Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Im a science nerd
Great to pick up and put down, interesting if not querky. Essential reading for those who love science and understand it or for those who want something different to read whilst learning something
Published 19 months ago by Mel

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars stirs the grey matter
If, like me, you occasionally buy New Scientist in an airport lounge with the intention of keeping your mind occupied during a potentially tedious flight then, then this could be for you as these articles originated in the magazine.

"Nothing" turns out to be anything but. The articles are in random order, but you can follow particular ideas using guide notes to...
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Im a science nerd, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to pick up and put down, interesting if not querky. Essential reading for those who love science and understand it or for those who want something different to read whilst learning something
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars stirs the grey matter, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (New Scientist) (Kindle Edition)
If, like me, you occasionally buy New Scientist in an airport lounge with the intention of keeping your mind occupied during a potentially tedious flight then, then this could be for you as these articles originated in the magazine.

"Nothing" turns out to be anything but. The articles are in random order, but you can follow particular ideas using guide notes to related articles.

The articles were not of equal interest to me, though I found quite a few that stirred the grey matter. The writing is clear, as you would expect of New Scientist, but sometimes the authors try a little too hard to be chatty, or even sensationalist: the title blurb sets this tone. Illustrations, which I always value very much in New Scientist, are here very thin on the ground - and for me that's not a minor quibble. The articles take up just over half the book, the rest being notes and index, etcetera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing is very little indeed, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was quite disappointed by this issue from the New Scientist. I expect cutting edge from the magazine but instead got old news - most of which is available on w3, allbeit in slightly different form. Certainly , I learned some new things - and this made reading the book worth the time, however, as a whole, although each article was well enough presented, I would categorize it as a mediocre effort and put the blame on the editors not the individual authors.
Sorry guys!

George F. Hart, Professor emeritus, LSU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are 86 organs in a human body that do nothing - can you believe it?!, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (New Scientist) (Kindle Edition)
The moment I saw a book about nothing I had to get it! What a fascinating subject, what a great way to acquaint the reader with a concept of nothing - a series of New Scientist articles under one cover. Yes, it all sounds right, and it all sounds like a good (if not utterly fascinating) read, BUT...

When we start to dig into concept of "nothing", we discover (quote quickly) that "nothing" is quite elusive and exists, perhaps, only as a turn of phrase. Take absolute zero (i.e. temperature), take Universe before the big bang, and take internal organs of a body that are redundant, take placebo medicine, take your mind when it's idle - does it sound like nothing to you? It does not to me. There is always something behind nothing. And while concept of explaining what the python does while it hangs out for weeks doing nothing is more or less easy, I doubt a lot of people would grasp concept of vacuum or universe before the big bang (if we could, perhaps there would be many more Nobel laureates among us!). What I mean, it's all fascinating and super interesting, but I wonder how many people would be able to share their new found knowledge (unless it's about vestigiality (there are 86 organs in a human body which are considered useless!) - a concept easily explained and understood and illustrated by a number of easy examples).

So, some articles are curious and will definitely make you think and discuss your newly found knowledge. Some articles I just skim-read (because I do not have enough physics and chemistry knowledge to fully understand the concept of particles - and I guess it would be pretty hard to explain the beginning of the Universe in an article of a dozen pages).

Stimulating read, nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a brilliant series of articles on the universe, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (New Scientist) (Kindle Edition)
I bought it to read on Kindle - have now ordered the paperback for my bookshelf. It's a brilliant series of articles on the universe, aimed at people with a lot of interest about where we caome from and where we're going, but people with no more than secondary school science a long time ago. I feel that I sort of understand what goes on in space, and what "quantum" means in the real world. Get it for your next journey/holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (New Scientist) (Kindle Edition)
The articles on physics and cosmology were excellent and I would have liked more of the same. I was disappointed that about half of the book was given over to the index and credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
nice collection of articles from the magazine, makes interesting reading and can be read in short bursts as its not one long tome...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than Just Nothing!, 13 July 2014
By 
D. B. Horsfall (South Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (New Scientist) (Kindle Edition)
As expected from New Scientist, it is intriguing, thought provoking and yet remains an interesting read for anyone interested in the off beat or quirky side of science
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing, 31 May 2014
By 
murph011 (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (New Scientist) (Kindle Edition)
A very good ebook covering a range of topics that are not usually covered. Found the topics to be thought provoking and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good clean fun, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness (New Scientist) (Kindle Edition)
Good fun to read. Light style.Probably a bit too much so for the purist. But a nice way to poke about in a diverse set of subjects from the origins of the universe to anaesthetic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews