Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effortless Singer Songwriting
For 25 years since Del Amitri hit the British consciousness with their breakthrough album "Waking Hours" that spawned the hit single 'Nothing Ever Happens' Justin Currie has been universally acclaimed within the music industry as one of the finest singer songwriters of his generation. Despite that album selling over a million copies in the UK alone it has nevertheless...
Published 14 months ago by Leslie Crowthercounts

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like it and so will many of you
This is Justin Currie's 3rd solo album and and although I do not love it as much as the prior two (his first, "What Is Love For" is for me, simply the best album ever made), it is another fine example that once again shows he is a master.

His lyrics are brilliant, as is his voice. I read something that likened his voice to Franks Sinatra, but a more accurate...
Published 14 months ago by mcat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars If you even half liked Del Amitri buy it..., 6 Sep 2013
This review is from: Lower Reaches (MP3 Download)
A beautifully crafted record which pulls no punches lyrically. Well worth adding to your virtual MP3 music shelf and while you're at it buy the rest of his back catalogue, hidden gems aplenty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Justin Currie never fails to impress, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lower Reaches (Audio CD)
Just a beautiful album. All three of Justin's solo efforts have evoked that Del Amitri feel (unsurprisingly) without ever feeling repetitive. Lower Reaches has moments of joy and sadness mixed in. Listen a few times to get the flow of the lyrics and the pure musicality of the tracks is enhanced by his lyrical genius. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Justin Currie does it again, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lower Reaches (Audio CD)
Another great set of tunes from Justin Currie, he does not put a foot wrong on the set of 10 songs and its great to listen to over and over. This should do far better than the lower reaches, we'll done my man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bland, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lower Reaches (Audio CD)
Very disappointing album. I was really looking forward to this new release but the tracks are really bland. The album is just a little longer than an extended ep at 33 minutes and 57 seconds..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let it echo round the hall..., 19 Aug 2013
This review is from: Lower Reaches (Audio CD)
Despite the long-overdue and much-enjoyed publicity splurge for this record - Justin appears more tolerant of banal local radio DJs (and Wogan) these days - the album title is clearly prescient from a chart perspective. This is a shame as 'Lower Reaches' is his most interesting set of songs to date.
Thematically, the shadow of middle age creeps into many of the songs though, as ever, Currie deals with the subject indirectly and with his usual articulacy. Worryingly, he clearly was a bit poorly during the writing of much of the material; 'Bend to my Will' hints at the horrors of sickness and surgery and could almost have been called 'Blood in my Stool', whilst 'Into a Pearl', one of the real standouts on the album, contains couplets that suggest his carousing days may have taken their toll on his health. Whiskey Remorse, anyone?
Musically, the production of Mike McCarthy is a bit of a curate's egg. Having heard songs like 'Little Stars' and 'Priscilla' in the raw at concerts, I was intrigued to hear how an experienced producer would deal with them and I'm not sure of the results - the click track/ drum machine lends an intrusively homemade feel to both songs which rather detracts from the gorgeous melodies at their heart. Elsewhere, though, the production is more successful, whether it be in the barn-dance that is 'On My Conscience', the pop of 'Every Song's the Same' or the splendour of 'Falsetto', the true highlight of the album and the most moving song Currie's ever written. Expletives in songs are usually unnecessary and childish, but the payoff curse here is truly apposite and spine-chilling.
So, a really good body of work. Good man, Sir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work, 21 Oct 2013
By 
C. Hope "C. Hope" (Ashford, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lower Reaches (Audio CD)
Everyone who has bought this album has done so because we all agree that Justin Currie is probably the best (and certainly the most underrated) songwriter of the last 20 years. Unfortunately, unlike many of the reviewers here, I don't think he gets better and better. Yes, the lyrics are as clever as ever but I think the cynicism is beginning to overwhelm the romanticism. None of the songs on here brings a lump to my throat. Of his three solo albums I think there's only one track (If I Ever Loved You from What Is love For) that matches his work from the Del Amitri era. I could listen to those (particularly Change Everything and Twisted) on a loop tape.

On a positive note, Del Amitri are touring again in 2014. If you've never seen them live, you must. A brilliant band playing Justin Currie's brilliant songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too damn short!, 27 Aug 2013
By 
I. Saunders (Reading, Berks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lower Reaches (Audio CD)
This album is about 10 minutes shorter than either of his previous two, and a hell of a lot shorter than many artists regularly fit onto a CD nowadays.

When I first listened to it I though "Meh. It's OK.", It's grown a lot on me since, but the electric drumbeats still irritate, and the tunes (e.g. "Priscilla", "On my conscience") can be a bit obvious. Best track is "Falsetto", with its theme of doing something out of duty and not because you want to, and a how a bit of love from certain parties would have changed everything. This resonates with my own relationship with my late father.

It's as though he left the two killer tracks off, or maybe only "half of him" has worked on them.

I you want to impress a friend with Justin Currie's work, aim them at the exquisite, bitter-sweet "What is love for" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lower Reaches (Audio CD)
Blummin excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK album from Justin., 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lower Reaches (Audio CD)
I have been a great Del Amitri fan for many years and was fortunate to see them on their recent comeback tour and it was like they had never been away. Justin writes great songs and there are one or two on this album that stand out, but the rest are a bit mediocre. the backing musicians although very good seem to lack a bit of passion and feeling. I think Justin should get back to writing good pop songs for Del Amitri and get back on the road again and give the fans what they want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sep 2014
By 
mike (LONDON.NEW YORK ,EDINBURGH) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lower Reaches (Audio CD)
great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lower Reaches
Lower Reaches by Justin Currie
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews