Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10
Travis have been my favourite band ever since i heard The Man Who album, wasn't so keen on ode to j.smith. They are back to their best here.
Published 10 months ago by littleowl

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decidedly average
I recently read a glowing review for this album in a national newspaper over a week before it was released. I wonder if maybe an exclusive preview could be anything to do with the review being glowing? What I did learn from the review however was that once upon a time Travis were commercially massively successful, their second album The Man Who released in 1999 shifting...
Published 11 months ago by D. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where You Stand (MP3 Download)
Travis have been my favourite band ever since i heard The Man Who album, wasn't so keen on ode to j.smith. They are back to their best here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where You Stand (MP3 Download)
brilliant album, it has been a long time coming.. every track is good.. enjoying it.. great story telling.. fantastic. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where You Stand, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where You Stand (Audio CD)
It's good to have Travis back. Where You Stand is a fairly softly-spoken album, but powerful still, comprising some great melodies, solid performances and a welcome degree of Travis-centric experimentation. There are some questionable falsetto passages. Expect a dodgy lyric here or there, and grating childlike simplicity *cough Reminder*, but I think that's about every Travis album out there. All that I hold dear in Travis - singalongs, ponderous wee songs, satisfying instrumental breaks (not talking about solos) - is here. There are also several precious moments of stark beauty where all I can picture is a vast blanket of stars in an inky sky. Not kidding. It's wonderful. Fran sounds great, whether cooing or soaring, and Dougie and Neil have rarely sounded better together. Additionally, the finest (mainly) piano-led track Travis have ever done is here ("Mother"). It's also nice to see the band finally split the load on songwriting. Turns out Dougie wrote most of my favourites here this time around. Last words: "AND EVVVVVRYTHINNNNNNG!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Where You Stand (Audio CD)
Although lacking a "killer" track this album does reward repeated listening and is as good an example of guitar based pop/rock as you will find nowadays. It's what I would term a "pleasant" album which does suggest a lack of muscle, but this is really the only criticism I can make. Fran Healy is in good voice, there are tunes aplenty and the playing is robust yet understated. The production is crystal clear which gives the overall sound a clarity and sharpness which is appreciated. This is a good album to listen to as we tempt fate with the last barbecues of summer.

In one word? - Mellow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Meeting An Old Friend, 16 Sep 2013
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where You Stand (Audio CD)
There's something comforting about a Travis album. A sense of familiarity that allows you to relax, sit back, and enjoy the music. Even the Fran Healy album Wreckorder felt like a Travis album, and it's this consistency that keeps fans coming back for more.

There are touches of innovation on this album, but you could easily play this in shuffle mode with The Invisible Band, The Man Who, and The Band With No Name, and you wouldn't lose any sense of the Travis style.

You could argue that a band that has stayed largely unchanged in terms of style is a band standing still, but when the melodies and arrangements are this beautiful, I think any Travis fan would be disappointed if it didn't sound "just like Travis".

Like an old friend you haven't seen in a while, you want them to be as good as you remember. Thankfully, Travis have grown old gracefully, and this album is proof that you can't have too much of a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars long awaited album!!!, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where You Stand (Audio CD)
Was very excited to receive this album for my birthday. Arrived this morning and played straight Away and I was nit disappointed, another fab album !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new album, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where You Stand (MP3 Download)
Excellent. Glad they are back. Bought tickets to see them at the Sage! Recommended it to all who buy this genre of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Did They Wait So Long?, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Adam Finn (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where You Stand (Audio CD)
'Where You Stand' is the seventh studio album from Scottish rockers Travis.

It's been a protracted five year hiatus since the unequivocally disappointing Ode to J. Smith. Since then Fran Healy et al. have gone back to the drawing-board. 'Where You Stand' is a return to form that will be warmly welcomed by their loyal and devoted followers.

In 1999, Travis' second album The Man Who sold (a now unimaginable) 3 million records. It is no coincidence that the artwork of their latest offering returns to the desolate horizon and familiar typography. Juxtapose this with the artwork of Ode to J. Smith and you can understand why, on the surface, Travis fell astray a little. Whilst this is all clearly symbolic its strikingly apparent that these differences are symptomatic of the music itself too. In 'Where You Stand' Travis return to the mid-tempo ballads and melodious radio-friendly pop but with a synth driven tint applied by new producer Michael Ilbert. Spearheaded by the boyish Fran Healy, the band remain tender and never shy of exposing their soft underbelly and lyrically the album is unambiguously simple but honest.

'Where You Stand' will not recapture the accolades that showered 'The Man Who' but instead recapture the underrated cult sound with inoffensive melody that brought the loyal fans back to their music time and time again.

Welcome Back!

Listen To: 'Moving', 'Where You Stand', 'Boxes'

** It's worth checking out the Amazon Artist Lounge which you can download as a free mp3: Amazon Artist Lounge EP - it features the first two tracks from this new record, 'Moving' and 'Mother' as well as the soothing 'Flowers In The Window' **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where You Stand (MP3 Download)
Another Travis masterpiece after so many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Excellent value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where You Stand
Where You Stand by Travis
Buy MP3 Album4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews