Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars14
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2015
What an Historical event, my favorite matches were Lesnar Vs. Punk and Cena Vs. Bryan but there were some other good matches, in my opinion one of the best PPV's of 2013!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
On the whole I really enjoyed this show, it was let down in places but the big matches delivered in spades.

Ring of fire match: Kane vs Bray Wyatt 2/10
A clumsy, awkward big man match with virtually no action. The mood lighting was irritating as well.

Cody Rhodes vs Damien Sandow 5/10
I really like these two and they assembled a fairly good match considering the time they were allocated, but this match could have been a lot better if it had been longer. I found Sandow's leather Money in the bank briefcase amusing.

World title: Christian vs Alberto Del Rio 9/10
A thoroughly enjoyable match which should have been a bit longer. Del Rio and Christian made the best of the time they were given, it was exciting with many impressive moves and some good near falls. The story was also great with Del Rio working over Christian's shoulder.

Natalya vs Brie Bella 2/10
A poor match, marginally superior to the usual WWE women's shambles.

No disqualification match: Brock Lesnar vs CM Punk 10/10
What a match! Lesnar played the unstoppable monster beautifully and Punk excelled as the underdog. It has to be said Paul Heyman played the cowardly manager very nicely too. The match was brilliantly laid out and executed and the crowd were unbelievably hot for the last few minutes. Match of 2013 I think.

Dolph Ziggler and Kaitlyn vs Big E Langston and AJ Lee 5/10
Ziggler showed his usual big bumping, fast paced style and the two girls worked together well. It was sandwiched between the two main events and so the crowd were fairly lifeless for a lot of it.

WWE title: John Cena vs Daniel Bryan (special referee Triple H) 9/10
Daniel Bryan was incredibly over with the crowd, who favoured him over Cena unsurprisingly. Cena gave a very good performance by his standards and Bryan carried the match very well. There was some of the usual Cena clumsiness. The red hot crowd really helped the match and Bryan cleanly pinning Cena to win the title was stunning.

WWE title: Daniel Bryan vs Randy Orton N/A
I can't give this a score because it isn't a proper match. I was unhappy that Daniel Bryan's title reign was terminated so soon after he won the title in such impressive fashion.

The Miz had been given the role of host of Summerslam, what this meant was that he introduced the show and conducted a backstage interview and appeared at several points throughout the show. Miz was repeatedly interrupted by Fandango and Summer Rae who danced around, I still don't understand what the point in this was.

There was also a panel consisting of Booker T, Shawn Michaels and Vickie Guerrero who provided their analysis or predictions for some of the matches.

Part of the Dean Ambrose vs Rob Van Dam Summerslam kick off match is included as a special feature, is was decent but nothing special.

Summerslam is a very enjoyable, and certainly very eventful, show with three great matches. Definitely one of WWE's best pay per views of 2013.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
An excellent show with an unexpected twist at the end... Just a pity the photo on the cover ruins it. A must for all collectors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
just what looking for my son for Christmas. no going out to look for it in shops easy to find.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Great matches, cm punk blew me away, fantastic!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
1. Ring of Fire Match (PG era Inferno match) Kane vs Bray Wyatt
Was an ok start to the show, but not good enough for an opener to one of the big four PPVs of the year. Pretty average, but it made Bray look good in his PPV debut. 5.5/10
2. Cody Rhodes vs Damien Sandow
Good match here, probably the only good lower card bout in the show. The match would've made a good opener. Only thing wrong with it was the time it was given on the show, I would've happily watched the match for another 5 mins. 7/10
3. World Heavyweight Championship Match: Alberto Del Rio vs Christian
Great match between these two here, sadly one of Christians last world title matches but you gotta give it to him he makes it count. 8/10
4. Natalya vs Brie Bella
Average divas match here, pretty quick and painless though. N/A
5. No DQ Match Brock Lesner vs CM Punk
WHAT A MATCH, these two put on an epic brawl that should be a candidate for match of the year. Punk works well trying to take Lesner down and Brock looks like an absolute machine during this match. 10/10
6. Dolf Ziggler and Kaitlyn vs AJ and Big E
Not a bad match here but certainty not a great one either. Ziggler worked well as always, but the match turned out pretty average. 5/10
7. WWE Championship Match: John Cena vs Daniel Bryan
Fantastic main event match here and worthy to be called a classic, Bryan proved that he belonged in the main event and could pull of a great match against Cena who I'm surprised worked well against the quickness and unpredictability of Daniel Bryan. 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
This event was pretty good, with at least two match of the year candidates.

Things kicked off with Kane VS Bray Wyatt in a "ring of fire match" the concept was derived from the inferno match where the ring is surrounded by flames and one has to set their opponent on fire to win. Obviously in a family friendly era they had to adapt, so it was basically a normal match with the ring surrounded in flames. It was a little slow in my opinion but the crowd seemed to love it. Admittedly it probably would have looked an awesome spectacle in person.

Cody Rhodes VS Damien Sandow up next. This was pretty big standard. At this point Damien Sandow held the Money in the bank briefcase, and I think they were feuding over this if my memory serves me correctly. This match was OK, nothing to write home about.

World Heavyweight Championship match
Alberto Del Rio VS Christian

Despite Alberto Del Rio having a very long, dull, and foremost, forgettable title run, these two have always been able to pull off really good wrestling matches. I can't remember how or why Christian was granted a title shot, but I really enjoyed this all the same. Both excellent wrestlers who just seem to lack character.

Natalya VS Brie Bella

Sadly this was dull as dishwater. Very forgettable and probably worth skipping on the DVD. I suppose that's what happens when you put together a talented female wrestler with a glorified glamour model. This did nothing for me.

"The Best VS The Beast"
Brock Lesnar VS CM Punk

This match was my match of the year. I think the background story going into this match was that Paul Heyman had betrayed his best friend CM Punk at Money In The Bank and CM Punk wanted to get his hands on Paul Heyman, but had to go through Brock Lesnar first. This match was amazing. Lesnar, a former UFC heavyweight champion, using hulking brute force tactics against an underdog CM Punk, trying desperately to outrun, outsmart, and outwrestle the beast. Both men put their all into this match and their chemistry was off the charts. Fantastic. This was also the first match of the night to tell a story in the ring which I really enjoyed. Five stars.

Dolph Ziggler & Kaitlyn VS AJ Lee & Big E Langston

This match was obviously filler and a chance to give the raucous crowd a chance to calm down a little and take a break before the main event. While this was nothing spectacular, I still enjoyed it for what it was. It didn't get overly dull and didnt go on for too long.

WWE Championship
Daniel Bryan VS John Cena (referee Triple H)

I want to start off by saying how irritating it is that Triple H, despite being semi-retired and virtually running the business backstage, still tries to make things about him. This match honestly didn't need his input at all. The crowd already had a large portion of John Cena fanatics and the crowd ERUPTED when Daniel Bryan's entrance music hit. I haven't seen such a crowd reaction in a long time, they went nuts for him. Adding a third element to the equation, IE Triple H just wasn't necessary and took away from things a little. In any case, this was a really great match and they really clicked. The crowd was really loud and involved which makes it more enjoyable. The ending wasnt great in my eyes, but that's just my opinion. I think everyone saw it coming really.

The only real issues I had with this were firstly, the special features. The special features consist of PART of a match that was shown on YouTube counting down to Summerslam. Would it really kill them to throw in a couple of video packages and an extra match from raw or Smackdown?

Secondly the cover art. WWE seems to be in the habit of releasing DVDS and managing to spoil the ending with the cover art of the DVD. I don't know who thinks this is a good idea but it really grates on me.

That aside, this was a really good show with a few outstanding matches. Certainly worth picking up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
like it a lot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
son loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
I bought this for my 4 yr old who has just discovered WWE. An expensive like but the book kept him occupied for most of the afternoon as we cleared up from dinner. A nicely presented book. Good quality and it's started the tradition of an annual at Christmas. Would recommend this to anyone who has youngsters interested in WWE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)