Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magical harley lights up birmingham
A superb orchestra with a wonderful choir and a cast of great players all came together to help Steve Harley give the performance of his legendary career ( so far!).Birmingham is a must for any music fan who loves a true live performance with heart soul and passion.The Human Menagerie and The Psychomodo are to be played live again with an Orchestra and choir at...
Published 9 months ago by Cousin Stew

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Steve, Steve, Steve..
Only three stars from me I'm afraid. It is great to see the concert but to be honest the camera work was awful. Very amateur, I was expecting the sort of filming you can see on the youtube version of Sebastian with the orchestra. Very disappointed. Watched it on not the best telly so can't comment on the sound quality yet but I am hoping that will be good. This man has...
Published 8 months ago by B. Farrell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magical harley lights up birmingham, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel: Birmingham - Live With Orchestra & Choir [DVD] (DVD)
A superb orchestra with a wonderful choir and a cast of great players all came together to help Steve Harley give the performance of his legendary career ( so far!).Birmingham is a must for any music fan who loves a true live performance with heart soul and passion.The Human Menagerie and The Psychomodo are to be played live again with an Orchestra and choir at Manchester's Bridgewater Hall in April 2014, well worth a visit to a brilliant venue and to hear two of the best albums of the 70's in all their glory!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - A Rock Band with Choir & Orchestra, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel: Birmingham - Live With Orchestra & Choir [DVD] (DVD)
Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel - Still recording and still performing great gigs, including this 'Special' the first two Cockney Rebel albums performed with choir & orchestra and with the original arranger on board too! Mr Harley in my opinion for so long has been underrated but once viewed, this DVD must surely put him up there with the greats - longevity, he's got it.... and there's more to come with new shows in this format being planned for 2014 including the Royal Albert Hall... bring it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 Years a fan and loving it still, 18 Oct 2013
This review is from: Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel: Birmingham - Live With Orchestra & Choir [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw CR in 1973 and have seen Steve about 39 times since. I don't like the word fan but I couldn't think of anything else....

The DVDs are truly fantastic.

All SH and CR fans should have this in their collection

One song that I never really liked was actually a stand out here and that is "My Only Vice" along with the hits Chameleon and Death Trip were eerily like the album.

Thanks Steve. See you in Manchester 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harley Rules - See him in action, 31 Oct 2013
By 
J. A. Baines - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel: Birmingham - Live With Orchestra & Choir [DVD] (DVD)
If you have never seen this guy and his tip top professional band accompanying him spend £!0 of your hard earned pounds, or beg, steal and borrow from a friend who has exquiste musical taste. You will be hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cockney rebel, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel: Birmingham - Live With Orchestra & Choir [DVD] (DVD)
astounding performance in Birmingham with an orchestra of the first 2 cockney rebel albums. death trip as it was meant to be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ageing gracefully?, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel: Birmingham - Live With Orchestra & Choir [DVD] (DVD)
In November 1973, myself and some mates gatecrashed a Southampton University gig to see Cockney Rebel, on their first tour dates ever. That group image and music has stayed with me ever since. Now exactly 40 years on, Steve Harley with the help of original musical arranger, Andrew Powell, has reproduced the first 2 albums seamlessly note for note, and it is exceptional. The orchestration is true to the original and even more powerful in the context of a Symphony Hall. Steve Harley still has a strong voice, and can still carry these songs as he did all those years ago. I will be hoping to see them live in 2014 when they play the Royal Albert Hall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Concert to savour., 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel: Birmingham - Live With Orchestra & Choir [DVD] (DVD)
This a five star concert by a five star artist. The albums that contained the songs performed here live were written in the 70's. They sound as fresh and alive today. The performance of Sebastion is outstanding and when you get to Death Trip it will leave you speechless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the Rebel !, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. S. Lane (U.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel: Birmingham - Live With Orchestra & Choir [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the DVD's last night. I was a bit dubious whether the Choir & Orchestra could compare with the original albums, but they all did a fantastic job. With Steve Norman's sax/percussion, and the excellent Barry Wickens on mandolin/violin this is a very good concert. I agree with previous reviews that the camera work could have been a little better, but the music makes up for this. Ok, so there is a couple of strained notes, but Steve being 62, his voice isn't going to be the same as 40 years ago, but he still does a great job. The stand out tracks, in my opinion, are Sebastian (as always, great live), Death Trip, Ritz & Cavaliers. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1974 revisited., 12 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel: Birmingham - Live With Orchestra & Choir [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, as a lifelong fan I thought I knew what to expect, but this was beyond my expectations. Sure, SH fluffed a couple of lines (auto-cue maybe too small), struggled a couple of times to reach the heights on certain tracks, but all in all, a superb effort from a master of the twisted lyric. Sebastien, Cavaliers, Black on White, and the truly remarkable Death Wish all performed to his usual high standard, supported by choir, arranger and musicians who all seemed to have fully bought into the idea and ethos behind CR.
As to the crowd, when they stood and started singing the traditional "oh dear look what they've done to the blues , blues , blues", even Steve was transported back to the heady days of 1974 when all concerts ended to the sound of this anthem.
I will try to get to see this live, but if I cannot, then I have at least experienced this on DVD, and enjoyed hearing and seeing a longtime hero recreate history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel: Birmingham - Live With Orchestra & Choir [DVD] (DVD)
The consert was awesome. Sound is great, although would have been released as a blue-ray format. Going to see this one in Royal Albert Hall this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews