Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Ferry at his very best
The Live in Lyon DVD is quite simply superb. A wonderfully eclectic set list covering all parts of Ferry's career (from early Roxy "If there is Something" through to Olympia's "Reason or Rhyme" - two of the highlights), the band and Ferry himself on absolutely top form, and done full justice here by an excellent recording and visuals. Brought back happy memories of the...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. S. Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!
I was very disappointed with the audio quality of the show.
The SACD Boys and Girls has a much better audio.
But, the picture is good.
Published 3 months ago by Aguinaldo Lm Engrel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Ferry at his very best, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. S. Harris (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Live in Lyon DVD is quite simply superb. A wonderfully eclectic set list covering all parts of Ferry's career (from early Roxy "If there is Something" through to Olympia's "Reason or Rhyme" - two of the highlights), the band and Ferry himself on absolutely top form, and done full justice here by an excellent recording and visuals. Brought back happy memories of the Kew Gardens show which I attended on this tour (though this show if anything is even better I think). I can't recommend it highly enough to Ferry/Roxy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just olympic!, 21 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Live In Lyon [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This concert has been showing on Sky Arts for some months and is fantastic. Great backing artistes and watch for the dancers. Always a fan of Roxy Music i had forgotten Bryan also had a solo career. This has brought me back to rediscover his catalogue. Put this on the biggest screen and best audio you can find and chill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing concert from a pretty amazing artist! =), 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of Bryan Ferry - more his solo work than Roxy Music (though I like them too). I already own Roxy Music's 'Live at the Apollo' and Bryan Ferry's 88/89 'Bete Noire' tour DVD - both of which are excellent. Saw Mr Ferry at Kew Gardens during his Oylmpia tour of 2011 so was keen to buy this DVD. It doesn't disappoint - there's something for all tastes - lots of material from both his solo career and Roxy Music days. The musicians (as with Kew), are all very talented (Jorja Chalmers on Sax and Oliver Thompson/Neil Hubbard on guitar being particularly good). The visuals and overall look of the show is great - helped by a stunning location! All-in-all, an excellent show which showcases Bryan Ferry as an excellent performer and song-writer ('Reason or Rhyme' from Oylmpia, Slave to Love, Don't Stop the Dance and My Only Love being personal favourites and ones all featured in the Lyon set. Highly recommend buying!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enjoyed., 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Lyon [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Saw this Concert on Sky Arts and recorded it, kept looking for the DVD and found out it was coming out shortly on the Brian Ferry Facebook page, the Concert on Sky had not got all the tracks on as the DVD, but I could not stop watching it, as I am going to see him in November I just had to buy it and Oylimpia his latest album , he plays quite a few tracks off this album, would recommend it in blue ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best concert blu ray's ever, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Lyon [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
so far the roxy/ferry fan had nothing to watch and enjoy on blu ray. well this waiting has ended and has been rewarded with a must have blu ray.
just everything is 5 star with this realese : picture, audio and to top it , the concert. a marvellous mix of roxy classics, covers and solo songs.

this is a blu ray to watch over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD!, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say? If you love Bryan Ferry you will love this! He just gets better, like a good wine he improves with age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The master of cool, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent a great performance from the man who can still perform to a standard of the highest quality,a true legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. N. Sharp (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The whole production is a joy to watch and listen too. Oliver Thompson's guitar playing is outstanding!

Only disappointment is that the whole concert is not replicated on the audio CD; otherwise 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Ferry Live in Lyon, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent dvd. every one should have this, I have watched it over and over again, I don't think I will ever tire of this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great live concert, and musicianship, 9 Oct 2013
By 
J. Fowler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great concert, well recorded and the video isn't trying to be over clever but helps you feel that you are really there. It's not a one man band but an ensemble of great musicians who all contribute to a quality DVD. Also, the set list is a mix of songs from the Roxy years to his latest (at the time of this concert) Olympia album.
If you can, watch it all the way through in one session as the dynamics of the concert build perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8d1fa5c)

This product

Live In Lyon [Blu-ray] [2013]
Live In Lyon [Blu-ray] [2013] by Bryan Ferry (Blu-ray - 2013)
15.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews