Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Insightful, Packed with Detail
Just received this from Amazon. This is a very detailed look into the making of this great movie. I think it would be fair to split a review of this book into two parts; the first concentrating on the contents, the second about its presentation...

The content is simply superb. It offers a wonderfully detailed accounts of the pre-production, production and...
Published on 15 Oct 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Force is not that strong with this one
Like its predecessor on STAR WARS (aka A NEW HOPE), J.W. Rinzler's work excels in the successful attempt to take the interested reader back in time to an era where filmmaking was a colossal undertaking, requiring craftsmanship and not just a couple of green screens; when filmmaking was a form of art like conducting an orchestra to produce incredible results through...
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by Frank Bitterhof


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Insightful, Packed with Detail, 15 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just received this from Amazon. This is a very detailed look into the making of this great movie. I think it would be fair to split a review of this book into two parts; the first concentrating on the contents, the second about its presentation...

The content is simply superb. It offers a wonderfully detailed accounts of the pre-production, production and post-production phases, interspersed with the development of major parts of the script. Having seen the film many many times (yes, I am a bit of a fan), I was amazed to see how much of the original ideas changed into the dialogue we know and love. I'll not spoil anything by giving away the details, but there were several revisions of the script, and many of the familiar characters changed along the way. The book provides the details of all of this concept work, through to the design of droids, ships, creatures, costumes, props, landscapes and indoor environments - everything is described in exquisite detail. Indeed, the book provides a great insight into how concepts are developed - useful for animators, film-makers and game developers anywhere. The original concepts by Ralph McQuarrie (RIP) are simply wonderful, but sometimes surprisingly miles away from the on-screen results. But the book isn't just a collection of excerpts and pictures; these elements are bound together by the story of the making of the film. This is THE detailed account of just how ESB was made, and it's just excellent.

The technical details of designing and shooting the film are also given, with production and shooting schedules, as well as hundreds of photographs backing this up showing the actors and production crew at work. For me, this is probably the most interesting part of the book - seeing all the familar actors interacting with each other on-set but off-screen, which is something I've never seen before. Post-production provides, again, hundreds of photos, detailing the intricacies of model making and special effects.

The presentation is lavish. The photographs are very clean, the copies of the script excerpts, schedules, memos, concepts and model designs are very clear and arranged very well. The textual content is presented in such a way as to fit in as much as possible without it being cramped or unreadable - and there is a lot of content to squeeze in. This book, and it's design, like the film itself, is a product of love. It is a quality product - the paper quality, the reproduction, the hard-cover and the bindings are simply excellent. This would make a fine gift for anyone with even a passing interest in any of the Star Wars films.

I have read some reports claiming some of the material can be seen in other publications. I don't know if this is true, but even if it is, there is so much material here and it is all presented in a way that is simply a pleasure to see. This is a great example of how this type of book should be designed and produced. Buy this. You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Force Is Stong With This One, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Hardback Edition.
372 pages.

Review.
This is one of the most in-depth books I've read that deals with the making of The Empire Stikes Back.

Written by J.W.Rinzler who had huge access to the Lucasfilm archives & had full cooperation from George Lucas & the late Irwin Kershner this hardback book delivers the definitive story of all you need to know about the sequel to one of the biggest movies in film history.

The attention to detail of the facts in this hardback book are quite a phenomenal achievement yet Rinzler amazingly pulls it off as the book covers everything from casting, Models, Yoda, Musical score, Costume design, Visual effects & much more as the author takes us through the pre-production process to the actual production on the movie itself to final post production & the movies eventual release in 1980.

This book covers the whole production & showcases some great concept art, Never before seen photos, Production notes, Design sketches, Interviews with the cast & crew whom share many enjoyable anecdotes.

This is a highly recommended read & an essential purchase for Star Wars fans who no doubt would like to read about the making of one of the most anticipated sequels of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, interesting. Definitive, 30 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Filled with rare and previously unseen photographs, production notes and interviews of the cast and crew this book represents the ultimate inside view of the film most Star Wars fans believe to be the best of the series.
Even if you are a long-time fan there's plenty in this book of interest and people who read the original "Once upon a galaxy" back in the day can rest assured this isn't just a reprint.
If you are a fan of the films, this is one of the better books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift for every hardcore and casual Star Wars fan, 28 Oct 2010
Hi guys,

what can I say? This book is a dream of every hardcore and casual Star Wars fan. I can't wait until the third one comes out. (Making of Return of the Jedi). Probably we should wait 3 years again and it will be released for the 30th anniversary of the film. I would like to see similar making ofs from the prequel trilogy as well. I know there are books out there but not this kind of book for the prequel trilogy. All I can say is: Don't hesitate, buy it! If you hesitate buying it I can quote the best line of Darth Vader: I FIND YOUR LACK OF FAITH DISTURBING!!!!!! Lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb entry in the series, 19 April 2014
By 
Mark West (Kettering, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read Rinzler’s excellent “The Making of Return Of The Jedi” earlier this year, I decided I wanted to go back into the wonderfully informative environment he created and asked for this for my birthday. Luckily for me, since I’m so difficult to buy for (apparently), it was gratefully bought.
Using mainly contemporary interviews (from late 1977 through to 1980), with a few conducted in the 90s and 00s, this covers the whole of the production from the opening of “Star Wars” (which took everyone by complete surprise) to the opening of “Empire Strikes Back” and touches on pretty much every aspect of the production in between. As with the Jedi book, the research is thorough and extensive, which even extends to captioning pictures and identifying people way in the background. The success of “Star Wars” does help the cause a bit here, since “Empire” benefited from an accomplished unit publicist in Alan Arnold, who later published “Once Upon A Galaxy: A Journal of the making of The Empire Strikes Back”, which I read a couple of years ago. A thick paperback, it was the official making of (there was also a magazine too) and Rinzler quotes from it extensively, whilst also drawing on other interviews Mr Arnold made at the time but which have previously been unpublished. At first I thought this overlap of information might be too repetitive but it isn’t at all, with the longest lift (where Irvin Kershner was miked up on the Carbon Freezing set) being interspersed with later comments made by the principals concerned.
By the end of 1977, George Lucas was already at work on the sequel and brought in Leigh Brackett to shape the screenplay. The script conference transcripts published here only have his contributions (no explanation is made as to why) but they’re very interesting, with the bare bones of the film clearly already in place in his mind (though he gets as stuck here with Vader living in a castle as he did the Empire planet during the Jedi conferences). As it was, Brackett died before she could work on the second draft and virtually none of what she wrote was used, though Lucas ensured she retained a screen credit. Instead, Lawrence Kasdan was drafted in - he’d just written the “Raiders Of The Lost Ark” script - and his approach is clearly like a breath of fresh air, as he questions ideas and motives and suggests (on occasion and usually unsuccessfully) that Lucas might not be right.
Adamant that he wouldn’t direct, Lucas suggested his old USC film tutor Irvin Kershner for the role with the latter agreeing after several conversations (I imagine the fact that his son was ten-years-old also played a part). Kersh, as he’s affectionately called by everyone, was clearly a different director, keen to take his time on composition and although Lucas had concerns about producer Gary Kurtz’s ability to rein him in, he chose not to air them - a decision he would later come to regret.
As well as the pre-production of the film, the book also follows the formation of several Lucasfilm entities, including Black Falcon (the licensing arm, which I only discovered the existence of in the Jedi book), how the various divisions were structured and the plans for Skywalker ranch. Having read “Skywalking” (which is not listed in the bibliography at the back of this), I love that whole late seventies period, as the company sets up and operates out of The Egg Company in LA and ILM hides in plain sight as The Kerner Company in San Anselmo and Rinzler is thorough in his exploration of this period. It’s also interesting to see how the merchandising helped the entire operation, with Black Falcon lending money to both Lucasfilm and ILM to get things moving. Best of all though is the information about the ranch - the plans, the daytrips, the fourth of July picnics - and Rinzler paints a wonderful picture of the era, the atmosphere remembered fondly by all those involved in it, a tight and small close-knit group that felt like a family. But even as the production wore on and the dealings with the banks got more intense and Lucas was pushed into an executive role with his companies (Lucasfilm funded the whole project), things were changing. Lucy Wilson - Kurtz’s assistant and one of the original employees - comments that where once she and Lucas could say hi and chat, she soon had to book appointments to see him. As it is, this seems as troubling to Lucas as anyone else.
Production began with the main unit at Finse in Norway and it seems to have been a disaster from the beginning. Weather delayed shooting, Kershner took his time and things got away from Kurtz, leading to his eventual estrangement from the Lucasfilm group, with Howard Kazanjian (who would go on to produce Jedi) getting more involved.
Things were more settled at Elstree Studios in London, though Kershner, working with his DoP Peter Suschitzky to produce the best work possible, played havoc with Lucas’ plans. As his pace upset the schedule and pushed the film over budget, issues with cashflow and the banks kicked in, adding further to the stresses that Lucas was trying to hide from his director.
Rinzler covers every aspect of the production in equal detail (I loved the discovery that the filming was juggled to fit the sets - since the Falcon was built full-size, it pretty much stayed where it was and new sets were built aruond it) and doesn’t shy away from some of the more candid conversations. Lucas was a large presence on set (but not to the extent that he would be on “Jedi”) and although he takes every opportunity to point out he’s not the director (he didn’t do any of the publicity tours), the very thought of it clearly annoys Kershner, who bristles with journalists who suggest it. For his part, Kershner comes across well, imbuing the material with depth and emotion and working hard with his cast and crew to make things are good as they possibly can be. Working in the moment, having already planned thoroughly, he liked to leave enough room for conversations and discussions with his actors (the Carbon freezing sequence, as mentioned above, shows this brilliantly) that clearly benefit the film. Of the actors, Mark Hamill comes across very well, though he does comment he and Carrie Fisher clashed a few times. In fact, Fisher also clashes with Kershner and Harrison Ford (in the miked-up section) and Billy Dee Williams later tries to be diplomatic, in saying that her mind perhaps wasn’t on the job all the time. In fact, with the production keen to film her scenes and release her, it appears her well-documented foray into addiction was already taking hold. Ford, for his part, comes across as occasionally stroppy but always keen to do a good job.
As production released cast members to move into the Dagobah set and the schedule goes ever further over, you can almost hear the rankling in Lucas’ comments as the pressure being put on him - as the financier - must have been incredible. That’s not helped by the whole Yoda situation and it’s worth noting that whilst the world readily accepted the puppet as a living, breathing character, at the time it was an enormous risk. We watch “Empire” now, we see Yoda everywhere and we take him as read but back in 1978/79, nobody had tried anything like it before. I was surprised to read that Frank Oz only worked on the film for 12 days (he was lent out by Jim Henson’s company as they were gearing up for “The Dark Crystal”) and completely agree with Kershner’s observation that the Dagobah sequences are made by the sincerity of Mark Hamill’s acting.
Another thing I discovered is something I’ve long wondered, that the second and third films can’t have been as much fun for Hamill since Luke was often split up from the other characters. He’s quoted as saying, “It was almost like two separate films were being made. I got nostalgic for the grand old days on the Death Star, when Harrison, Carrie, Chewie and I were all together in the trash compactor.” Hamill ended up working on the film for 103 days.
Production complete, the action moves back to California. ILM was put together again in San Anselmo, moving away from LA and the original building and leaving John Dykstra and several colleagues there. In between designing shots (far more than the original film) and creating new worlds and ships and creatures, the team also had to design and build new equipment and the schedule very quickly becomes constrictive. Everyone keeps their sense of humour though - especially effects supervisor Ken Ralston - and by the end of the period, they’re even changing original shots (the Wampa monster) because they don’t want anything “crappy” popping up in ‘their film’.
Rinzler, as with every other aspect of the production, is exhaustive in his approach to the ILM work, with shots often mapped out by the frame so that they fit into the already fine-edited final cut of the film (which Lucas would add a few shots too, between the initial limited-run 70mm release and the wide 35mm one). Phil Tippett and Jon Berg quite rightly get a lot of attention for their stop-motion work with the AT-AT’s (another risky visual image) and Tauntauns, but it’s clear to see that ILM was a more harmonious place with everyone being given a chance to shine (Lucas later says he was very pleased with the work they did). Hoth seems to have been the hardest work in terms of technical difficulties (not only colour matching snow and hiding matte lines, but also trying to comp stop-motion creatures into it), with a lot of effort put into them - Bruce Nicholson, head of the optical department, shrugs away his successes by saying he used a “Norway filter”.
Towards the end of post-production, Alan Ladd jr left Twentieth Century Fox, which didn’t help Lucas with the studio or the banks since Ladd was their key supporter. Lawrence Kasdan was also caught out, since Fox was going to make his noir-thriller “Body Heat” and once Ladd left, the film was put into turnaround. Ladd set the film up at his new Ladd Company and Lucas was sponsor on the film, with the proviso that if it went over budget, the funds should come from his fee. As Kasdan says, “this was a generous, supportive thing to do”.
Rinzler examines contemporary interviews and one, from Time magazine in 1978, seems particularly pertinent. When asked about his future directing ambitions, Lucas says “I will go back and direct another [“Star Wars”] film, but it will be toward the end of the cycle, about 20 years from now”. The Phantom Menace was released in 1999.
Rinzler also details how perceptive Lucas was with future technology and how it would assist the film-making process, especially with digital images. Sprocket Systems (later renamed Skywalker Sound) had a Computer Research and Development Division set up within it, headed by Ed Catmull, to develop computer aided visual and sounding editing equipment. They also developed the Pixar system, which would later become the Pixar Division and be sold off to Steve Jobs.
The post-production part ends with a section on the matte paintings which Harrison Ellenshaw, Ralph McQuarrie and Michael Pangrazio created. Showing them in progress and often against the final frames, these are gloriously reproduced and a real sight to behold.
As with Jedi, the final part of the book deals with the release and reception of the film, as Lucas’ risky venture proves a hit with the paying public (he made his money back in three months), if not all of the critics (though some would change their tune over the years) though it did win several awards in 1980 (including a special Academy Award for the visual effects). Reading some of the reviews back - again with the benefit of hindsight, knowing that this sequel is generally considered the best film of the trilogy (I prefer “Star Wars”, as it happens) - it’s interesting to see how people’s perceptions changed.
Candid, thorough and superbly researched, this is painstakingly extensive and never less than readable and filled with beautifully reproduced photographs. I thought the Jedi book would be the benchmark but I think Rinzler has excelled himself here.
I’m a huge fan of the original trilogy and Making Of Books and this is pretty much perfect, to the extent that I dragged out the last few pages because I didn’t want it to end. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So pleased, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a birthday present for a friend and he was totally thrilled with it. The book was very well packed with layers of bubble wrap and arrived in 'as new condition' as described by the Seller. Customer service was second to none too with queries answered immediately. Highly recommended Seller who I will happily use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!, 27 July 2013
By 
Eliana S. Annunziato "Enfermeira=Nurse" (São Paulo, São Paulo, BR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book. It is fascinating to discover how a film is made​​. I recommend everyone, fans or not STAR WARS. It is a lesson in how to produce a movie of this size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book that every true Star Wars fan should have in his library, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book describes in detail the whole pre-production process behind the release of Star Wars The Empire Strikes Back.
The quality of the printed photos is amazing, and the book is filled with high quality pictures, and artworks by Ralph McQuarrie an other artists.
Everything in this book is very well explained, and there are quite a lot of curious facts which never stop to amaze.
I really suggest to buy this book, if you want to know what's behing an epic release like Star Wars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 16 Jun 2012
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
If you bought the recently released 'Star Wars: Complete Saga' on Blu-ray, then you may have been disappointed to find that one of the best film documentaries made, Empire of Dreams, was omitted from the list of otherwise poor special features for Disc 9. And whilst the other Bonus Features discs contained a wealth of interesting facts and props photographs, there seemed to be less focus on individual impacts of the films and more of the smaller technicalities.

'The Making of The Empire Strikes Back' provides a solution if you want to know pretty much everything to do with the famous science fantasy sequel. Like 'The Complete Indiana Jones' book from the same publisher, what we have here is a vast resource of information that, day-by-day, recalls the processes involved for the making of this wonderful film. But this isn't just about replicating call sheets and data from hundreds of documents, as it helps to get across to the reader the emotional impact that such a film production can have on each of it's members - many of which will have their names flown by on the ending credits, often missed by the audience.

The quality of the imagery is also outstanding and really let you engage with the source material. Rare photographs, paintings, drawings and letters all add to the complex and incredibly vast universe that helped to create yet another universe. Many of these documents have never seen the light of day on any DVD or home medium before.

Due to it's excruciating depth, this is a piece of work that will please the hardest Star Wars fans out there, and rightly explores a journey that opened philosophies we had never bothered to think of previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure trove for 'Empire' fans, 6 Mar 2012
I got this as a present. An easy choice, I suppose, as I am a self-confessed Star Wars geek and 'Empire' has always been my favourite film from the series.

If the movie is also top of your all-time favourites list, then this book is a must-have. It is a detailed account of the epic process of completing a film, from early concepts through to post-production. If I must nit-pick, the sections about setting up the business side of Lucasfilm and ILM are a little dry. However, the detailed chapters on the shooting of the movie more than make up for this. The director allowed a microphone to record his every conversation when filming a difficult sequence; the transcipt of this, with interactions and conflict with the main actors, make for a fascinating section of the book.

There are also a wealth of background details, anecdotes and funny stories from the set (such as Miss Piggy's guest appearance one day) which mean that this is a book well worth reading through in full, rather than just flicking through the pictures.

However, it has to be said that the layout of the book is superb. There is a huge range of pre-production sketches and story-boards, candid behind-the-scenes photos and beautiful reproductions of Ralph McQuarrie's artwork.

This book deserves a place on the shelf of any self-respecting Star Wars fan. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews