Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blow your mind
This is probably the most exciting,raucous,loud,headbanging,soulripping piece of plastic(?) you will ever lay hands on.Genuinely....there is nothing like this around and unfortunately there may never be again..these guys were a one off.This album is one of the best live offerings around..I know 'cos I was there (at the Hammersmith recordings)and I left with more than my...
Published on 4 Sep 2005 by A. G. Pinn

versus
1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blackfoot - Highway song (live)
Blackfoot play fast and furious on this stage performance recording, much in the Teg Nugent manner, and the end result is that whatever melody there was in the original studio recordings is lost in the general roar, each song sounding the same as the following one, or quite. With that, Rick Medlocke gets out of breath, and skip words trying to keep up with the tempo...
Published on 3 Sep 2003 by Xavier Perret


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blow your mind, 4 Sep 2005
This review is from: Highway Song - Live (Audio CD)
This is probably the most exciting,raucous,loud,headbanging,soulripping piece of plastic(?) you will ever lay hands on.Genuinely....there is nothing like this around and unfortunately there may never be again..these guys were a one off.This album is one of the best live offerings around..I know 'cos I was there (at the Hammersmith recordings)and I left with more than my hearing shot....!!!iF YOU LIKE IT LOUD....BUY !!! and don't forget to TURN IT UP !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rawk and Roll!!!, 7 May 2006
By 
Mr. N. R. Freckleton "nfreck65" (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highway Song - Live (Audio CD)
Easy to see why this album is in the top 10 live albums in "Classic Rock". Simply stunning-out and out southern rock at it's best. Even more amazing, is the fact that it was recorded on a UK tour. Turn the hi-fi up to 11 for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GGGGGood MMMMorning !!!!!!!!, 13 Feb 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highway Song - Live (Audio CD)
With the passing of time and the mellowing of age it,s amazing how quick life can soon pass you by. Having recently decided to update my records to cd,s i looked around for the availability of some of the bands i had seen live in my youth ( late 1970,s / early 1980,s) and for about five years Blackfoot, after seeing them live at Donnington 81 where they blew the place apart, were "THE BAND". This cd was the first i had to have because Blackfoot also happen to be the best live show that i have seen still to this day. Highway song live shows how amazingly powerful the band were with there live performances. The four musicans stood out in their own right. Jackson Spires(RIP) is probably the best live drummer i have ever witnessed. Greg Walker,s bass hits you like a Tyson hook. Dual guitars courtesy of Charlie Hargrett and Ricky Medlocke, SUPERB. Topped off with Ricks vocals, i still say to this day if he did not have a mic you would still have heard him at the back at Donnington in 1981. On the cd you get a sort of pick of the best of songs from the Marauder, Tomcatting and Strikes records with all songs being standout songs for differant reasons. Why the record company had to destroy the soul of this band is beyond me. Buy this cd, lie back, close your eyes and listen to the best live band ever , or if you don,t agree it will surely be in your top five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Nov 2004
This review is from: Highway Song - Live (Audio CD)
This is THE definitive Blackfoot album. From the opening track, gimme gimme gimme, to the closing rendition of 'Howay the lads' this album never lets up. Uplifting, fun, raucous. There is something for everyone here. If you like your rock 'n roll with a bit of a southern twist and a bit of boogie bubble then this is definetley for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play LOUD !!!!!, 12 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Highway Song - Live (Audio CD)
Probably the best slice of live 'Southern Rock' you can buy.....Slide guitar a plenty on all the tracks from the opening gimmie,gimmie,gimmie right through to the end..Including the classic song 'Highway Song'.Turn it up & enjoy!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Hot Too Handle, 28 Jun 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Highway Song - Live (Audio CD)
aah Highway Song - Live,stupid title,should have been called Too Hot To Handle:Live,as thats exactly what this band were,a blistering live performance is contained on this disc and on their day they were one of the best live bands around.

Opening with a scorching one-two with 'Gimme Gimme Gimme & Every Man Should Know Queenie' the two best tracks from TOMCATTIN(1980) this disc instantly grabs you by the throat and doesnt let up,that it also contains the 3 best tracks from STRIKES(1979),'Train Train','Road Fever' and an extended(naturally) version of 'Highway Song' then you know you cant go wrong,throw in the insanely catchy 'Good Morning',rockin 'Dry County' and singalong 'Fly Away'from the then current MARAUDER(1981) album topped up with a couple of excellent cover versions 'Rollin N Tumblin/Trouble In Mind' you have an incendiary live disc.5 stars all the way.

Surely that it only lasts approx 45 mins makes this ripe for a deluxe edition makeover? there must be other live tracks in the can,i hope and pray one day this dream will come to fruition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jacksonvilles best kept secret, 24 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Highway Song - Live (Audio CD)
Saw this lot at Monsters of Rock '81,and on the subsequent UK tour-They were HOT! This album captures them at their absolute best,particularly the first 4 songs-Real energy, passion and Good-ole-boy Southern Pizazz.Loud, Raucous, unashamedly crowd pleasing good time rock n roll,no time for subtlety just steamroller rock blues at a frantic pace, with more than a dash of humour and a slice of macho bravado thrown in.I still don't get "Highway Song"-it IS Freebird lite right down to the "what song is it you wanna hear?"- and some parts of this album do lose the momentum a little, but overall,and for those opening 4 songs,and the really fond memories, I love this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking!!!, 1 Mar 2008
This review is from: Highway Song - Live (Audio CD)
Every so often a live album comes along that makes you glad to be alive. This is one of them. Recorded live in Britain, it's guaranteed to put a smile on your face. Blistering guitars, thumping drums, solid bass and Rick's soaring Southern vocals all combine to put this in the top five greatest ever live albums in my opinion. And, I was there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highway Song Live - Amazing!, 6 Jan 2003
By 
Ian McIntyre (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Highway Song - Live (Audio CD)
Having recently purchased Highway Song Live it takes me back to when I saw Blackfoot at Donnington and on the tour that this album was recorded. If you close your eyes while listening to this album you can almost be back there. This captures Blackfoot at their very best. Right from the start with the intro to Gimme, Gimme, Gimme to the final track of Howay The Lads you cannot help but be carried away by the euphoria of a great band at the height of their career. After this album it was never quite the same so purchase this album to capture a great moment in rock history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What its all about ....., 30 May 2007
This review is from: Highway Song - Live (Audio CD)
Back in the old days people tended to drink p*ss warm beer from plastic cups rather than watch the support band, especially if they had never heard of them. Because we had front row seats we decided to give it a go so we sat down and waited for this Blackfoot band to come onstage. 45 mins later the place was rockin' the bar was empty and the Scorpions wished their management had never put this band on as their warm up act. Sometimes albums don't capture what the band is all about (Def Leppard's 1st album being a prime example - disapointing is an understatement), but this album is a perfect bona fide in yer face capture of what went on that night and many nights afterwards. Second only to 'If you want blood' by AC/DC IMO, this album is what its all about. Proper Rock n'fun with no holds barred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Highway Song Live
Highway Song Live by Blackfoot (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews