Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger, Better and scarier in every way
Having really enjoyed the first V/H/S, I was eager to see what they could do with a 2nd entry which I saw as part of the screamfest weekend. To be honest, if you didn't like the first one then the chances are you won't like this one either but I for one loved it. It improves over V/H/S in every way, it's got better production values, has less shaky camera work (one of...
Published 23 months ago by D. Krol

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOUR BUTT DIALED ME
The movie consists of four "found footage" stories that are shown in a "Creep Show" fashion. The stories are not connected, other than the fact they are being watched by the same people, a pair of private investigators. The films include ghosts, aliens, cultist, and my favorite a "zombie cam." This is the first time I can think of where we get a...
Published 21 months ago by The Movie Guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Video Nasty, 21 April 2014
By 
Mr. R. A. Stanton (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V/H/S 2 (DVD)
Just like the first movie, this brings together another collection of directors to create short horror stories covering various sub genres. It's hard to judge the film as a whole because some stories appeal more than others. The cult and zombie stories were stand out stories for me. The first story with the mechanical eye was so-so and the alien story was the one let down which was lacking in scares and looked rather ridiculous. Worth watching though for a good mix of horror tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice gore but very childish, 20 April 2014
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The first segment involves a man who has had an eye transplant and can now see dead people. The acting is awful, the script is awful – it aims for boo scares but fails due to the awful makeup of the supposed dead and introduces a woman just so she can get topless. Not the best start to an anthology.
The second segment is a cheap low budget first person view zombie moment, the sort of short film that you always seem to get at horror festivals, unoriginal and boring. Hard to believe it was the same director as The Blair Witch Project and Lovely Molly.
The third short about a cult has some very good gore moments and will please all the low budget gore fans out there but it all feels very immature and is far too silly to be entertaining.
Hard to believe it could get any worse but the next segment is about a bunch of kids playing tricks on each other when they are suddenly invaded by The Creature from the Black Lagoon, or aliens or whatever they are. Utter rubbish.
All wrapped up in some messed up story about a private detective and his partner who start to watch V/H/S tapes. The whole thing looks like it's aimed at school children but it has an eighteen certificate due to the impressive low budget gore of the third segment. Serious horror fans should stay clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Horror Anthology, 24 Feb. 2014
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the first film and so was looking forward to this. Plenty of special effects. Good acting from the cast. Some female nudity which is always a bonus. Independent film makers doing what they want and enjoying it. I shall watch the first one again. You might also want to see The ABCs Of Death. Contains lots of gore, violence, swearing, nudity. I am selling my copy on ebay (mrkish09). If you like films like Paranormal Activity, REC then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was as good as the first., 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
V/H/S 2 is a great sequel. But wasn't perfect by any means. This movie had four story's and a wraparound story for the main plot. The story's were interesting especially the third, which I'm not going to give away because it's the best part of the film and I don't want to spoil it. The most weak part of the movie is obviously the last story. It was basically a generic alien abduction with some special effects thrown in. I was very disappointed with this because you could think of pretty much anything but chose something which has been done in movies thousands of times. So something different would off been great. It felt they just ran out off production time or they just simply ran out ideas. The other three story's and the wraparound story ranged from good to brilliant. So overall if you have seen the first movie defiantly try out the second because it is just as good. I hope they make a V/H/S 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Outdoes the original in every aspect!, 23 Jan. 2014
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
So here we are again with the phenomena that is `V/H/S,` a
collection of stories centered around a back story of a
missing college student. In a nutsehell two private detectives
hired to find a student and break into a house he is suspected
to be in. Inside the house is a TV, video player and a suspicous
collection of tapes surrounding which may hold the clues to his
disappearance.

Sound familiar? Sure! I expected it to suck like the original but was
in awe of V/H/S 2. I know there was much debate on the original, people
loved and hated it but I was one who hated. V/H/S 2 surpasses in every way.
There is extreme gore, frights and a hell of a lot of originality. The only
minor complaint I have was the back story. It could have been handled alot
bgetter and fell flat. Other than that prepare to be scared and bring a sick bag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Series of Films Revitalising the Horror Genre, 13 Jan. 2014
VHS 2 follows on nicely with the premise of video tapes which contain horrific imagery being collectible. The myths is also built upon with the wrapper story talk about 4th generation copies etc. The stories on the tapes are interesting and of an even higher quality than those in the first movie. You will see the zombie apocalypse from a zombie's point of view, an inside look at a doomsday cult, prosthetics which allow you to see the dead and an invasion by merman alien things (from a camera mounted to a dog!). The quality of these movies is above and beyond the original with some truly horrible moments which will absolutely make you jump. Watch at nit with the lights down and the sound up for a really enjoyable horror ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't what I expected. It was fairly entertaining but unlike the first one seemed to have less of a plot and way way more gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100% better than the first V/H/S, 25 Nov. 2013
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Just watched this, a few days after watching V/H/S 1 and being not overly impressed.
This film certainly had the edge.
A couple of private investigators, one man, one woman, are on the search for a missing youth.
They end up in a derelict house and, you guessed it, find a room with lots of flickering TV sets and a pile of video tapes.
No "dead" body slumped in an armchair this time, but the errant youth is identified on a laptop in this room.
The man disappears upstairs leaving his colleagu to start watching some of the films.
We then descend in to some really quite horrific sequences, with some considerable gore and threat.
Some funny bits as well. The zombies in particular.
And an alien visitation too.
Oh, and a weird, weird film featuring a far eastern cult which ends predictably in death for pretty much everyone.
The snot scene at the end that befalls the last surviving member of the film crew is memorable while a devil creature looms above him.
All in all, very good.
The ending unexpectedly so....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A better sequel....., 8 Nov. 2013
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
n a case of 'if it ain't broke....' the makers have gone for another missing person case, where the PI's sift through various disturbing tapes...

The first story is the best, a man gets a computerised eye, but he sees more than he should. This really sets the bar for the rest of the film. It's full of jump scares, and the fact that its from his point of view, makes it all the more tense. It's the same shock tactics they use in all the Paranormal Conjuring movies, but because the story is so short, it doesn't have the quiet moments that hinder those movies.

The second story is about a guy who has a camera strapped to his head, gets bit by a 'zombie' and then we see him from his POV turn, and then we follow his every move. It's refreshing to have slow zombies back, and it's pretty bittersweet too.

The third story is pretty random, about some sort of spa, where people are brainwashed and they slaughter expectant mothers. It's not scary, but the violence shown here is pretty shocking and quite authentic, but then the big goat man ruins it all. Still pretty bizarre to be boring.

The final story slows the film down and is the weakest of the lot. Here we have doggy cam during an alien abduction. It's loud, messy, and really difficult to watch, as the camera is shaking all the time. If you are an animal lover, Take heed.

All in all, it's a welcome entry into the anthology sub genre. The first two stories, brilliant. The third, bonkers, but okay, the fourth, just too irritating.

The finale to the wrap around story, has a nice ending too.

Looking forward to the third movie..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Of Everything, 3 Nov. 2013
This review is from: V/h/s 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first VHS movie ,and this sequel is better in every way ,it has better stories ,better FX ,and loads more gore/ which is done very well indeed ,and the anthology wraparound segments are great too

A MUST SEE FOR HORROR ANTHOLOGY MOVIE FANS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

V/h/s 2 [DVD]
V/h/s 2 [DVD] by Gregg Hale (DVD - 2013)
£2.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews