Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bumble You Know & Love
I can't believe David Lloyd is an acquired taste. If you love cricket, you have to love him. This book gives you everything you know and love about Bumble via his opinions on the history of the Ashes.

At times I was laughing out loud and its written in the same inimitable style that Lloyd brings to the commentary booth. There are flights of fancy, off-topic...
Published 18 months ago by IWFIcon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia ain't what it used to be ....until you read this book..
Being the same age as the Author and shared a love of cricket for the same period this book constantly reminded me of how time has flown. I kept thinking, surely it cant be that long ago when that happened but it certainly was.
Having watched cricket in Australia and England this series of facts, figures and memories from the only Test Series that really matters was...
Published 19 months ago by Tellboy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bumble You Know & Love, 18 July 2013
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I can't believe David Lloyd is an acquired taste. If you love cricket, you have to love him. This book gives you everything you know and love about Bumble via his opinions on the history of the Ashes.

At times I was laughing out loud and its written in the same inimitable style that Lloyd brings to the commentary booth. There are flights of fancy, off-topic asides and more than a little genuine cricket knowledge to boot. It features tales about his own specific involvement in ashes series along with more general anecdotes and is never less than engrossing.

If you love Cricket then this is a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bumble: entertaining and very funny read, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. L. R. O. Mowbray "omow" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book for my dad but read it first and really enjoyed it. If you're a fan of Bumble's commentary you won't be disappointed - his voice really comes through and it's packed with great stories from Ashes series down the years (his description of getting hit in the 'coconuts' by Aussie fast-bowler Jeff Thompson is laugh out loud funny). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bumbling along, again!, 15 July 2013
By 
Peter J Godliman (Slough) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The text is written in true David Lloyd style. His personal recollections of events and incidents during the Ashes series, both recent, and not so recent, are truly amusing.

If you have heard "Bumble" commentating you will know he has a very engaging manner that really makes one want to listen to what he has to say. His "The Ashes according to Bumble" so captures his devilment that reading it is almost as though he were there with you, actually reading the book to you.

This book refers to some rather well known events, but Bumble gives them a different feeling - one of pure magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crickets Sid Waddell..., 5 July 2013
By 
John "John75222" (Leeds, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Every sport needs its Sid Waddell type commentator. Someone who can transmit their enthusiasm and love of the game through knowledgeable and distinctive commentary, which occasionally gives way to wonderfully funny hyperbole - sometimes intentional, sometimes not. Having grown up listening to TMS with Brian Johnstone, Henry Blofeld, Christopher M-J, Bill Frindall, et al. Bumble epitomises that type of commentator; someone who can add value to commentary with anecdotes of his time playing with and being around some of the characters of the game. This isn't Nobel Literature Prize material but if you enjoy cricket and are looking forward to our battle with the old enemy this summer it is very funny, and you can just hear Bumble's Lancashire accent mashing his way through it. Sets up the summer Ashes Tour quite nicely. Remember if it all goes pear shaped: "Get ready to start the car".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia ain't what it used to be ....until you read this book.., 4 July 2013
By 
Tellboy (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Being the same age as the Author and shared a love of cricket for the same period this book constantly reminded me of how time has flown. I kept thinking, surely it cant be that long ago when that happened but it certainly was.
Having watched cricket in Australia and England this series of facts, figures and memories from the only Test Series that really matters was enjoyable from start to finish.
The book is bang up to date with England having won the test series in India and with the Ashes 2013/14 , home and away matches just starting and being back to back,this time we are in for a stressful time yet again.
I remember Bumble fondly on Test Match Special on BBC Radio and did not follow him across to Sky Sports alas but this book has made up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts..., 8 July 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found this a mixed bag of a book. The 200 or so pages which are actually about David Lloyd's personal involvement in The Ashes as player, coach and commentator are pretty good, but there's some very thin stuff and some out-and-out padding, too. If you like Bumble's sense of humour you may well love this book. I'm not so keen on it myself so I didn't find it as hilarious as some people, but he's a knowledgeable and thoughtful bloke under the oh-so-jokey persona and there was enough here to make me glad I'd read it.

The meat of the book is Bumble's personal thoughts and experiences of The Ashes (including, of course, the Thommo at Perth incident which causes every male cricket lover to wince and cross his legs at its very mention), and his thoughts and insights into the players, staff and tactics are well worth reading. It's not the best-written of books, with, an especially idiosyncratic, use of commas. This, coupled with the lightweight rush through some Ashes history to start with, and two frankly dire chapters toward the end which consist of unfunny "comedy" stuff about his wife, his local football club and random press cuttings about sexual practices made me think that this had been padded and rushed out in time to cash in on the 2013 series rather than properly, thoughtfully written and edited. And the cover...dear Lord!

I've given this four stars (just) because I did enjoy the real Ashes stuff and found it interesting and quite often insightful. It's not a great book by any means, but there's enough here to provide a couple of diverting hours between Test Matches.

(Oh, and nothing to do with the overall quality of the book, but he's picked an "All-Time Ashes XI" which doesn't include Bradman. That's right. No Bradman. I mean, come on, Bumble - there's a difference between being a cross-grained individualist and being plain wrong, mate.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utterly bonkers, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
Darren Simons (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have not previously read a book by David Lloyd (aka Bumble) but having listened to him many times commentating on TV this is exactly the sort of book I expected. There's lots of insight into the Ashes, a sense of Lloyd's experiences as a player, coach and umpire (albeit not umpiring the Ashes) and a brief introduction to the life of a cricketer. He doesn't mince his words, and I particularly liked the verbal slap he gives Ian Botham who continuously looks to outdo his fellow commentator with the line "How many Test wickets did you get?" only to stop the nonsense once Shane Warne became a co-commentator (and who has a lot more wickets).

Much of the book is spent describing the pain he felt when a fast bowler caught him where his protection didn't work (far too much is spent on that), there's a chapter about his wife (which has no relevance to the book at all) and at various points he writes about West Indian cricketers and some fellow players from the county scene.

It really is all over the place, but you would somehow expect that of Bumble. Definitely one for the cricket fans.

And if Mr Botham is reading this review.. yes, I got zero!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashes according to Bumble, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought it for my dad on Father's day- he loved it- he is a huge cricket fan. Come on lancashire!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining history of The Ashes, 8 Aug. 2013
By 
Junior Hornet "hornet123" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you have read David Lloyd's earlier book, "Start The Car" or ever heard him commentate on the cricket, then you'll have a fair idea what to expect here. Lloyd, affectionately known as Bumble (apparently because of his resemblance to a Michael Bentine Potty Time character of the same name)guides us through Ashes history, concentrating mainly on classic series plus those in which he has been involved as player, coach or commentator.

The joy of the book for me was that I found that I was reading it in his voice (in my head, not out loud, possibly because I listened to Star The Car as an audiobook. This added to the enjoyment because I could imagine him actually saying these things.

Nothing much more to add other that it's classic Bumble. If you enjoy him and/or enjoy cricket, you'll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Musings of Bumble, 14 Sept. 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you follow cricket at all, there is little doubt that you are going to love David Lloyd aka Bumble's musings on the Ashes. There are plenty of personal anecdotes and reflections here that give a real insight into what goes on during an Ashes series. David Lloyd covers the significant aspects of historical Ashes series such as the notorious Bodyline, but mainly sticks to the more recent past of which he has personal experience and knows just about all the characters involved. As you read this book you can almost hear him commentating it!

This is a book which kept me smiling throughout and you can dip in and out of it as the mood takes you. It is also the perfect and thoughtful gift for any cricketing enthusiast. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews