Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...If You Want To Ride A Rainbow...Come With Me..." - The Island Years by JOHN MARTYN (Box Set)
There's a huge amount of stuff on here so let's get to the details first:
"The Island Years" is a limited edition 17-CD/1DVD LP-Sized Box Set UK issued Monday 30 September 2013 on Universal/Island Records 374 228-8 and breaks down as follows:

The first 12" x 12" tri-gatefold sleeve contains:
Disc 1 (74:39 minutes): Tracks 1 to 12 are his debut album...
Published 17 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
16 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, but too much at once & not cheap!
Sorry to spoil the party, but hasn't anyone noticed the exorbitant price of this collection! Now who's likely to buy this box set? I doubt very much if it's going to be people who don't already own a lot of John Martyn CDs. In fact I suspect very strongly that it'll be of almost exclusive interest to those who already own most of his back catalogue - a lot of which was...
Published 16 months ago by J. Everitt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mighty John...., 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (Audio CD)
I was lucky to get the Download Version for £7.49 yesterday a bargain at that price and unbelievable at the £1.19 it was priced at on Sunday! I notice you can't buy the Download version anymore so I guess the pricing was a mistake!
Anyway I only had the old 90's versions of a lot of the albums apart from the Special Editions of Solid Air and One World, and was missing several albums on CD. I've only listened to a couple of albums so far and the sound quality is superb - like hearing them for the 1st time.
It would have been nice to have had the box set as the book, DVD and other stuff look wonderful having 17 CDs worth of JM for 7 quid is the bargain of the century.
If you haven't got any JM buy this - you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Island Years - John Martyn, 9 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Island Years (MP3 Download)
I picked this up on a recommendation from a colleague as a bargain MP3 download. Like most 'oldies' of a certain age I had 'Solid Air' in the cd collection but that was the extent of my recorded JM.

I managed to catch the documentary on tv a couple of years back filmed after JM's amputation and was intrigued by the wit and spirit of the man.

I'm still working through the cds on the daily commute and I'm loving the purity and sweetness of his voice and accomplished guitar accompaniment. Reminiscent of Bert Jansch in voice and the use of DADGAD tuning every track is a delight. And the alternate tracks show the subtle differences between each performance. Recommended to folkies and lovers of solo voice/guitar everywhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, but too much at once & not cheap!, 6 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Everitt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Island Years (Audio CD)
Sorry to spoil the party, but hasn't anyone noticed the exorbitant price of this collection! Now who's likely to buy this box set? I doubt very much if it's going to be people who don't already own a lot of John Martyn CDs. In fact I suspect very strongly that it'll be of almost exclusive interest to those who already own most of his back catalogue - a lot of which was remastered perfectly adequately by Island in 2005. Obviously the great man has passed away in the interim, but I have to say the word exploitation is the one that comes to mind. Effectively what they're asking the consumer to do is spend a small fortune on one huge set that'll replace all those Island discs they already have, for next to no change in sound quality etc. What you get is a lavish, luxury set, but if you're like me does anyone really need yet more live shows & out-takes? These kind of things usually get a couple of listens then put back in their cases for years. I've learned from buying too many deluxe editions that all they tend to do is confuse the listener, as you end up with many versions of the same song & then you never know which one to play! There's a lot to be said for simplicity! Also, does anyone really need reproductions of concert programmes and similar ilk. It looks really nice but most people will take one peek at it and never view it again. The CD holders look like the usual recipe for finger print/scratching/ripped cardboard that these things normally give. Great buy if money's no object, but I for one won't be fuelling the balance sheet of some multi-national just so that I can acquire this set. I kind of wonder what the great man's opinion on such an expensive item would have been if he was still around? After all that though - if you are new to JM and can afford the lolly, then musically this chap was something else, a rare one off, as a set - exploitation rip off land, as for the music well that's a different matter. It's not all brilliant, but the highs make up for the lows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star from the past, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (MP3 Download)
Fantastic singer and composer
What a deal
Quick to download easy to buy and great purchase
Happy soul good memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even so, could have been better., 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Steven H. Koenig "Music Journalist, Poet, Tea... (Brooklyn, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (Audio CD)
John Martyn. The Island Years. Universal 374 228-8, 17 CDs, DVD (NTSC), poster and folder of memorabilia in a 12x12 hard slipcase. Those prats at Universal have messed us up us again with a UK-only, expensive, multi-disc, limited edition package, with tons of extra material. The reason they are prats is that much of the extra tracks on the individual and the 2CD “deluxe” editions we already bought are not in this compendium, so fans will need to keep all of those as well. The cheapest source as of this writing was Amazon UK.

from AcousticLevitation (dot) org's Editor's Best of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's all here - sometimes too often, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (MP3 Download)
I got this incredibly cheap. Not sure if it was an accident or some kind of promotion.
Probably like you, I loved John. But he didn't half do some rubbish along the way. And it's all here - along with some absolutely wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars was great value, 6 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (MP3 Download)
Got this as a download for £7.99 at one point great value, if you can get it for this price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Island Years
The Island Years by John Martyn (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews