Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit dated
Back in the day, this was one of my most-referenced references.

If you work exclusively in relational data warehouses, such as Oracle RDBMS, then it's indispensable. It is still brilliant, and if you want to be a serious BI practitioner, you need to /know/ this text back to front. You need to know it *today*.

But times have moved on. I haven't...
Published 8 months ago by Mrs. D. Kelly

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old wine in new bottle
This is a long overdue reincarnation of Kimball's earlier 2nd edition. This edition continues with same format (the reading at places can be boring).

The new additions which are worth mention is that inclusion of chapters where Kimball actually advocated usage of hybrid approach (Inmon & Kimball together) and where he explained end to end project management...
Published 4 months ago by Mobi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit dated, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. D. Kelly (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Back in the day, this was one of my most-referenced references.

If you work exclusively in relational data warehouses, such as Oracle RDBMS, then it's indispensable. It is still brilliant, and if you want to be a serious BI practitioner, you need to /know/ this text back to front. You need to know it *today*.

But times have moved on. I haven't built a presentation layer for seven years that was based on a /relational/ data warehouse. I still build 'em; it's just that they're only feeders for multidimensional hypercubes.

Back in 2002 I used Analysis Services to build a hypercube with 100 million sales and stock facts for a big retailer. It had a couple of seconds response time. Three years later we were writing sophisticated predictive analytics with multidimensional extensions (MDX).

There's no mention of this in the book. Solid on ETL, great on some industry-standard structures (but see stuff by Len Silverston et al), there's no question any aspiring BI person needs to know everything in here. But it's not enough.

I want to see this book updated to describe how to create a physical non-indexed DW as a feeder for a hypercube. I want to see the power and speed advantages of hypercubes described. I want to hear about the dramatic improvements in the presentation layer possible through the use of MDX. I want to hear about the security and /organisational/ issues involved in allowing reporting developers access to the presentation layer.

In short, as a new edition, this seems to fall a bit short. Still recommended, but . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old wine in new bottle, 23 Jun 2014
This is a long overdue reincarnation of Kimball's earlier 2nd edition. This edition continues with same format (the reading at places can be boring).

The new additions which are worth mention is that inclusion of chapters where Kimball actually advocated usage of hybrid approach (Inmon & Kimball together) and where he explained end to end project management phases of a large BI/DWH programs.

There were some verbose chapters on ETL technology as well.

There was a chapter on Big Data but it felt like an afterthough only to be mentioned in blurb. The book does not cover how data modelling differs in Big Data world. Technically it does cover, but not with examples as main part of book was written for RDBMS world.

May be that will happen in 4th edition of the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The how to guide for building a data warehouse, 18 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Data Warehouse Toolkit: The Definitive Guide to Dimensional Modeling (Kindle Edition)
This book can take you from having no idea about how to implement a data warehouse to having a complete data model implemented that will support your business users needs.

The book includes some introductory details about the planning and management of your data warehouse/business intelligence project and also about the ETL process to populate your model - but you will need to read other books to complete your knowledge on those subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy to understand, 1 Sep 2014
i think is well explained, easy to understand, but i haven't finished yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good product - quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is THE book, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Data Warehouse Toolkit: The Definitive Guide to Dimensional Modeling (Kindle Edition)
If you work with Kimball's Business Intelligence methodology, you need to learn from the master! That's the way to go! Very easy to understand, definitely a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Long, boring and an awful read. It just wasn't for me. I was looking more for a business type book but this is techincally orientated. If you want to know how to build a DI/DW system then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews