Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute page-turner
I have never before written a review but, having read Deveney's first two novels and gobbled up this, her third, I felt compelled to do so. As with her earlier books, I was totally captivated from the first page and couldn't put it down. Deveney tackles the most difficult of subjects with the emotional depth and intelligence that marks out the work of a truly great...
Published 13 months ago by rabid reader

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
Was a good enough read throughout, but really disappointed with the ending. Liked how it began to get a bit sinister when the story headed north to Inverness but it never really came to anything. A bit weak.
Published 10 months ago by Crimelover


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute page-turner, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Secret (Paperback)
I have never before written a review but, having read Deveney's first two novels and gobbled up this, her third, I felt compelled to do so. As with her earlier books, I was totally captivated from the first page and couldn't put it down. Deveney tackles the most difficult of subjects with the emotional depth and intelligence that marks out the work of a truly great writer, and gets better with every book.
Her characters are totally believable, her storylines always thought-provoking, and, long after I (grudgingly!) came to the end of this book, I found myself wondering just how I'd react in the same set of circumstances. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner - I couldn't put it down., 6 Aug 2013
By 
J. Callanan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Secret (Paperback)
I loved this book. It kept me enthralled from beginning to end. Catherine Deveney creates wonderful characters which are credible and empathic, and unexpected. Unexpected is a word that could be used to describe the book, as I was never quite sure what to expect - right to the end.
A perfect summer holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Secret (Paperback)
Catherine Deveney's third novel is a great read. It is as emotionally absorbing as it is riveting. She has managed to touch upon so many core human feelings, and make them true to the individual reader, while telling a captivating murder-mystery. At times I felt myself staring off, reflecting at something poignant; other times hungrily reading the pages to see what happens next. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 21 Aug 2013
This review is from: Dead Secret (Paperback)
The novel "Dead Secret" restored my interest in contemporary storytelling. As in her two previous novels, Catherine Deveney has left me reflecting on the richly drawn cast of diverse characters and their lives, long after the story is told. From the outset, through the clarity, and at times ethereal nature, of the prose you are drawn deeper into this tale. The past and present seem to unfold in real time. Following her father's death Rebecca shares a raw emotional inner life which energizes her grief-charged search for the truth behind the dead secrets she has uncovered. The writing is able to convey the omnipresent sense of a daughter's unconditional love as she tries to unravel the mystery behind her parents' silent past. The plot tensions, human intrigue and shared memories free-fall onto the page. The complexities of human relationships described gives Rebecca's journey hidden depths. A novel you will want to read again.
I wait in hopeful anticipation that another novel from this gifted, insightful writer will reach the bookshelves soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story and brilliantly told, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Secret (Kindle Edition)
Catherine Deveney's third book 'Dead Secret' is a beautiful, haunting story. She dedicates it to her own father, Peter Black Rafferty. She describes the book as 'a daughter's song'. My goodness it explodes with sound and melody. It tells of a daughter seeking something: the truth about her beloved father who has just died and whom she thought she knew so well, and a mother she hardly remembers.

There are tones of yearning blues and of crashing rock and roll in this tale. But above all else this daughter's song is operatic and majestic. Dead Secret is one of the few books that I have read where I had a shiver run up my spine at the end.

Buy it, read it and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is he the man she thought he was?, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Secret (Paperback)
A novel with heart and depth which examines what happens when a beloved father dies and how easy it is to come adrift from reality in the face of death.
Rebecca, the heroine of the novel, is stubborn, feisty and obsessive, constantly out of step with her own family. When her father dies she is forced to examine not only her own past life but his. Is he the man she thought he was? Does it matter?
Thoughtful and touching, this novel will make you think about your own relationships as well as Rebecca's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Secret (Kindle Edition)
Was a good enough read throughout, but really disappointed with the ending. Liked how it began to get a bit sinister when the story headed north to Inverness but it never really came to anything. A bit weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Secret (Kindle Edition)
I found this book rather dull almost boring and quite depressing, it felt to me like someone who was pouring their heart out to a counsellor, somewhat repetitive in parts and ended as expected. Not one I would ever want to read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful writing!, 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: Dead Secret (Paperback)
I am very impressed with this book - I didn't want it to end! It kept me enthralled and the characters were very believable. It was entertaining and a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Touching, 25 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: Dead Secret (Kindle Edition)
Desperate feelings of loss of a father do not a great book make
Poor story line and characters are not developed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Secret
Dead Secret by Deveney Catherine
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews