Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..BRUTAL BLOODY SEQUEL.."
Let me start by saying I am reviewing the USA IMPORT UNCUT VERSION! The UK version has been heavily cut by approx. 6 minutes, the movie itself is very good, some parts of the story are a bit stupid in places and were not really necessary but the overall revenge theme thriller was good even if the best bits of revenge are in the last half hour of the film, the story is...
Published 11 months ago by S. Drury

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UK DVD heavily cut - US version intact and uncut !
A quick warning to any UK customer thinking of buying this DVD, this version of the film has been ruined by 6 minutes of cuts by the idiotic UK censor, the US Unrated DVD is the full and complete version and can be bought through Amazon.com at a very reasonable price which includes delivery, I've just ordered my copy :-) See it in it's entirety or not at all.
Published 11 months ago by The Chief


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UK DVD heavily cut - US version intact and uncut !, 5 Oct 2013
This review is from: I Spit On Your Grave 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A quick warning to any UK customer thinking of buying this DVD, this version of the film has been ruined by 6 minutes of cuts by the idiotic UK censor, the US Unrated DVD is the full and complete version and can be bought through Amazon.com at a very reasonable price which includes delivery, I've just ordered my copy :-) See it in it's entirety or not at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..BRUTAL BLOODY SEQUEL..", 6 Oct 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let me start by saying I am reviewing the USA IMPORT UNCUT VERSION! The UK version has been heavily cut by approx. 6 minutes, the movie itself is very good, some parts of the story are a bit stupid in places and were not really necessary but the overall revenge theme thriller was good even if the best bits of revenge are in the last half hour of the film, the story is very different to the original this time its a young model who gets raped by a group of photographers, they abduct her and keep her in the basement where they perform vile torture etc., she manages to make a very random lucky escape and then act out her bloody revenge, the revenge scenes were ok nothing special but the last one with the vice is exceptionally painful to watch, how much of these scenes remains intact in the UK version I don't know as its quite graphic, as for the rape scene it was horrible yes but nothing like the original remake, the first remake overall was probably a better film, especially story wise, still this is worth checking out if you want something nasty to watch, its a pretty good movie but not brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots Of Spit. Not Much Polish., 27 Sep 2013
By 
S. J. Barlow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Spit On Your Grave 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Here it inevitably is - the nasty, grubby little sequel to the surprisingly effective 2010 remake of the video nasty kingpin of 1978. Steven Monroe's follow-up (is he REALLY going for a franchise here??!) manages to not so much cross the line as totally destroy it, tumbling into a dark and depressing abyss in the process. The trouble with the torture porn genre - and this certainly earns that dubious though dated label - is an innate, nihilistic inability to know when to stop. With an abuse/rape/kidnap/urination/electric prod first and second act (one in New York, the second in-uh-Bulgaria), Monroe and writers, Neil Elman and Thomas Fenton subject their heroine, a struggling model (Brit thesp, Jemma `Community' Dallender) to relentless attacks, humiliation, violation and degradation before the inevitable escape/revenge finale. But I guess you already knew that.

What on earth this is all meant to be is hard to fathom. It lacks tension, pace or any real kind of plot development and characters remain stuck in their stereotypical templates throughout. Undeniably brutal and relentless, it is ultimately a bit of a worry. There is a little too much relish in the air during the first half and the brutalising of the central character is far more than is necessary to make the point. However, Jemma Dallender acquits herself incredibly well even in the context of this scuzzy material and that ex-Eastender, Joe Absolam does Euro psycho with no small measure of panache. That aside, this is one downer of a movie after which you may well require the services of a good shower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned., 9 Sep 2013
By 
D. Krol "deano76" (bradford) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Spit On Your Grave 2 [DVD] (DVD)
**This review is for the film only**

Having really enjoyed the brutal, yet terribly dated, 1978 movie, I watched the 2010 remake expecting it to really suck, however, it really surprised me and was brilliantly tense, shocking and at times, so graphic that it had me squirming in my seat.

Roll on a couple of years and we now have a sequel.

I at first expected this to be a cheap cash in on the first movie but having seen that it was directed by the very same guy (Steven R Monroe) it gave me some confidence that this would be a decent follow up.

The Plot!!!
We are introduced to Katie (Jemma Dallender) an aspiring model. When she innocently accepts an offer to have some new photos taken for her portfolio, free of charge, from a family of Romanian photographers, the experience quickly turns into an unthinkable nightmare, as one of the group takes an obsessive liking to her. What then seems like an innocent act of kindness soon turns into a night of murder, kidnap, rape and torture. When Katie finally escapes she plans and executes her brutal revenge.

This film is in my opinion, on par with part 1. It has a different feel to it in terms of atmosphere and dread and the rape and torture scenes in the first half of the film are not quite as graphic, yet still very difficult to watch.

The second half of the movie though, is jaw droppingly brutal. Some of the revenge scenes, while being so horrific and disturbing (especially if you're a man), are a really uncomfortable yet, un-nervingly satisfying watch, this being down to the bad guys being so despicably horrible.

The acting, production values and simple, yet gruesome effects, are as good as they were in part 1 and the film will be a real treat for revenge style horror movie fans like myself.

However, if you have never seen the first one, or you are more into mainstream horror films, then you may be in for a shock. This film is intense, shocking and uncompromising in its brutality, so don't say I didn't warn you. The last 10 minutes especially, will have most men leaping behind the sofa and covering their eyes lol.

Fans of the first film, or films like Saw and The hills have eyes, will no doubt take great pleasure from this sequel but for the more mainstream audience, it may be a little too graphic for most tastes.

9/10 Twisted and brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS MOVIE SHOULD WIN THE BEST PICTURE OSCAR!, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE MOVIE

The I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE Remake was one of the very rare examples of remakes actually being superior to the original. After horrible remakes of NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET, FRIDAY THE 13TH and THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE and recently MANIAC I really had my doubts.
As it turned out I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE was a GREAT movie with a superb lead.
I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2 is even BETTER. Actress Jemma Dallender gives a striking performance (if not the best in any horror film up to date) and Hollywood actresses can learn a lot from her. She makes the most degrading scenes look real and not acted and by the time she gets her revenge the audience will doubtlessly be 200 % on her side. The transition from victim to avenger is more believable than in most movies of this kind. Sarah Butler's performance in the remake was fantastic, but Dallender's performance is even better, surely deserving an Academy Award for this.
I wouldn't consider I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2 a real sequel - it merely shares the theme, but not even the characters are the same.
I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2 is grittier than the preceding movie and mainly plays in Bulgaria. Arguably there are some plot holes, as how to smuggle somebody from the US to Bulgaria, but since things like this do happen in real life, I found it easy to overlook some of these. The change of scenery sets it apart from ISOYG 1 and adds to her feeling helpless being in a foreign country. On a psychological leven ISOYG 2 works out very well, too, it is not an easy movie to sit through.
ISOYG 2 - like its predecessor - is not a movie for the mainstream consumer. It contains extreme scenes of violence, gore, sexual violence, rape and degrading scenes. It takes the violence to a new level, making the SAW and HOSTEL franchises look like rather harmless kiddie movies by comparison (which they actually were NOT). Needless to say it surpasses the level of violence of ISOYG 1, the SFX are very well done and realistic.
Steven R. Monroe (who also directed the I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE remake) once again did a fantastic job behind the camera. The movie is well-paced and throughout the 106 mins. runtime there is not a boring second.
Many sequels - especially sequels of remakes - are lame and tend to disappoint, this is certeinly not the case here. I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2 is probably one of the best horror movies ever made and definitely my personal favorite.
6.0 OUT OF 5.0 STARS (yes it really is that good!)

THE BLU-RAY

Reviewed version: 2013 Starz/Anchor Bay US Blu-ray
Feature running time: 106 mins. (uncut)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 18 CUT (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1
Audio: English Dolby TrueHD 5.1
Subtitles: English SDH, Spanish
Chapters: 12
Extras: Deleted Scenes
Region: A (LOCKED) - Australian Blu-ray is region B and completely uncut as well.

Picture quality: A sharp, flawless image
Audio quality: A great, flawless audio
Extras: Deleted scenes. Rather poor for a blu-ray in this day and age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Haven't we seen this somewhere before?, 9 Nov 2013
This review is from: I Spit On Your Grave 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Girl gets horrifically abused and left for dead. She comes back to exact revenge on her tormentors. It's basically the same story as `I Spit On Your Grave' (1) and about a hundred other similar revenge movies.

The girl certainly gets badly abused. You won't find it hard to sympathise with her plight and be rooting for her when it comes to her taking her (gruesome) revenge. If you like seeing innocent people hurt then there's plenty of that. If you like seeing innocent people killing nasty people in horrible ways then it has that, too.

But then so did the first one. And, if you've seen that, then you've basically seen this.

`I Spit On Your Grave 2' is what it is and nothing else. It's violent and nasty, but then you probably know that already. If that's what you're looking for, then look no further. If you're looking for something original then this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I spit in your gravy too, 13 Oct 2013
This review is from: I Spit On Your Grave 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Aspiring model, Jemma Dallander, is beaten up and raped. then is held captive by some nasty types and raped some more. Until, finally she gets to kill a bunch people.

Euro sequel to the remake of I Spit on Your Grave. It's all very serious and grim and stuff and marginally better than the first remake. The main problem is that the lead character is not interesting and nor is anyone else so it's all a bit lifeless. Just a typically flat, unengaging straight to dvd job, really. Reminded me of films like The Hunters or the kind of thing Danny Dyer does to earn a crust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Spit On Your Grave 2 [DVD] (DVD)
bought for someone else was what the expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: I Spit On Your Grave 2 [DVD] (DVD)
loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Burst my testicles in a vice " Bitch", 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Spit On Your Grave 2 [DVD] (DVD)
That sums up this movie. Would you believe the 1970's original version was BANNED! Not in the Millenium! More savage and more REVENGE!! The Girl (Little Mouse) is raped in New York after her photo shoot did not go well. The brothers help out the rapist brother,then make it worse for themselves,box her up and next thing she is in Sofia,Bulgaria. These nasty men do unbelieveable cruelty to this woman. Then bury her ALIVE! In the box they transported her in. Now use your imagination on this. She breaks free with underground earth and water MIXED! One of the Men,she slashes and puts infection into his wounds while being tied up, the other,puts his head down a toilet full off disgusting puke and s***,to choke to death. Another,gets tortured by elecrocution like seen in no other film! Very nasty!..and for last.."We all have our 'vices'" So proceeds to clamp his testicles onto a vice,and squeeze and squeeze and squeeze..AAAAAHHHHHH no Knackers!! THIS film should of been BANNED! Very graphic so beware! Absolutely horrific for all!! Director S.Munroe,as was 'I spit on your grave 1' Splendid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Spit On Your Grave 2 [DVD]
I Spit On Your Grave 2 [DVD] by Steven R. Monroe (DVD - 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews