Customer Reviews


347 Reviews
5 star:
 (269)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the product image fool you...
Anyone who is leaning toward buying this set because of the included book, 'The Art and Making of The Dark Knight Trilogy', should be wary - Unlike the product image, which shows the hardcover edition of the book (which is available separately) the version included with this box set is not merely slimmed down, but heavily abridged too - It features many of the images from...
Published 20 months ago by Renton

versus
90 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movies, shame about the box set
I loved all three movies, and I'm sure the blu rays are amazing to watch. But when I received the box set this morning I was really disappointed. For starters there was the random piece of paper stuck to the back which described each of the movies. I don't understand why it was there at all if it wasn't simply going to be the design for the back of the box, as having...
Published 20 months ago by canderson1390


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the product image fool you..., 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone who is leaning toward buying this set because of the included book, 'The Art and Making of The Dark Knight Trilogy', should be wary - Unlike the product image, which shows the hardcover edition of the book (which is available separately) the version included with this box set is not merely slimmed down, but heavily abridged too - It features many of the images from the original but almost all the text has been entirely removed. Given that the book allegedly feature rare insight into the intentions of those involved in making this trilogy, it was disappointing to find we only get the pictures - As a bonus addition, it's still a very nice touch, but the differences could be defined more clearly in the product image and description.

(Also, as mentioned elsewhere, the book also isn't quite the right dimensions for the box and requires a piece of polystyrene in order to sit flush with the disc sleeve)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as i expected...., 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Trilogy - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
So I've waited for a box set like this to get the FHD versions of Nollans excellent movies but...

The pros:
Images is as expected excellent (no complaints here).
Disk cover is unique and original. Its a cover and a artbook.
Photo book is great.
The extra disk on the end add some extra material not available on the dvds.

The cons:
Most of the extras on the The Dark Knight are in the collector edition dvd...
ALL of the disk's construction looks like a rental disk (in fact the all have in it "for Rental or Sale"... Disk goes straight to movie. no main menu, only an in movie menu so you have to change any options during movie play.... also extras on the Batman Begins are a joke, and for this movie there is no extras disk.
The miniatures are Matchbox Hot Wheels toys available to buy on a toy shop (i was surprise to saw them 1st on a local retailer). This are not collector's edition material, not by far. Is 3 toys for your kids.

So for the price if you don't have the Blu-rays yet this is a good deal, but if you are looking for something special then this is not the case...

If you already have the movies in Blu-ray dont waste money on this edition. If you are like me and only add the DVD's then this is a good choice for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movies, shame about the box set, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved all three movies, and I'm sure the blu rays are amazing to watch. But when I received the box set this morning I was really disappointed. For starters there was the random piece of paper stuck to the back which described each of the movies. I don't understand why it was there at all if it wasn't simply going to be the design for the back of the box, as having removed it; my box already has white spots where the glue has damaged it. the booklet of how the movies were made is a nice touch, but I thought it was very cheap to just put a piece of polystyrene in the box so that you could see it. it would have been easy to put an indent in the box so that the blu rays and booklet were the same level and I didn't have to take the blu rays out to get to the booklet. Then I actually opened the blu ray box. 2 out of 5 of the discs don't have a title on them. So it's not that easy to tell which disc is 'Batman Begins', and which disc is 'The Dark Knight'. All the other discs have 'The Dark Knight Rises', or 'The Dark Knight Special Features', and I find that inconsistency and lack of clarity extremely annoying. I realise I'm nit-picking and no one else is probably bothered, but when this came through my door this morning, I expected better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not strictly necessary, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Trilogy - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The movies are what they are. Whether or not one decides to fork out for the premium set depends on the value one grants to the trilogy as a whole and whether or not one desires to own them in a deluxe package together with the items included.

For my part I was quite eager to get my hands on the "toys" and have the three miniature vehicles decorate my coffee table. They are far better quality than some people make out and have a certain weight to them. Not earth-shattering in any way but pleasant and fun enough. I also quite liked the idea of the mini posters lined up together on one of my bedroom walls. The photography book was a pleasant surprise; it has better quality to it than I expected and it's quite nice to have a tactile object which gives one access to some of the films' stunning photography. It's not something I'm going to stare at for hours but it's always quite nice to delve into or at least have access to a quality compendium of film images.

Then of course comes the bonus blu ray. This contains an hour long (roughly) documentary on the trilogy, broadly outlining the intention behind each of the films, the construction, execution, marketing and the legacy. It's inevitable with such things that there is a lot of self-congratulatory remarks etc but in the case of this trilogy it is all deserved and it's always in good spirit. As is well known by now there is some interesting screen test footage of alternative Bruce Waynes including one played by "Scarecrow" Cilian Murphy and of course Bale himself in the Val Kilmer bat costume, reacting to lines spoken by Amy Adams. One gets to see the faces of the high-ups in the trilogy, plenty of production footage, a fascinating if short description of Heath Ledger's approach to the Joker role (and the huge courage it took as an actor to dare be compared to Nicholson's iconic portrayal in Batman '89) as well as plenty of anecdotes including from the main man, Nolan. Also on the bonus disc is a charming and sweet conversation between the two giants, Nolan and Richard Donner (director of Superman), which touched me as I could see a cross-generational admiration and respect and love for their craft. Film making is not for dummies. Donner comes across as very humble, as does Nolan, yet there is no hiding the fact that their technical and artistic knowledge of the medium is very great. To finish off the bonus material, all the imax scenes from films 2 and 3 and reproduced in a conventional aspect ratio but this struck me as pointless since I don't take to black bars covering the left and right sides of the screen.

The discs are presented and held in a sturdy hardback book which has large images inspired by each of the films. I sold my original blu ray copies since I was always going to buy this set, but some "collectors" might like to hold on to their BD copies for the sake of keeping alternative film covers as well as having the films in a more conventional BD format. I'm quite happy I switched over, but I can see the appeal of retaining the original BD versions, especially if one isn't a fan of a hardcover book style presentation.

I take one star off because while quite pleasing to look out, the outer box is best rested horizontally rather than vertically as the lid tends to slide off a little, destroying whatever aesthetic value it may have standing upright. That is a minor flaw, but coupled with the fact that one has to tip the box over to get to the disc-book and photo-book then one starts to question this packaging choice.

At any rate I am very pleased I forked out for this set as it has met my expectations but my advice is if you're not interested in the miniature bat-vehicles or the villain posters or even the extra bonus footage then there is no reason for you to add this to your basket and you can happily go along your way.

Four stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Boxset, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my brother as a birthday present, and he loves it. The films are awesome, and the packaging of the set is great; he likes the holograms on the front of the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nolan Does The Batman Franchise Justice, 16 July 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Positive.
Were do I start?, Christopher Nolan's amazing storytelling, Direction.
Christian Bale perfectly cast as Batman.
Supporting cast all top notch, Micheal Caine, Gary Oldman, Liam Neeson, Cillian Murphy, Heath Ledger, Aaron Eckheart, Tom Hardy.
Its taken very seriously no Adam West or Joel Schumacher Camp antics here.

Negative.
There only 3 films.

Batman Begins.

After the awful Batman & Robin it took 8years to get Batman back on the big screen & oh boy is it worth the wait.Christopher Nolan take on gritty realisim is the key here showing how the death of Bruce Waynes parents as a boy traumatized him so much that he would become a vigilante a protector of Gotham City The Dark Knight.

Here in this first movie reboot you see Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale perfect casting) in a Dark place in jail full of anger & rage.

In steps SPOILER: Raul Al Guul to help Bruce sending him away to focus his anger, To train in tibet with the League Of Shadows to push the physical limitations of man to be something more, After a confrontion in the temple Bruce leaves with barely his life to return to Gotham City now as its protector The Batman.

Great chemistry between the stars Bale & Caine, Bale & Morgan Freeman who is the supplier of Bruces toys IE:Weapons & Gadgets.

The action delivers in spades the Batmobile chase above & on streets of Gotham are impressive, Cillian Murphy is chilling as The Scarecrow this isnt Batman for kids to see but they want to.

The Final confrontation is epic with a tease of who villian in next film will be.
I feel Batman Begins is overlooked as the attention seems focus on latter two but this movie easly on par with those.

A great start to a new trilogy.

The Dark Knight.

Well what can I say about this its EPIC!

This movie ups the ante in both action but more importantly emotion.Heath Ledger deserved his posthumous award his version of The Joker is one the all time best performances of a villian ever!!!, Hes funny, Scary, Frightening, Disturbing, Insane when Ledgers on screen all attention on him he dominates every scene he's in.

But lets not forget that this is Bales show he once again outstanding as Batman the scenes in the holding cell were Batman beats up the Joker who just laughs at him are intense & my favourite of the movie.

The chase scenes set new benchmark in spectacle they are truely awesome, Also the climax to the film is tense edge of your seat stuff.

Lets not forget that Aaron Eckhart as Harvey Dent later Two Face also pulls off the task being Gothams hero & white knight until fate steps in & the lives of Harvey, Batman & Comissioner Gordon are changed forever.

Good support from supporting cast Michael Caine the father figure of Batman/Bruce Wayne's character, Gary Oldman superb as Chief/Commisioner Gordon trying stablize Gothams corrupt police force.

This film has rarety of being better than the original, Acting first rate, Outstanding action & drama Nolan sets new benchmark in epic quality film making how's he going top this???.

The Dark Knight Rises

Well? Is it possible to top a near perfect film or is it a threequel a crowd a below performer perhaps???, Of course not this is Chistopher Nolan were talking about here a director with vision, Scope, Great storytelling.

Picking up 7 years after The Dark knight Bruce Wayne has become a virtual recluse hiding away from the world in his mansion, When a Terrorist threat in the form of Bane unleashes hell on Gotham City & Commisioner Gordon wounded its up to Bruce to rise again as The Dark Knight of Gotham The Batman.

This time though Bruce is not in best of shape the toll of fighting as well as 7 years being a recluise can he protect Gotham City as he once did?.

Well no not at the start the first confronation with Bane ends with Batman Physically broken as well as his spirit, Boy does he get his ass handed to him by Bane a excellent Tom Hardy, this fight is a spin of the Knightfall saga comic were Bane breaks The Batmans back.

With Batman broken & left to rot in a cell were to escape would mean certain death Bane releases all the inmates of Arkham asylum onto Gothams Streets In what becomes a no mans land.

The scale of this movie is HUGE HUGE HUGE a rarity that a third film that delivers! Tom Hardy really is superb as Bane he has big shoes to follow after Heath Ledgers Joker but the boy pulls it off making Bane a brutal terrorist with strength & interlect you wouldnt want meet this man in the street, The beating he gives Batman made this reviewer wince in pain.

Bale again makes it third time lucky he really is a great intense actor I cant imagine anyone playing Batman no he'impossible act to follow.

Michael Caine seems bit underused this time around but this is really Bruce Waynes story stripped of his wealth gadgets & soul can he still be more than a man.

With the story at 160minutes it doesnt drag the action moves along at great pace for such a long film, Ann Hathaway does well as Selina Kyle her scene were she beats up everyone then acts damsel in distress is hilarious.

When The Dark Knight Rises he rises to the rematch with Bane were Batman gets a upper hand on streets of Gotham is well worth the wait you feel the punches & ending with a surprise plot twist echoes back to Batman Begins is a didnt see that coming moment.

The finale with the Bat Chopper (Batwing???) Well on par with truck/Batpod of Dark Knight & Batmobile chase in Batman Begins.

All in all Christopher Nolan brings the trilogy to a close with all loose ends tied up, Here's hoping not the end of Christian Bales Batman there a graphic novel by Frank Miller The Dark Knight Returns??? Please Christopher Nolan make this film.

Timelord Thoughts.

These films are a must buy purchase as they setting the bar for quality filmaking & raises the stakes of comic book filmmaking.

From Liam Neesons Raul Al Guul to the disturbing manic insanity of Heath Ledgers Joker & Finally concluding the trilogy with Tom Hardys excellent portrayal of the brutal Bane all three movies deliver a different theme to the plot's narrative.

But praise must go to Christian Bale for delivering a outstanding performance as Bruce Wayne/Batman as Bale seems able to tap into the psyche of the troubled character of Batman very easily.

Enjoy this epic Batman trilogy as Ben Affleck now been cast as Batman in Man of Steel 2, God help us, Didn't DC & Warner Bros see Daredevil???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 STAR!, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a great product and it and it cam. With slightly more than I expected. The price was amazing, around half the RRP and the was no compromise in quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic trilogy, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Doesn't Matter how many times you sit through and watch the films, they are as enjoyable as the first time you watched them.
In my personal opinion, the best of the bunch is the final part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Streamlined box set. Best on DVD!, 14 Aug 2014
By 
Morten Hillebert Bay (Struer, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitely the best version of these DVDs available in the UK. The exclusive bonus disc for The Dark Knight Rises including most of the Blu-Ray's bonus features is a welcome addition to this set, and is what will warrant a potential double dip.
The main drawback of this release for me, is that neither The Dark Knight or The Dark Knight Rises is presented in the full-screen IMAX-format, like the Blu-Rays. However, some viewers might prefer it this way, with a single aspect ratio.
The packaging itself is very attractive, with a lenticular cover representing all three movies in one cover and the fold-out digitrays presenting the three movies, each with two discs, with their own colour scheme. Very streamlined!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay so people need to be careful when writing reviews., 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This boxset has just turned up and I've happily opened to find everything as it should be. After reading other user reviews such as unmarked discs, booklet doesn't fit box, Spanish texts etc, I can happily void all buy one of those faults.

Some reviews on here such as the unmarked discs and espanol writing are for THE BLU-RAY BOXSET EDITION, NOT THIS ONE.
USERS NEED TO MAKE SURE THEY'RE REVIEWING THE CORRECT ITEM.
The BLU ray edition has the faults, this one doesn't and I can't make it more clear.
However the one fault I can agree on us the polystyrene insert to keep the book flush to the box. Now that doesn't fuss me as I'm not going to be peering inside when I want my batman fix, am I?

All in all;
QUALITY 10/10
DISCS 10/10
DISC HOLDERS 8/10 (I don't think the flimsy plastic)
OUTER BOX 10/10 (No glue marks)
BOOKLET 9/10 (Has less detail than described but still a great edition).

A must for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Knight Trilogy - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
г89.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews