Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...If You Want To Ride A Rainbow...Come With Me..." - The Island Years by JOHN MARTYN (Box Set)
There's a huge amount of stuff on here so let's get to the details first:
"The Island Years" is a limited edition 17-CD/1DVD LP-Sized Box Set UK issued Monday 30 September 2013 on Universal/Island Records 374 228-8 and breaks down as follows:

The first 12" x 12" tri-gatefold sleeve contains:
Disc 1 (74:39 minutes): Tracks 1 to 12 are his debut album...
Published 11 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's all here - sometimes too often
I got this incredibly cheap. Not sure if it was an accident or some kind of promotion.
Probably like you, I loved John. But he didn't half do some rubbish along the way. And it's all here - along with some absolutely wonderful stuff.
Published 9 days ago by The South Seas cruiser


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missed and loved, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Island Years (Audio CD)
I received this from my son as a xmas present....what can I say, John was a unique, genius with a rogue side that we all loved.
Brilliant compilation a tribute not only to John but to all the talented musicians who played with him over the years.
Many thanks to all who contributed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Tribute, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (Audio CD)
A beautifully packed collection of John Martyn's work for Island. I would have no reservations about recommending this package to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't love you more....., 25 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Island Years (Audio CD)
Anything other than the Very best would have been not only an insult, but wholly unwelcome. This does not disappoint at any stage. John Martyn was a huge influence on my early musical education that lead me on-wards and forwards through my teens into the future.

ps: It Should be Sir John not OBE.

Nuff Sed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (MP3 Download)
Great buy, excellent value for money and superb music from a master musician and entertainer who is very sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's John Martyn?, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (MP3 Download)
If you are a certain age, you may have never heard of John Martyn. After all his best years were the 1970"s, 40 years ago.
Like everything in life its a matter of taste, but I personally rate him very highly. Have a listen first before you buy, and then time will tell if you've made the right purchase, most will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it's great....but......!!, 13 Oct 2013
By 
R. Seymour (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (Audio CD)
An unquestionably fabulous collection of studio albums and rarities, very nicely packaged and presented. This set really does contain the cream of John Martyn's finest moments. But.....it doesn't exactly come cheap!

My main gripe is that most of his fans will already own many, if not all of the studio CDs. Therefore I'm somewhat confused as to why we have to pay so much to buy them again, just to get to the rare gems of previously unreleased splendour.

My other gripe is having bought the set at the original pre-release price (through Amazon), I am more than a little annoyed to see it being sold by Universal (on their website) for £129.99.

Sometimes you can't help but feel that you are being ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All of John's best work in one box., 4 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (Audio CD)
As far as I'm concered John never released a bad album, but there can be no denying that his best work was the Island years. Most fans will have most of the music on offer here; but in amongst the previously unreleased bits and pieces there are some real gems. Principally we finally have the superb 'A Little Night Music' which inexplicably was missing from the John Martyn at the BBC dvd set issued a couple of years ago. To sum up it's expensive and as a fan you'll probably have most of the music, but it's beautifully packaged, the book makes interesting reading and yes it's definitely worth having. A fitting tribute to one of the true greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Thing of Beauty, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (Audio CD)
A beautifully packaged memory of a great artist. The odd typo in the book is a shame, but this is worth every penny and will be treasured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't intend to buy this, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (Audio CD)
As I already had most of John's remastered cd's. But saw it on Amazon at a bargain price. Most of the music is, of course brilliant. But this is more than that, the whole package is a fitting tribute to a wonderful man,whom I had the pleasure to meet a number of times,post gigs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's all here - sometimes too often, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island Years (MP3 Download)
I got this incredibly cheap. Not sure if it was an accident or some kind of promotion.
Probably like you, I loved John. But he didn't half do some rubbish along the way. And it's all here - along with some absolutely wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Island Years
The Island Years by John Martyn (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews