Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful
I really love this monitor. I am surprised that one customer reported that it does not come with a UK plug, this is wrong, it does. When you open the bag of leads I agree that a UK plug is not amongst the plethora of cables but if you delve deeper into the box you will eventually find a UK lead/plug wrapped separately. This monitor works beautifully with Lightroom,...
Published 6 months ago by C. Sola

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Asus MX299Q
The monitor works on Macs, but does not wake up after sleep. Replugging mains cable necessary. Software non existent for Macs. Touch buttons far too sensitive. Support pages are full of broken links and mistakes. Technical e-mail support from Safari browser impossible. Asus only supports Microsoft....
Published 1 month ago by von Becks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus MX299Q 29 inch Widescreen AH-IPS LED Multimedia Monitor (2560x1080, 5ms, DVI, DP, HDMI, Full Panoramic Visual and Audio, Asus SonicMaster Technology) (Accessory)
I really love this monitor. I am surprised that one customer reported that it does not come with a UK plug, this is wrong, it does. When you open the bag of leads I agree that a UK plug is not amongst the plethora of cables but if you delve deeper into the box you will eventually find a UK lead/plug wrapped separately. This monitor works beautifully with Lightroom, Perfect Suite and Topaz Labs which makes editing photographs a dream. Although I don't do any Video editing myself I have tested this monitor with various video editing suites and they all work perfectly. I have tried this monitor with various MMORPG games and once again they all work with panache. Oh, and if you are into DVDs then I would suggest watching them using "TotalMedia Theatre 6" software which can handle ultra wide monitors far better than any other program I own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before you consider buying any other monitor, check this out... It is amazing., 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus MX299Q 29 inch Widescreen AH-IPS LED Multimedia Monitor (2560x1080, 5ms, DVI, DP, HDMI, Full Panoramic Visual and Audio, Asus SonicMaster Technology) (Accessory)
Now I like a decent monitor, and I thought I had a good one, before I brought the Asus MX299Q.

I brought this monitor for work and play. Also for the films, it is perfect for watching films on... But that is not what blew me away, and I am still in awe of this monitor for one reason. The clarity, it is just amazing, the white is bright, all over the screen, no dark edges a really nice bright screen, that you will be able to see, even in bright sun light.

ASUS Smart Contrast Ratio (ASCR) : 80000000:1

I was going to buy the much cheaper LG monitor, however paying the extra £70 was more than worth it, I would recommend it to anyone, due to one major difference, ok two... Not only does the Asus monitor look really nice to the eye, it is a beautiful bit of technology, it also has one major difference, that sets this monitor apart from the rest. The higher contrast ratio, is what makes this monitor a step up from the rest.

Compare this to the LG's ratio of 5000000:1, and you will see the difference.

So spend that extra bit of cash, and enjoy films like never before. Remember it is like having a 32" screen, but with the better definition on the colours and the brightness, you will enjoy home movies like never before.

I would also like to say Amazon was pretty good to, great delivery.

I would like to add I have not had much trouble with the stand, like other people have commented on, it is very stable, if you tighten it up with a screw driver, and not just by hand, it makes all the difference.

The touch buttons take a bit of getting used to, however once you do, you will be enjoying the monitor to the full.

I would also recommend not using the RGB setting, you can see so much difference, using the in built modes. The gaming mode brings the screen to life, enriches the colours, giving games more of a feeling when you are playing them.

This screen is very useful for first person shooters!

Also the movie mode is great for watching full HD movies with, it changes the colour again, to give you the feeling you are truly at the cinema. A very nice touch indeed.

But do not take my word for it, go get one yourself, you will not regret it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Screen, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus MX299Q 29 inch Widescreen AH-IPS LED Multimedia Monitor (2560x1080, 5ms, DVI, DP, HDMI, Full Panoramic Visual and Audio, Asus SonicMaster Technology) (Accessory)
I received this at the weekend, and it's amazing, the colours are so vibrant. It's not as big as I first thought it was going to be, but that is mainly down to the lack of height on the monitor. which it makes up with the width.

Regarding the UK plug, I was under a similar impression as the reviewer below. When you first open up the package bundled with the rest of the cables (which there are a lot) is a European plug, however when I took off the first layer of packaging next to the monitor was a UK plug.

I am looking to get another one next month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible for films and games, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus MX299Q 29 inch Widescreen AH-IPS LED Multimedia Monitor (2560x1080, 5ms, DVI, DP, HDMI, Full Panoramic Visual and Audio, Asus SonicMaster Technology) (Accessory)
Movies are amazing on this, fully immersive without the black lines top and bottom. It would be like watching a film on a 35' tv ((roughly) which has aspect of 16:9).

As for gaming its also really good, gives you more of a surround feeling without having multiple monitors and bezels. Please note not all games support this but the ones that don't can be fixed with third party software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus MX299Q 29 inch Widescreen AH-IPS LED Multimedia Monitor (2560x1080, 5ms, DVI, DP, HDMI, Full Panoramic Visual and Audio, Asus SonicMaster Technology) (Accessory)
The 21:9 takes a bit of getting used to but once the learning period is over this is a first class monitor.
Eagerly awaiting something bigger.....!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best monitor I have ever had so far and even ..., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus MX299Q 29 inch Widescreen AH-IPS LED Multimedia Monitor (2560x1080, 5ms, DVI, DP, HDMI, Full Panoramic Visual and Audio, Asus SonicMaster Technology) (Accessory)
Best monitor I have ever had so far and even better I don't need to hook up any speakers to it, the sound quality is very impressive.

The resolution is excellent for a 29" ultra wide monitor, basically its 2 monitors in one, I have heard there is a 34" version coming soon but I personally would not go for it as it will be to wide.

I love this monitor so much I had to buy a second monitor and have gone for the 23" version as I still like to have 2 monitors.

Recommended this to anyone, it's well worth it and doesn't matter which size its is. it's an excellent model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looks great only minor issue, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus MX299Q 29 inch Widescreen AH-IPS LED Multimedia Monitor (2560x1080, 5ms, DVI, DP, HDMI, Full Panoramic Visual and Audio, Asus SonicMaster Technology) (Accessory)
Best screen I have ever used. Easily accommodates 2 browser/ work windows side by side and looks great. Only downside is the inability to wall/ stand mount it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Tweet Deck, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus MX299Q 29 inch Widescreen AH-IPS LED Multimedia Monitor (2560x1080, 5ms, DVI, DP, HDMI, Full Panoramic Visual and Audio, Asus SonicMaster Technology) (Accessory)
Lovely wide monitor, perfect for what i use it for which is tweetdeck.

Lets you get a couple of extra columns across than a normal monitor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus MX299Q 29 inch Widescreen AH-IPS LED Multimedia Monitor (2560x1080, 5ms, DVI, DP, HDMI, Full Panoramic Visual and Audio, Asus SonicMaster Technology) (Accessory)
Love this screen! So so clear and excellent for gaming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wide boy, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus MX299Q 29 inch Widescreen AH-IPS LED Multimedia Monitor (2560x1080, 5ms, DVI, DP, HDMI, Full Panoramic Visual and Audio, Asus SonicMaster Technology) (Accessory)
Transformed my computer corner into a wow corner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews