Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something quiet rare: A meaningful story told with subtlety
In an interview accompanying this DVD, the film's director Abbas Kirostami talks about how it was only possible to make this story after he had acquired the necessary life experience. Perhaps this is a strategy that more directors need to pursue because in this realisation Mr Kirostami's understanding of the central character certainly pays off. Both the old man, Tadashi...
Published 4 months ago by Paul Healy

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm
There were aspects of this film that I really liked. The acting and cinematography is amazing. The scene where the main two characters are in the car with Kase Ryo (I wouldn't marry him after watching this film and believe me, I would have before!) is so tense it's perfect. I found the ending slightly unsatisfying but can't say why as it will completely ruin it for...
Published 3 months ago by CakeMonster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something quiet rare: A meaningful story told with subtlety, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Paul Healy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Someone in Love [DVD] (DVD)
In an interview accompanying this DVD, the film's director Abbas Kirostami talks about how it was only possible to make this story after he had acquired the necessary life experience. Perhaps this is a strategy that more directors need to pursue because in this realisation Mr Kirostami's understanding of the central character certainly pays off. Both the old man, Tadashi Okuno, and the beautiful object of desire, Rin Takanashi, turn in outstanding performances in a compelling but low-key story. While there is certainly a girl, there is no sordid exploitation of the female form, and while there are no guns, there is a hint of offscreen (imminent) violence. Instead Mr Kirostami allows the audience the space to apply their own understanding of the events that we see unfold. Using a Rashemonian device, we can see the events again with another implied meaning. In this film, as in all good cinema, you decide what you have just seen and what, ultimately, it all means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All alone in a city of millions, 9 July 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Like Someone in Love [DVD] (DVD)
If you're familiar with modern Japanese arthouse movies or written literature, then the style and strangeness of this film won't be totally surprisingly. So if you enjoyed Norwegian Wood then Like Someone In Love won't seem too weird. The extended monologues, long silences, extended driving sequences and static filming won't appeal to everyone however, especially as it's one of those films which kinda starts in the middle and finishes before the end...

Like Someone In Love is a series of extended character pieces which explores overlapping lives of different generations in modern day Tokyo. There's a country girl who has come to the city to escape rural monotony and limited opportunities, and she's ended up providing escort services to older gentlemen at night while cramming in sociology studies during the day. Her jealous boyfriend knows he's being given the run-around but doesn't quite understand how. Her worried grandmother has travelled all the way to the big city, unannounced, to visit. And Akiko has a special appointment that evening with an elderly scholar - a widower, we think, lonely in his apartment, with only his work and an annoying neighbour.
As is the way with such films, each of these threads is far more than I've just described, and they trace patterns of loss, hope, self-obsession, love, grief, selfless dedication and a whole lot more in between the generations. There's an enormous amount of talking - some remarkable performances are given one-sided, on the phone - and an equal amount of not talking, when communication totally collapses.
But this isn't a depressing or even particularly sad story - indeed, there's some sequences which are gently and wistfully humorous. Some moments are just plain funny: the older chap spends all day making soup, a delicacy from her childhood, he hopes. `I always hated that' she says and dismisses it in an instant. Ouch. But ouch with a wry smile.
Like Someone In Love tilts away from outright depression and rather more towards a poignant inevitability of miscommunication, and the tangle of emotional upheaval which can last a lifetime. It includes some beautifully shot sequences - like when Akiko drives past her grandmother, twice, and listens repeatedly to the messages left on her voicemail. That's as close as she can come to close personal contact - a slightly sinister observation about modern cultural development and increasing levels of isolation.

Gentle, clever, thought-provoking and entertaining, this film also gave us a glimpse of modern day Tokyo and Japanese society. Overall, we loved it, but if you're not used to watching Japanese-language drama, then you may find it somewhat slow and stilted.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing look at identity in Japan, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Fergus Stewart (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all I must say that this movie won't be for everyone, relying as it does on the viewer being patient and happy to let things slowly unfold, albeit in a most beguiling manner. This is not a movie for the 'Die Hard' or 'Transformers' brigade. It is slow and subtle with a narrative that is slight but characters who fascinate due to the indistinctness of who they are - that is to say all the main characters may or may not be quite what they seem and all of them present different personas according to their situation and relationships.

The film fascinates from the opening scene in a bar where you can hear Rin Takanashi talking on her phone while she is out of shot and we see the bar from her physical viewpoint.
The beautiful cinematography helps to underline the isolation of the characters by techniques like scenes occurring within the interior of cars and through windows shot with beautiful reflections of the neon lights of Tokyo. The main female character is played by Rin Takanashi whose delicate and vulnerable beauty lends such poignancy to the film, especially in the scene in a taxi where she listens to voicemails from her grandmother - such a quietly heartbreaking scene. And it is no coincidence that Kiarostami chose Japan as the location for a movie about hidden personas and confused identities.

The only reason I didn't give this movie 5 stars was because of the film's sudden abrupt ending which leaves you not knowing what happened next or where the slight narrative was leading to. It did not bother me too much as I can imagine that Kiarostami did this because he was implying that when people's identities are so fluid and indistinct then there will never be a resolution to their problematic lives but I can equally imagine that the ending would infuriate many viewers used to a more conventional narrative form. But when I think about this movie (which I have viewed several times) it is the pleasure of the slow observation of these people and their life experiences that makes it so rewarding and so visually seductive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Someone in Love [DVD] (DVD)
There were aspects of this film that I really liked. The acting and cinematography is amazing. The scene where the main two characters are in the car with Kase Ryo (I wouldn't marry him after watching this film and believe me, I would have before!) is so tense it's perfect. I found the ending slightly unsatisfying but can't say why as it will completely ruin it for anyone considering watching it. Let's just say don't do it if you need closure from a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Sam Britton (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Someone in Love [DVD] (DVD)
Very enjoyable video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Someone In Love, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Martin Kelly (Nebraska) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Someone in Love [DVD] (DVD)
A beautifully subtle film.
Sublimely shot, well acted, and fantastic direction - as always - from Kiarostami.
Not for fans of fast action but if you like slow paced drama with great feel this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth seeeing, 22 Mar 2014
This review is from: Like Someone in Love (Blu-ray)
I was glad I saw this as I had hated Kiarostami's previous film, the self-indulgent Certified Copy. While Certified Copy did not work for me because I felt the story could only have been set in Iran, where a man and a woman cannot travel together unless they are related and hence the pretence, this story works well in its Japanese setting and could also have been made in Iran.
I just wish the ending was not so abrupt and wished it was more like the ending of say, Breaking Bad. It made me think that the arty farty film makers like Kiarostami, Hanneke and the Dardenne brothers could benefit a tiny bit from the traditional technique of story telling that we see these days to good effect, in the best of the US TV dramas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Like Someone in Love [DVD]
Like Someone in Love [DVD] by Abbas Kiarostami (DVD - 2013)
14.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews