Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Though not a full-on action Samurai outing, this film ...
Though not a full-on action Samurai outing, this film slowly builds up to a realistic fight as the 47 Ronin seek revenge on behalf of their former master. A well done true story of Japanese honour and culture, taking its time to create the background to the final act. I very much appreciated this well crafted film.
Published 1 month ago by Josh

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too slow for my taste
The movie was far too slow for my taste. The movie lasted for 2 hours and has difficult to get throught. Also, there were times where I felt it was disjointed and I did't understand what was happening. I'm not sure if that is a fault with the script, or if my attention just faltered because of the slowness of the movie.

Not all was bad. The main character did...
Published 2 months ago by Moray Greig


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Though not a full-on action Samurai outing, this film ..., 28 Nov 2014
By 
Josh "The Claw" (Wherever I'm needed) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] (DVD)
Though not a full-on action Samurai outing, this film slowly builds up to a realistic fight as the 47 Ronin seek revenge on behalf of their former master. A well done true story of Japanese honour and culture, taking its time to create the background to the final act. I very much appreciated this well crafted film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant version of a classic Japanese tale, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Hemesh Alles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] (DVD)
Directed by the talented Kon Ichikawa ,this is a outstanding version of the legendary story 47 Ronin.The violent action is confined to the final stages of the film with emphasis on the planning of the vengeful attack by the ronin .The 47 ronin are the samurai of a disgraced lord, who is forced to commit suicide after being goaded into committing an unpardonable action by a jealous rival. .His faithful retainers vow revenge and are led by Oishi Kuranosuke(brilliantly played by Ken Takakura who also appears in The Yakuza(1975)starring Robert Mitchum and Black Rain (1989)starring Michael Douglas). This is a film that must be seen by anyone interested in Japanese or samurai films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good movie, 17 Oct 2014
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] (DVD)
A very good movie enjoyable experience but I did the mistake of watching the new version first which was better but overall a very good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] (DVD)
Love it, I,m a fan of these style (don't like the gen.. word) Samurai films and happily added it to my collection of Toshiro Mifune and Tatsuya Nakadai films. No leaping or twirling or flying through the air, just good old fashioned swording and 'chivalry'. You needn't be put off by initial start about the clans and their geography as all comes apparent as the film progresses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 47 ronin kon ichikawa, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] (DVD)
At last, the Ken Takakura 47 ronin on region B, not to dis the Mizoguchi version, well it was very dull (as much as I really wanted to like it), this is the version I've been waiting to see, in colour, great actor's (takakura), the real story (never mind the rubbish in the cinema right now), the real deal about the 47 ronin. Only downside, no blu ray conversion. 4 and three quarters then instead of the full 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars they love it!, 28 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] (DVD)
Brought as a gift, they love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 47 Ronin...not?, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] (DVD)
This did not seem to be the story of the 47 that know. didn't see them all commit seppuku but there was a big fight at the end, so I found it a little disappointing, but then I am used to Akira Kurosawa directed films which has rather spoiled others for me. But as a samurai fan it is still good to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic movie, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] (DVD)
A classic story put on screen with none of the over the top special effects getting in the way of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern movie about an epic story., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] (DVD)
A must for all students of samurai tradition. Fairly true to the story and unlike most of the previous adaptations of this story is in colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 47 Ronin, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] (DVD)
one of the best films i have watched for a while, gripping stuff!! i am going to watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

47 Ronin [DVD]
47 Ronin [DVD] by Kon Ichikawa (DVD - 2013)
£4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews