Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help me to give up the booze
I read this on Jan 1st with a hangover and I haven't had a drink since. I could totally relate to the author and this has proved a useful motivator. It's a quick read, it took me 2 days. I thought it was interesting to read not just about how she felt but also the effect her sobriety had on others. It also makes you think about why we drink so much and is full of stats...
Published 15 months ago by Rachel I

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Tad too many stats and facts
I loved this book and the passion behind it. I found there was far too much on facts and figures. More insight to Jill's personal life and times would have made better reading
Published 9 months ago by broadbandbill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help me to give up the booze, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Sobriety: my year without booze (Kindle Edition)
I read this on Jan 1st with a hangover and I haven't had a drink since. I could totally relate to the author and this has proved a useful motivator. It's a quick read, it took me 2 days. I thought it was interesting to read not just about how she felt but also the effect her sobriety had on others. It also makes you think about why we drink so much and is full of stats. Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an honest and challenging read, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Sobriety: my year without booze (Kindle Edition)
It kept me turning the pages and had a twist at the end that was unexpected. It certainly made me think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life-affirming, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Sobriety: my year without booze (Kindle Edition)
This is a wonderful, life-affirming book which had me in tears of both happiness & sadness. I was just disappointed at the end of this wonderful year that Jill returned to drinking alcohol and enjoyed drinking wine. This marred the ending for me and the affirmation that life is better without alcohol. The rest of the book is amazing, I would be interested to know whether Jill has been successful in moderation or has decided to return to an alcohol free life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why do we drink?, 7 May 2014
By 
Elizabeth Purslow (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Sobriety: my year without booze (Kindle Edition)
I can't recommend this book highly enough. A very readable examination of the alcohol industry & the pressure society puts on us to drink. Invaluable for those cutting down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Tad too many stats and facts, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Sobriety: my year without booze (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book and the passion behind it. I found there was far too much on facts and figures. More insight to Jill's personal life and times would have made better reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Honestly, a fairly interesting read, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Sobriety: my year without booze (Kindle Edition)
Quite good, very honest, I do feel Jill worries a bit too much what people will think of her but then who doesn't I guess. Not quite the book I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really honest and had me gripped, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Sobriety: my year without booze (Kindle Edition)
After reading a section of this on the internet, I knew I had to buy it. A really good read and I had to keep reading. I was fascinated with the journey Jill took.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would I give up alcohol for a year? NO!, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BRILLIANT book - make me giggle and think about how much I drink. Would I give up alcohol for a year - NO, only because I don't drink a great deal and life is too short. However this is a great insight and everyone should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read thoroughly enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational and emotionally charged book, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Sobriety: my year without booze (Kindle Edition)
I found this book amazing. Not only was it a personal experience of the author it was intertwined with facts and history making it an interesting read. Having grown up in the same era I could emphasise and laugh at what much of Jill Stark recalled from her teenage years. At times a very moving story which brought me to tears. Well done Jill Stark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews