Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh keep it simple, please
I like this perhaps because i got attached to the first two series. Somebody said here that it was a good example of style over content - a bit too far up its own ... shame. That I think is spot on. The deep dark atmosphere of Conan Doyle's books is increasingly lost as the directors and producers step into the foreground and take over from good, firm actors. i want...
Published 6 months ago by Nightwatcher

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor series.
Series three caters to the silly, little fangirls on Tumblr. Especially episode one. It doesn't live up to the expectation of the previous two series. I found it disappointing because I've waited so long to see the conclusion of "the fall." The writers backed themselves into a corner with that storyline. I don't think they were anticipating the interest and...
Published 1 month ago by Jodz


‹ Previous | 1 287 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh keep it simple, please, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this perhaps because i got attached to the first two series. Somebody said here that it was a good example of style over content - a bit too far up its own ... shame. That I think is spot on. The deep dark atmosphere of Conan Doyle's books is increasingly lost as the directors and producers step into the foreground and take over from good, firm actors. i want to watch the protagonists play it out, not bear witness to how many gimmicks the programme makers can introduce to make viewing more difficult. Compare this with Elementary, the American version. Great acting, simple, punchy story lines and a very decorative Watson.
I am still attached to the English version, even if its because I admire the actors struggle to overcome the gimmicks of production (they are still a whisker ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here we go again, 14 Jan. 2015
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm assuming you've seen the previous couple of series of this (otherwise it's probably best to start at the beginning) and this is pretty much more of the same. The same fun blend of humour and elaborate mysteries loosely based on various works by Arthur Conan Doyle. There's three more episodes this time out,

The Empty Hearse - This of course deals with Sherlocks return after the nose dive he took at the end of series two. This is where you find out how he did it (kind of). The rest of the episode deals with a terrorist plot in London.

The Sign of Three - A bizarre but entertaining episode with Sherlock in the alien role of Best Man - recounting recent cases during his eccentric speech.

His Last Vow - Sherlock and Watson take on arch blackmailer Charles Magnussen after a game changing reveal in the early going.

The plots are typically convoluted and likely to keep you on your toes. The relationship between Sherlock and Holmes is at the forefront as always, bringing a healthy dose of heart and humour to proceedings. Cumberbatch and Freeman are as good as ever and most of the supporting cast are present and correct. With Mark Gatiss and Steven Moffat on writing duties it all adds up to another neat little package. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes transplanted into this century., 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sherlock Holmes, Doctor Who, Star Trek, Shakespeare and so on. Of the diverse list of characters I have embraced from literature, TV and film Sherlock Holmes stands in a select company at the top. I have read the complete works and enjoyed the many incarnations from Basil Rathbone on.
Benedict Cumberbatch's portrayal transplants Sherlock Holmes into the present along with Martin Freeman's Watson. There is no real way to compare the Victorian and modern versions, but I would like to think that this is unique and at the same time close enough to the spirit of the original that even Sir Arthur Conan Doyle would recognize his creation and be pleased. Mark Gatiss, Una Stubbs, Amanda Abbington, and Andrew Scott along with the rest of the cast also shine.
I also find Elementary with Jonny Lee Miller as Sherlock Holmes an even more unique way of handling bringing Holmes into this century. Here Holmes had Sercombe to the drug habit of the original Holmes and moved to New York. Watson and Moriarty are women and Holmes fell in love with Moriarty. Jonny Lee Miller's Sherlock Holmes works in this very surreal version and again the cast are brilliant.
Trying to compare the two series is like trying to compare black and white. Benedict Cumberbatch's Holmes describes himself as a high functioning sociopath (I think that is a flawed or at least an incomplete diagnosis) but overall is elegant and very British. Jonny Lee Miller's Holmes is a Hyperactive and damaged individual but you can see Holmes in there. Well done to the producers for keeping him British.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beeb at its best., 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sherlock is the BEEB at its best. Each episode needs to be watched in total silence and with no interrptions. You might miss a vital clue. It is charming,witty and absorbing. It's easy enough to focus on BC but the supporting cast are great. A fantastic series.My only complaint is the time between each season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic series 3 of "Sherlock", 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a brilliant series with great actors. Episode 3 has a fantastic new villain, ie, "Borgen" and "The Killing" star Lars Mikkelsen, who is amazing as master blackmailer Charles Augustus Magnussen. The character really seems to enjoy watching the effect he has on them, which is very chilling to watch. I hope Magnussen is brought back in future series because a Moriarty / Magnussen team would be awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone must watch Sherlock!!, 28 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely amazing!! I started watching the series, and within a week had finished all episodes! Very addictive and you will find yourself instantly a part of the 'Sherlock Fandom' once you start watching. Suitable for all ages, although there is some non-gory violence which younger children may not want to watch. You will find yourself watching the episodes again and again with the same interest and excitement as when you first watched them as each episode is so detailed that you notice new things when you rewatch them. Incredible acting by all characters which you will fall in love with and grow an emotional bond to. The filming is of good quality, and the sound quality is equally excellent. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 28 Feb. 2015
By 
Amazon customer (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Without a doubt the best adaptation of Sherlock Holmes. The casting is sheer genius, the acting is flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as I expected, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent as I expected. It is more addictive than coffee and much more entertaining. The down side ?
The cost. It really grips my colon to have to pay for something I and millions of others have already paid for via the licence fee.
It's only £3.99 or whatever, per episode but the principle is there. I shall be purchasing more but will need time to save up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indubitably Moffat, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of The Moffat style of writing, then Sherlock is a great watch. That said, there is enough plot, great casting and character interplay to keep you gripped. I also found the 90 minute length of each episode long enough to build up the story and sufficiently play it out without rushing through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive and very interesting!, 28 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very addictive! if you like series and dramas, you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 287 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock - Series 3 [DVD]
Sherlock - Series 3 [DVD] by Benedict Cumberbatch (DVD - 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews