Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a really beautiful film,i wholeheartedly recommend it.
i watched this at the ICA earlier this year, theres hardly any dialogue and music is used sparingly. its just a beautiful film about contemplation,reflection,memories and the passing of time. melancholy,ethereal,poignant and haunting. it is a film that has stayed with me.
Published 8 months ago by The Silent Child

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars be warned contains a scene of actual animal cruelty!
I could not watch this film after film footage of the callous drowning of a dog in the sea and this is the only thing that has stayed with me from this film. There was no warning, no explanation of why it was there, no context. I still feel traumatized several days after.
Published 3 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a really beautiful film,i wholeheartedly recommend it., 10 Nov 2013
This review is from: Silence [DVD] (DVD)
i watched this at the ICA earlier this year, theres hardly any dialogue and music is used sparingly. its just a beautiful film about contemplation,reflection,memories and the passing of time. melancholy,ethereal,poignant and haunting. it is a film that has stayed with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing and beautiful, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film with elements of documentary in it. Really relaxing to watch and a breath of fresh air amidst all the noisy and chatty movies that we all normally watch. Get this as a break from tradition and calm your soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice pictures, beautiful music and clear story without too much words, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence [DVD] (DVD)
We live today in very busy times and sometimes we long for the silence - the silence like in this film, silence of home. I liked also the dokumentary about Tory Island. It is pleasure and relaxation to watch this film, where we can not only see but also feel the journey of the main figure. I'm not from Irland (I'm from Prag, from the city), but it is a film for all people in the world, who understand, how important is to travel and then return to home, how important is to take a time for silence in us... and what does it mean, the silence?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Film, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Anthony Quigley (Hampton, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence [DVD] (DVD)
A gem of a movie about quiet places and insight far from the madding crowd and the commercialization of life. A treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Exceptional, poetic and cinematographic...", 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence [DVD] (DVD)
Irish screenwriter, producer and director Pat Collins` debut feature film which he co-wrote with screenwriters Eoghan Mac Giolla Bhride and Sharon Whooley, premiered at the 10th Jameson Dublin International Film Festival in 2012, was shot on location in Ireland and is an Irish production which was produced by television and film producer Tina Moran. It tells the story about a man named Eoghan who lives in the capital city of Germany where he records sounds, and who after making the decision to continue his work elsewhere says goodbye to a woman he knows and sets out on a journey towards the province of Ulster in Ireland which is his homeland.

Distinctly and precisely directed by Irish filmmaker Pat Collins, this quietly paced and somewhat fictional tale which is narrated from multiple viewpoints though mostly from the main character`s point of view, draws a perceptive and calmly engaging portrayal of an Irish sound recordist who leaves Berlin, Germany and returns to the country he left many years ago to record sounds which are not made by humans. While notable for its majestic milieu depictions, reverent cinematography by cinematographer Richard Kendrick, choice of location and use of sound, time, music, colors and archival footage, this character-driven story about peoples connection to places where documentary and fiction is eloquently incorporated, fragments of history recurs and a person who drives, walks, talks, contemplates and carefully listens to the wind, the birds, the trees, the waves and the people he encounters on his self-reflective pilgrimage, depicts a meditative and lingering study of character.

This observational and prominently reflective and atmospheric drama which is set mostly in Donegal, Ireland during a spring in the 21st century and where a man who seeks, is guided by and interprets sounds becomes drawn to his origins, is impelled and reinforced by its cogent narrative structure, subtle character development and continuity, distinct dialog scenes and the rare acting performance by Irish actor, screenwriter and director Eoghan Mac Giolla Bhride. An exceptional, poetic and cinematographic narrative feature which gained the Michael Dwyer Discovery Award Eoghan Giolla Bhride at the 10th Jameson Dublin Film Festival in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A calming film..., 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silence [DVD] (DVD)
Despite this film being about silence: absence of human made noise what I fell madly in love with was the soundtrack. Hauntingly beautiful. The film is great. I would put it on and find myself feeling so much happier and calmer. A film about nothing and everything that matters. Peace and beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars be warned contains a scene of actual animal cruelty!, 26 April 2014
This review is from: Silence [DVD] (DVD)
I could not watch this film after film footage of the callous drowning of a dog in the sea and this is the only thing that has stayed with me from this film. There was no warning, no explanation of why it was there, no context. I still feel traumatized several days after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ummmm..., 18 April 2014
By 
Martyn Clark "Voice Coach" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silence (DVD)
I'm a sound nerd, and even I found it dull. And ironically, the sound very poorly recorded :o) Hmmm. Hmm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silence [DVD]
Silence [DVD] by Pat Collins (DVD - 2013)
9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews