existence. And in "The Bling Ring" she continues her musings on the topic of fame, depicting the obsession with all things celebrity.

This is a real life tale of obsession (on wrong things), arrogance and dilusion, and a time capsule of the strange times we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bling Ring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Saw the trailed and isnt normally a film i would watch but the trailer sold it too me. Enjoyed the film, it progressed well and emma watson played a great role. would recommend to Fans of emma watson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars my review of the Bling Ring, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bling Ring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
ok but would not have payed to go to the cinema to see it,not as good as i thought it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bling bore, 27 April 2015
For someone who knows a bit of the true story on which it is based, the movie absolutely puts no new perspective on the facts themselves or the members of the Bling Ring. The script consists of an extremely redundant succession of burglaries, punctuated by a few excerpts from interviews which unsubtly try to explain the motivations of those teenagers. The plot lacks substance, there is almost no dramatic tension, and even the atmosphere, one of Coppola's work's most appealing aspect, has trouble establishing itself and carrying away the viewer. The movie gets boring quite quickly and after an hour,you just lose interest.4/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed watching this on a rainy afternoon, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed watching this on a rainy afternoon. I thought the films director could have done better, the editing was a little strange as well. A lot of screen time is spent on watching people jump up and down and dance in nightclubs rather than developing and explaining the true life events that the story is based on.

Its worth a watch if you have nothing else to do. I'm glad I saw it and equally glad that I watched it for free on Amazon rather than paid for it at the cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Snoozefest, 17 Aug. 2014
Boring.

The premise is: a group of teenagers rob celebrity homes. The film is: a group of teenagers rob celebrity homes (with barely any dialogue, suspense or intrigue - did this film even have a script?) Could have cut the entire film down to 5mins because that's about how long you can suffer through this before your attention wanders. In fact, just watch MTV cribs if you're so desperate to see the inside of Paris Hilton's house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save yourself 90 minutes of your life..., 11 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Bling Ring (DVD)
If you've read the amazon synopsis of this film, you probably don't really need to watch it, as that's pretty much it for plot. I've seen and liked the director's previous work, but this is such a thin storyline, it's just like a fashion shoot on steroids - pretty girls draping themselves in jewellery and clothes. The characters are sadly under-developed, so you don't really have any strong feelings for or against them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 'em Danno, Celebrity One., 25 April 2015
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bling Ring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a clever film about people who have taken superficiality to the next level. The desire to thieve is clearly strong in these airheads, but so is the desire to possess beautiful things owned by the beautiful people, there was on odd innocence in their larceny especially its lack of difficulty and their lack of nous in hiding it. At time it seemed to be CLUELESS gone horribly wrong. It ends much as one would expect, there a few surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Emma why, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bling Ring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Its about a group of ladies that go on a crime spree.

Its based on a real story

I hate to say it about Emma Watson

Its terrible, her American accent is laughable, if anything my opinion of her as an actress has fallen after watching this.

Her next film needs to be astounding, to prove she is a serious actress, and not just big cleavage. Who loves micro skirts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Documentary like film, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bling Ring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This film is almost a documentary on a true story. It was difficult to be involved, because it was not shown from a particular persons point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bling Ring [Blu-ray]
Bling Ring [Blu-ray] by Sofia Coppola (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews