Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutally honest, but uplifting
I don't normally read drug memoir essays. I'm tired of long, arrogant ruminations by people who've wrecked their lives and believe that in the process they have learned some deep truth about how existence really is this pointless wasteland (does it ever occur to them that if you destroy anything, it tends to look pointless and wasted afterwards?) and those of us who...
Published 19 months ago by E. M. Tippetts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Short Read.
Not a bad read. The way the story is structured is somewhat all over the place and the story jumps around but its not a bad read. Took me a couple of hours to finish. Not inspired to read any more of the authors work but it was ok.
Published 5 months ago by checkers340


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutally honest, but uplifting, 26 Dec 2012
By 
E. M. Tippetts (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't normally read drug memoir essays. I'm tired of long, arrogant ruminations by people who've wrecked their lives and believe that in the process they have learned some deep truth about how existence really is this pointless wasteland (does it ever occur to them that if you destroy anything, it tends to look pointless and wasted afterwards?) and those of us who haven't dared to live on the edge subsist in a fiction of our own making (really, if I want to see truth, I think not taking hallucinogenics is the way to go, but hey, that's just me.) I'm amused by the idea that a gritty description of the smell, taste, and texture of vomit spewed into a gutter is a great artistic accomplishment.

This essay, however, walks the sword edge of truth between needless glorification of alcoholism and simplistic platitudes about getting clean. Shubaly's drinking didn't wreck his life in the conventional sense. He's one of those people with enough brain power that he can subsist on a cocktail of drugs and alcohol and still get straight A's in school and hold down a job. By the same token, quitting drinking didn't land him in a blissful existence full of love, acceptance, and beauty. Rather, this essay reads like a journey through the proverbial tunnel to the light at the end, except the light isn't the kind that warms you up and makes the world look glorious (he tells the reader what drug to take if you want to see that one), but rather the kind that illuminates life as it is, with all its shabbiness and drudgery, its disappointments, hard choices and all around frustrations. Most important, it faces head on the fact that once you give up one obsession, life will still ask you, "So what now?" and while the answers might come more automatically with practice, they will never get easier.

I am glad Mishka's back and willing to tell the tale of where he's been. He and I were middle school classmates, people who could probably recognize each other on sight (if we're looking), pronounce each others last names (Shubaly has the stress on the second syllable, if I remember correctly), and have on rare occasions said something to the other, and on even rarer occasions said something that requires more than a smirk, chuckle, or sarcastic thumbs up in response. For years we've been connected on Facebook, but only recently have I seen him tearing up the virtual hallways with his crazy sense of humor and posting the odd (in all senses of the word) comment on someone's wall. There are a lot of things I was happy to leave behind in middle school, but I'm glad my association with Mishka wasn't one of them. Life isn't always pretty, but it's the people we share it with and who pace us on the long run that make the journey worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, very honest., 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice read, felt the author was very honest, it flowed well and gave a very interesting view. I would read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant memoir, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mishka Shubaly is an extremely talented writer and there are some fantastic phrases and descriptions in this book. I actually bought it as I am a keen runner who has dabbled with a few ultas. But this is not a running book it is much more. Saying that the last chapters are fantastic.

This is an extremely honest book. It is quite brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars addicted to running, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Liked the book. Mainly about his life before running, alcohol and drugs then finds running makes him feel better and replaces the drugs. Nice ending. No real insight I to the person but shows what people can do and that it is possible to turn a life around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Honest and Thought Provoking, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real journey out of a drunken and drug fuelled darkness and into sober ultra running. Quite profound in that Mishka doesn't contend he is now happy and fulfilled, just less unhappy than before. Accepts his human weaknesses and embraces the consolations of his new passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simplicity and honesty, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A straight forward account of one mans journey of self discovery. The running is the antecedent to alcohol ...or is it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Short Read., 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a bad read. The way the story is structured is somewhat all over the place and the story jumps around but its not a bad read. Took me a couple of hours to finish. Not inspired to read any more of the authors work but it was ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An easy afternoon read. I enjoyed the book as I could relate to the running aspects, having started running myself in my late forties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable but way too short, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I felt like I could connect with the story being told and was really enjoying the read, and then it ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Myself and my wife both read the book and found it interesting regarding the drug addiction and how the characters life changes through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews