Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PSBs revisit their disco roots with attitude
In which we find the boys making their most musically consistent album for quite a while. Not that Yes and Elysium were bad (brilliant uptempo and downtempo bedmates, in my view), but Electric delivers what it promises in the title - upfront electronic dance music. If this album has antecedents, it is Disco vol. 1 or Relentless, not Very, Please or Actually. It is...
Published 10 months ago by Kraftwerker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars new album
The great new album from the pet shop boys. Probably the best way to get the latest hits from this legendary duo. Is it the best album they've ever done? Personally, I'm not so sure. Worth the money? Always worth the money in my view. Enjoy!
Published 13 months ago by thincontroller


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PSBs revisit their disco roots with attitude, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
In which we find the boys making their most musically consistent album for quite a while. Not that Yes and Elysium were bad (brilliant uptempo and downtempo bedmates, in my view), but Electric delivers what it promises in the title - upfront electronic dance music. If this album has antecedents, it is Disco vol. 1 or Relentless, not Very, Please or Actually. It is full-on and bears homage to 1980s hi-NRG in particular. Opener Axis, for example, deliberately quotes a spacey electronic burn at the one minute mark that crops up in the intro to Patrick Cowley's mighty Menergy, a hi-NRG stomper featuring gay disco diva Sylvester. In fact, the whole song is an update of Menergy. Closing track Vocal recalls the fantastic Trouser Enthusiasts remixes done for the boys in the Bilingual era. In between all this we get some great electronic textures on Fluorescent (a little echo of Fade To Grey in there, methinks) and Inside a Dream, witty Tennant lyrics on Bolshy and Love Is A Bourgeois Concept (who else would try and work "schadenfreud" into a single's lyrics?), the potentially throwaway b-side-sounding Shouting In The Evening, which in producer Stuart Price's hands becomes a modern bleep-infested stormer, and which perfectly sets up the following track, the Example collaboration Thursday. Hell, we even get what sounds like the gay mens chorus from Go West popping up on Bourgeois Construct (although they sound a bit worse for wear, admittedly). Having admired PSBs as a singles band for many years, bemoaning the fact that their best tracks often seemed to be released as single b-sides (In The Night, Do I Have To?, Sexy Northerner, Always, Your Funny Uncle, It Must Be Obvious ... the list goes on), and that their albums often had big hits mixed in with at times thin filler, this album IS a triumph of programming and worthy of the critics' plaudits. A bit short at 49 mins but thats my only criticism. oh, and the Springsteen cover should have been reworked as a single - splendid stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely outstanding, 16 July 2013
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
No downtempo tracks on this album; it's full on electronic dance from beginning to end. This has a very electronic vibe with some truely out there sounds.

Listen to Fluorescent for a good example of how well crafted the electronica is on this album.

Listen to Bolshy to make you smile and dance (even has its own acid house breakdown in the middle).

Truely outstanding album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pet Shop Boys put Their Dancing Shoes Back on, 25 Sep 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
This is largely very hi-energy pop music, with the focus a bit more on Christ Lowe's synth and electronic wizardry, rather than Neil Tennant's soothing vocals. Bolshy is classic, uplifting and catchy PSB, the sort of track which would be right at home on their old album Introspective - brilliant. Love Is A Bourgeois Construct is very Soft Cell, the thumping synth bass is like a Dave Ball riff, and the semi-spoken lyrics are very Marc Almond. Inside A Dream has beautiful, lush synth chords, and an extremely funky bass beat, it's another song which would make comfortable bedfellows with the songs on Introspective. Shouting In The Evening is frenetic, I think that Chris may have popped one too many Pro Plus pills when he was composing it, but it's still great. Thursday is the best known song here but, actually, it's no better than the other tracks, it's just a little bit more instantly accessible. The album closes with Vocal, yet another song harking back to the addictive melodies of Introspective. There are nine tunes here, and not one is a dud or filler track. I fell in love with the music of PSB back in the late 80's, during my University days, when Introspective rarely left my CD multi-player. I never imagined back then, that 25 years later on, Neil and Christ would still be making wonderful music, that could hold its own with an album as good as Introspective. My cap is duly doffed to the Boys, because that's exactly what they've achieved here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electric listening, 15 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
Pet Shop Boys are back with a vengeance, a full on album of electronica, dance and heavy bass this is an album to make you want to move. Bolshy and Love Is a Borgeous Construct are the biggest throwbacks to their 80s heyday, both catchy synth heavy numbers that will infect your brain and make you want to sing along. A more different note is the opener Axis and Shouting In The Evening, which are very bass heavy electronica tracks, with the latter veering on dubstep. There's also some rap in the form of Thursday from chart botherer Example, but to his credit he works well in the song. Album closer Vocal makes a wry summary of the album, pointing out that their are no instrumental or extended tracks, they're all solid 5 minute or less club tracks.

A very modern yet familiar sounding album, this proves that the PSB are still a force to be reckoned with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply...banging, 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
Well, what can I say? This has been decades coming!! Listen to Fluorescent on repeat and the infectious high hat hits you like a bullet. Awesome!! Shouting in the Evening is rave music pumped up and is euphoric. Inside a dream delights with its harmonies, contagious thumping and that mad man saying something electronically!!
I adore this treat. Been a fan for years but this does it for me. I just wish this had the recognition in club land which it so deserves and is aimed at. There are some weak tracks, notably Thursday and The Last to Die but forgiving this, I am in heaven!!!!! 5 stars, well deserved and let's get bangin!!! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boys are back in town, 14 July 2013
By 
SpecialOrder937 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Electric (MP3 Download)
While last year's "Elysium" was downtempo, world-weary and a bit of a revisiting of well-trodden PSB territory, "Electric" - produced by dance wunderkind Stuart Price - is that album's antithesis: it's uptempo, energetic and fresh-sounding.

1. "Axis"
The opener to the album is really a statement of intent, without the usual verse/chorus structure we've come to expect from the Boys, and in fact featuring hardly any vocals at all. The message is clear: this is no ordinary PSB studio album. It's a great - if slightly overlong - start.

2. "Bolshy"
Interlaced with lines spoken in Russian (probably an allusion to the derivation of the word "bolshy"), we get to hear Neil Tennant singing for the first time on the album. Halfway through there's a dream of a breakdown that features the kind of cowbells, handclaps and orchestral hits that might have come straight from the Phil Harding remix of "Always On My Mind" circa 1987. A brilliantly catchy track.

3. "Love Is A Bourgeois Construct"
This track is backdropped against a Purcell melody that'll be instantly recognisable to virtually everyone (Michael Nyman also used this melody in his soundtrack to The Draughtsman's Contract). Like most PSB songs based on classical compositions, it doesn't quite work, but it's still highly enjoyable nonetheless.

4. "Fluorescent"
With a sample of what sounds like someone grunting for a snare drum and banks of wibbling synthesisers that constantly threaten to wibble off key, "Fluorescent" is gloriously sleazy-sounding. Tennant sings about a person's beauty and fame, and how both are destined - just like a fluorescent light bulb - not to last forever. Along the way he manages to rhyme "mark" with "oligarch".

5. "Inside A Dream"
The previous track's less sleazy sibling, "Inside A Dream" is a sublime track with a spritely bassline and a percussion sound that might have been lifted straight from Mel & Kim's "Showing Out". There's something indefinably wonderful - dreamy, even - about this song.

6. "The Last To Die"
The only track on the album not written by Tennant and Lowe, this is probably the strongest song on the album, and a testament to Bruce Springsteen's songwriting skills. It somehow manages to be both euphoric and heartbreaking at the same time, and is reminiscent of "Human" by The Killers (also produced by Stuart Price).

7. "Shouting In The Evening"
This track is light on vocals, and is really just based around a single synth riff - but what a riff! Hi-energy, pounding, infectious: that riff would get any club going. My only complaint is that the track goes out with a whimper rather than the bang it deserves.

8. "Thursday"
"Thursday" has the same kind of bassline and synth pads as the Boys' first ever hit "West End Girls" 28(!) years ago. "I wanna know you're gonna stay for the weekend," sings Tennant, followed by Chris Lowe listing the days of the week from Thursday to Sunday. Then up pops Example, whose rapping/singing style suits the song to a T.

9. "Vocal"
The first "proper" single from the album, "Vocal" is an ode to nightclubbing that, suitably enough, is in the generic style of a clubbing track. The melody - or the vocal - lifts it above the average club fodder though, and, as ever, Tennant's voice sounds so right laid on top of an electro dance track.

This is the best Pet Shop Boys album since 1993's "Very", and the most exciting since 1988's "Introspective". You have to wonder whether it's been made possible by the Boys' departure from Parlophone, a label who'd possibly been demanding "Radio 2-friendliness" ever since the Boys' records were dropped from Radio 1's playlists (if so, those same record company execs will be flagellating themselves with their own rulebooks when they hear this album). Or maybe the Boys are just overly fond of coming up with lush, middle-of-the-road ballads.

Either way, it's the energetic tracks that made the Pet Shop Boys' name. I'll never forget the first time I heard the over-the-top thunderousness of "It's A Sin", nor the first time I heard an old Elvis ballad transformed into a joyous show-stopper. "Electric" has the same kind of feel to it, and I can imagine it becoming the soundtrack to summer 2013 for many people. It's been a long time coming, but the Pet Shop Boys are back on top form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electrifying, 29 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
Definitely the strongest thing they've produced in years. I slightly dreaded this release as I'm certainly not what you would call a "dance music" fan. I've always been drawn to Pet Shop Boys by their melodic gifts, interesting lyrics and arrangements but this, their most dance floor orientated release perhaps ever, also happily includes some of the most fresh and interesting songs of their career. Elysium had some moments but it's lows (looking at you "Winner") were enough to bring it down considerably in my estimation. A year since acquiring it I'm still keeping this album in my all time PSB top 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PSB and Stuart Price together, their best since "Very", 16 July 2013
By 
J. Lia (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
Although it's silly to call "Electric" Pet Shop Boys comeback record considering their latest the ill-fated "Elyssium" came out only a year ago but, as such, "Electric" sounds and feels like the record's a band has waited decades to make for re-launching their career.
"Electric" is PSB most relevant and best record since at least "Very" and to some extent even further back.

Produced by Stuart Price who surely helped re-inventing their classic synths sounds of the 80s, it's clear as the almost intrumental stomping hi-nrg anthem that is "Axis" kicks off that Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe were set on fire while making this record, forgetting about the cultural-clash of ageing popstars that pushed them to make vacual records for the past ten years at least and returning to the harder/harsher/cheesier original template they are known for.
Because after all no-one does hi-nrg dance-pop divaesque anthems as they do.

So if "Axis" sets the scene, with his epic but never cheesy synth-line and Stuart Price signature rolling dance production, so well exemplified on Madonna's last great album "Confessions On The Dancefloor", while Tennant whispers in you ears 'Turn It Up' and go... bang, "Axis" sounds somewhere between Italo-Disco/Acid House and Hard-House... in other words: a banger.

Things get camp on the excellent "Bolshy", a track that sees the duo laying a chorus as catchy as classics "It's A Sin" or "West End Girls" flipping over and they return to the politically charged but hugely catchy "Love Is A Bourgeois Construct" featuring some of the finest lyrics since classic 80s PSB. The latest as anthemic as "Go West".
In fact "Electric" is a winner by being short and almost fillers free, they manage to turn the usually hideous Example interesting on the radio-friendly "Thursday".

"Electric" is, in one word, essential. As they proved on recent live shows (including headlining appearance at Sonar) Pet Shop Boys remain on the most striking 80s pop entity and four decades in as unique as the day "West End Girls" first graced the airwaves. They might end up picking up some new fans along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyed This Album, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (MP3 Download)
After recently going to see the Pet Shop Boys, at the LG Arena Birmingham, I bought this album after hearing live, it was an amazing concert, I have always liked whatever they have done, I had pre- viewed this album before I went and I was not really sure about it, but now I can say that I would recommend to you and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boys are back, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
After the disapointing Elysium the Boys are back doing what they do best and that is stompping good electric beats. Although like all good albums should be, that's to say full of different tones and hues, this has guts and delivers an impact.
Welcome back lads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Electric
Electric by Pet Shop Boys
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews