Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars98
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2014
When I first took had a look at the blurb of this film I thought I would be slightly put off by the subject matter, due to it being so upsetting and close to home.

Following a young woman who is dying from cancer, we follow her journey as she tries to complete her 'bucket list'. Most of the stuff she wants to achieve are typical teenage things. It shows how fragile life is.

Beautifully told and acted, it really will be heart wrenching to watch but makes you question everything about life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
The story of a 17 year old girl dying of leukemia is incredibly heartbreaking but it's also a magical film. The cast all give wonderful performances & I felt able to connect with each one. Much of the film focuses around Tessa & her relationship with neighbour Adam, which is beautifully done. It's a very touching film - one that has me in floods of tears by the end but one I always come back to. It's a bit of a gem & highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Mt stepdaughter read the book and has now watched the DVD 3 times. She says it's a very good interpretation of the book, only a couple of times does it 'skip a bit'. The actors and actresses played the parts very well and made the whole thing come to life for her. She says to recommend it to anyone for a true to life happy and sad love of love and love of life story. You don't have to read the book to get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
This is a great film, and I encourage everyone to buy a copy and watch it. You do not need to read the book to find it interesting. It is a sad, emotional and sometimes funny portrayal of what a young teenager would realistically be feeling when going through terminal illness, i.e, cancer. Dakota Fanning plays Tessa very well, and the end scene will have you in tears. Worth the money, very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
was a recommendation from a friend and was ok for a sunday aft that is all really was very cheap
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I walked away from this film feeling more love and life in me that I knew I had.
I cried my eyes out, and drooled over the (Abercrombie & Fitch-model-type) boyfriend, played by british hottie Jeremy Irvine.

It's the opposite to so many teen films these days: 'Ohh I'm depressed, I need a vampire to save me'
Tessa becomes her own hero, and I love that!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
This film is honest and it breaks your heart to see how a whole family is effected when someone is terminally ill. You know that it's never going to be a light - hearted chick flick but this really opened my eyes as to what people go though. Despite being such a serious topic - it is filled with wonderful moments and is definitely worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
What a beautiful film,excellent acting all round,cant belive how dakota fanning has come so far what a superb actress she is... A very touching film it makes you think,we are all so vunerable to illness,whoever we may be... would recomend this film to all,watched it again very touching and once again superb all round acting,a must see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
I loved the film when I saw it at the cinema and pre ordered it. However when it arrived I was actually a bit disappointed as it didn't seem to be as good second time round and seemed a little chop and change. However the story is beautiful, heart wrenching and very moving and the acting is brilliant. The UV was a nice addition too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tessa Scott is a normal 17-year old girl living in the South of England in the coastal town of Brighton. Her slightly older pal - the gorgeous and effortlessly sexy Zoey has no problems with 'doing' her boyfriend Scott - she's just not so good at keeping what his young loins have deposited (nicely played by Kaya Scoldelario). Tessa hasn't been so naughty yet but she wants to be. She wants to have sex, swill beer, pop a few pills, hit a racist, ride a wave in Hawaii, ski down a mountain and on a boring weekday maybe even engage in a bit of shoplifting in the mall (breaking the law). The only problem with Tessa's 'bucket list' of moments is that she's running out of time because she has acute lymphoblastic leukemia. Worse Tessa couldn't stand the chemotherapy for such an aggressive cancer and has chosen to opt out - so now she desperately wants to fulfil her list ("as much as I can...as fast as I can...").

Her father and mother (a superlative combination of Paddy Considine and Olivia Williams) are separated and poles apart. Uber-responsible loving Dad cares too much - suffocating Tessa (Dakota Fanning) with his need to control every part of her life in a bid to protect her from pain - while flighty Mum can't even seem to turn up on time for a crucial hospital appointment. Her 9-year old younger brother Cal worries too in his own soppy way (a delightful Edgar Canham) "are you gonna haunt me..." But then hope arrives in the shape of a handsome and genuine English lad who literally moves in next door with his mum (Jeremy Irvine generously giving the screen and movie to Fanning). Adam's father has died the year earlier and Tessa and Adam's initial meets are awkward and even reluctant (occasionally funny) but then the two slowly move towards each other despite their pasts and her lack of a future. And on it goes. This is a girl wanting love and finding it - wanting to matter - and realizing that she actually does...

Written and Directed by Ol Parker (adapted from Jenny Downham's book "Before I Die") - "Now Is Good" is a bit of a weepy for sure - but what makes it life-affirming and special are the beautifully realized performances by all of its lead actors (especially the phenomenal Dakota Fanning who never once lets that American accent slip and maintains a perfectly judged calmness throughout) and the depth in the script. As you can imagine material like this could be mawkish if handled badly - but "Now Is Good" never feels manipulative. The sentimentality is kept in check by candid and at times brutal exchanges between Tessa and her father and the new visiting home nurse Phillippa (superb work by Rayke Ayola).

"Now Is Good" is also that rare thing - tender and observant - full of great moments - seeing a daughter and mum at the front door of their home connect ("don't be afraid..."), sitting on a bench in the sunshine overlooking the White Cliffs of Dover, holding her first proper boyfriend on the bus home, fireworks at night in the garden with family, cooking breakfast for Dad ("who are you and what have you done with my daughter..."), Adam carving a snow angel in the ground, horses running free beside a set of iron railings in a park as they glide by on a motorbike, Nurse Phillippa humanely describing to Tessa how the end will come... Special mention should also go to the exceptional music by Dustin O'Halloran that fills so many scenes with emotion - fun and flighty one minute - aching and broken the next - an amazing piece of work.

A BLU RAY of "Now Is Good" appears NOT to be available in the UK or USA. My copy is a German issue that I purchased on the GERMAN AMAZON SITE (use Barcode Number 887654313492 in their Search Bar). For some reason this reasonably priced version is not for sale on Amazon UK? When you do get your copy - as the movie starts - you will need to go to the Audio button on your remote and actually seek out the English 5.1 DTS-HD Audio track - or it'll play the film overdubbed in German.

Defaulted to 2.35:1 aspect ratio (bars on top and bottom) or even stretched to full screen - the picture quality is absolutely beautiful throughout and as already mentioned - the audio is warm, full and gorgeous.

The extras feature interviews with all the lead cast filmed in Hi Def (how they approached the roles and working with the other actors) and Director Ol Parker heaping praise on his cast (especially Dakota Fanning for 'going for it'). There's also Deleted Scenes and a very long behind the cameras B-Roll segment with the actors and crew (shots of Brighton Beach and Town, White Cliffs Of Dover, Epping Forest, Leyton Ice Rink).

Like many - I came to this movie not expecting much and was more than surprised - I was moved. Using the parlance - "Now Is Good" is smart enough to keep it real - and by doing so - has captured in film and sound a loveliness that is rare. Well done to all involved.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)