Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice case
I just got this case for my Kindle first impressions are that its quite a robust case once on the Kindle Fire HDX.
The fact that it's an Origami style means the cover is floppy when you open it, but it attaches to itself magnetically either flat or in a stand position (works in either portrait or landscape) so this is not an issue.

Pros
1. This case...
Published 8 months ago by Raregrit

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hex origami
Poor protection - Sons new HDX in closed origami case dropped once from the height of an eight year olds hand - (days after Christmas). Screen broken, kindle not reacting - written off. And very expensive.
Published 6 months ago by Andrew


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice case, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon Kindle Fire HDX 7" Standing Leather Origami Case (will only fit All-New Kindle Fire HDX 7"), Black (Accessory)
I just got this case for my Kindle first impressions are that its quite a robust case once on the Kindle Fire HDX.
The fact that it's an Origami style means the cover is floppy when you open it, but it attaches to itself magnetically either flat or in a stand position (works in either portrait or landscape) so this is not an issue.

Pros
1. This case is well made and looks stylish and expensive.
2. The Origami design looks nice and as a stand works well.
3. The cover has a magnet that turns off the display when closed.
4. The back of the case has plastic buttons that overlay the controls on the rear of the device, and they work perfectly.
5. The Kindle Fire HDX attaches to the case magnetically, so it clips on and off with ease, whilst still feeling securely held.
6. The cover folds over and attaches to the back of itself magnetically, both flat, and in a stand position.
7. The case directs the sound from the speakers towards you, as opposed to back and away from you.

Cons
1 . When the cover folds over and attaches to itself magnetically in the flat position, it can be uncomfortable to hold for extended periods, for fingers along the edges of the device (although the fact that is magnetically attached means it is easy to pry the case off in under two seconds if you want).

Typically I think more Men than Women will like this case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hex origami, 7 Jan 2014
This review is from: Amazon Kindle Fire HDX 7" Standing Leather Origami Case (will only fit All-New Kindle Fire HDX 7"), Black (Accessory)
Poor protection - Sons new HDX in closed origami case dropped once from the height of an eight year olds hand - (days after Christmas). Screen broken, kindle not reacting - written off. And very expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neat but expensive, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Doesn't look or feel like leather but a better finish than the plastic version. Folding stand is clever and works well. Not sure how much protection it would give if I dropped it. I would worry the cover might open if it was loose in a bag. I keep it inside a zip up tablet pouch as well and I'm happy with that combination but it adds to the cost. I wouldn't pay full price for it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Innovation, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This case is great, it is stylish and a cool colour. The Kindle attaches to the case magnetically so no trying to fit the corners into slots and it doesn't fall out. Being able to use it as stand is an added bonus.The only drawback is that it is a bit pricey but apart from that it is an excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good design, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good design and an essential for the Kindle Fire HDX. I think it is very expensive and do wonder a little about its durability. Only time will tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this case did not fit kindle fire hdx.measurements only 7ins.and my kindle measures 71/2 inches., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon Kindle Fire HDX 7" Standing Leather Origami Case (will only fit All-New Kindle Fire HDX 7"), Black (Accessory)
see above.case too small for kindle fire hdx and was not suitable.that is why case was returned to you.have since acquired suiable case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finishing touch, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this cover when it was on special offer. Quite pricey but well worth it. Protects the kindle fire very well and is extremely smart. So glad I went for this rather than a cheaper version there is no comparison in quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon Kindle Fire HDX 7" Standing Leather Origami Case (will only fit All-New Kindle Fire HDX 7"), Black (Accessory)
The cover is very good, strong and looks good, very pleased with it, would recommend it, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make your Kindle look like a passport, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This case will make your Kindle look classy and works as a decent stand, the magnets keep it closed with ease and keep your Kindle snug, but it's not a case that will give it a lot of protection. I'd recommend the Case Logic Protective Case if your clumsy or throw your stuff about a lot. But if you keep your Kindle in your inside jacket pocket and are careful with it then the Fire HDX will make it look classy and sleek, or maybe just like passport. I especially like the folding-out stands (the origami part), though it did topple over just a couple of times as it was a little too top-heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never Mind the Price, Feel the Quality !, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although the Origami is described as a leather case on first inspection it doesn't really look or feel like leather and it's only really the smell that confirms it. This is because the leather is tightly stretched and bonded onto a hard plastic shell. The inside also has a soft brush texture which must be a man-made material. One half of the case is a single solid shell and the other half is made up of a number of solid triangular panels held together by the leather covering. On its own the overall effect is slightly underwhelming and left me thinking, "Is this really supposed to be worth over 50 ?"

When I put the Kindle Fire HDX into the case it did snap firmly into place in a very reassuring way. Despite only being held there by magnets there is no chance of it slipping out or accidentally moving at all really. The front cover closes snugly and again is held firmly in place with no chance of it accidentally flapping open. The inside cover now feels reassuringly soft over the screen and I feel there's no need for a screen protector.

When in hand held use, the front cover folds right back and snaps firmly in place with the magnets and does not interfere with the Kindle operation at all, even when playing games. It does, however, add significantly to the weight of the device. The on-off and volume buttons are a little more difficult to access like this since you have to push part of the cover up but the buttons themselves work very well indeed.

Folded into its standing position seems very easy to me and again the magnets in the cover hold it quite rigidly once in position. It can stand up in landscape or portrait orientation, with landscape being the steadier. There's next to no chance of it falling over on a steady surface and personally have no qualms about standing it on the widow-sill next to the sink or a high shelf. However, on a shaky plane table there is probably a slight chance it will topple over. There is no facility to adjust the angle of the stand but I've never found this to be a problem.

As stated in the marketing info there is a slight air space around the Kindle speaker areas which does indeed project sound very well. With an internet radio app this works brilliantly as a good quality portable radio and adequately for music as well.

Finally the cover feels very robust. If you accidentally hold the front cover only so all the weight is on the leather "hinge" there is no sense that it might tear. After using this continuously for 6 weeks there are no scratches, marks or nicks on the leather and I feel the cover is likely to last as long as the Kindle at least.

In conclusion, despite my initial indifference to the look and feel of the cover I've now become very fond of its functionality and robust quality and would heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews