Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Moby
Moby is a man who seems as hated as much as he is loved. Not sure why, the guy makes music for a living, he isn't out there clubbing baby seals.

Innocents is a very polished album that contains all of the usual Moby elements that make up his albums, wavery piano notes, smoky female vocalists, archive folk songs, a healthy dose of files from a folder in his...
Published 9 months ago by Brian Hamilton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It has its moments
I have a growing number of Moby albums and this is the latest addition. As an artist Moby is very creative and has produced some excellent work, of which I have really enjoyed listening too. However, on this album there are a few outstanding tracks but many seem to be like old friends dressed in different clothes. To be honest I have had to listen to this 4 or 5 times to...
Published 2 months ago by Dangerous Dave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Moby can do no wrong., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
Another super album by Moby . I just buy whatever he brings out because I know I'll like it. He deffinately changes with the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Innocents (MP3 Download)
first ever Moby CD but it wont be the last. Cant stop playing it, great tracks, all different, interesting collaborations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Briliant album, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Innocents (Audio CD)
A brilliant album there is not a track I dislike. I am a great fan of Moby and think this is one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Moby Fans, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
Quite simply another ecliptic mix of what Moby does best. Different voices to stirring tunes. Its easy listening at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Return to form for Moby, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
I wasn't impressed by the last Moby album I bought but I really like this one, similar to stars rather than Hotel, which i think is more upbeat. If you like Moby in general you are bound to like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise Birthday Present, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
This CD was a surprise present & is played almost every day. It's driving me up the wall!
Excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is just awesome !, 12 Nov 2013
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
I won't bang on about individual tracks ! There are no 'blockbusters' here but instead a collection of unique, considered, beautiful tunes/songs. I think this is the best sounding ALBUM that Moby has produced since 'Play'.
It is consistently atmospheric throughout, dreamscapes with beautiful vocal guests & plenty of 'Moby-strings' ,this is how i want moby to sound & it really does sound like it comes from his heart unlike some other stuff in recent years with that pull toward pleasing the club crowd....None of that here, just real music.
Blessings Moby for this, an collection of songs to cherish for years !!! ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moby's best album since 'Play', 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
I am a loyal fan of Moby and have followed his work since developing an obsession with 'Go' and David Lynch's 'Twin Peaks'. I remember buying 'Play' before it became the monster album that most people own. In my view, 'Innocents' is his best work since then. In the past, some of his albums have been experimental and not very mainstream; others have felt a bit too techno and 'trendy' for NY night-clubs. This album has the odd mainstream track but is mostly melodic, calming and provides a classic sound. I would recommend the EP if you upgrade to the double CD because there are at least three tracks on there which are stand-out tunes. Pleasantly surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Washed over me, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Innocents (Audio CD)
Moby - I buy all his stuff - love it... but this one was disappointing. It felt so much like some of his other stuff - but without the factor that makes it unique. When I first heard Destroyed I knew I was on to a winner. Hearing this for the first time just felt like a trip to Tescos. Nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innocents is Moby's most creative, compelling and engaging album since Play, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
2013 has been a great year for electronic music so far, with many of the greats returned and delivering some of their best works in a long time. So far this year we had Ulrich Schnauss return with his first album under his own name in five years delivering another dreamy ambient album A Long Way to Fall, Tricky releasing a new album similar to the sound with his debut Maxinquaye with False Idols, Karl Hyde from Underworld releasing his stellar debut solo album Edgeland, Daft Punk saving dance music from the recycled corporate hands of will.i.am, while also giving it a new edge with the excellent Random Access Memories, Boards of Canada releasing their first album in eight years with the brilliant Tomorrow's Harvest, BT returning to his pure old skool roots in the trance genre while also updating it marvelously in A Song Across Wires, and coming up, we have VNV Nation releasing their new album titled Transnational.

Now, we have Moby, who just released his eleventh studio album this week, Innocents recreates a lot of the material that has worked to his advantage over a decade ago with Play, while also throwing the best elements from his last couple of albums (mainly Wait for Me and Destroyed) resulting in an album that is rich, pure, soothing, hugely sentimental and beautifully uplifting.

However this time, he's not doing the album on his own. For the very first time, he's worked with an outside producer named Mark "Spike" Stent, a grammy-award winning producer who's worked with just about everyone in pop including Madonna, U2, Coldplay, Oasis, Muse, Ellie Goulding, Pink, Keane and Lady Gaga just to name a few. He even worked with one of the electronic greats like Björk and Massive Attack.

He also invited many guests vocalists on the record as well, including Cold Specks singing superbly on "A Case for Shame" and "Tell Me", Damien Jurado delivering dreamy vocals on "Almost Home", Wayne Coyne from The Flaming Lips sings with Moby on the gospel-chanting uplifting "The Perfect Life", Skylar Grey gives a wonderful performance on "The Last Day", Inyang Bassey singing brilliantly on the catchy "Don't Love Me" and Mark Lanegen (Screaming Trees, Queens of the Stone Age) giving a haunting and rich raspy vocal on the emotionally driven "The Lonely Night".

Even with having all these guest vocalists and another producer on board, it doesn't distract that it's still a Moby album and he manages to steal the show giving a nice performance on the album closer "The Dogs" and also delivering an excellent EP if you buy the deluxe version titled "Everyone Is Gone", a thirty minute EP that once again shows off his great skills in making ambient music that is just as good as the main album.

He stills throws in his usual shtick on some of the tracks, but here, it is used with great effect. "Everything that Rises" serves as a brilliant opener that showcases what he has in store for the rest of the album, "Going Wrong" is a nice, soothing, piano-driven listen, "A Long Time" is another great vocal-sampled song and "The Saints" sounds a lot like Massive Attack's "Unfinished Sympathy", which is not a bad thing.

With superb collaborators and a great producer and with Moby always at the centre of everything and obviously the main attraction, Innocents is the most creative, compelling and engaging album that Moby has put out since Play and one of the best albums I've had the pleasure of listening to this year. It's up there with Karl Hyde's Edgeland, Boards of Canada's Tomorrow's Harvest and Daft Punk's Random Access Memories as one of the best electronic albums of 2013.

Track Picks

Innocents (Main Album):

1. Everything that Rises
2. A Case for Shame (with Cold Specks) ✔
3. Almost Home (with Damien Jurado)
4. Going Wrong
5. The Perfect Life (with Wayne Coyne) ✔
6. The Last Day (with Skylar Grey) ✔
7. Don't Love Me (with Inyang Bassey)
8. A Long Time
9. Saints
10. Tell Me (with Cold Specks) ✔
11. The Lonely Night (with Mark Lanegan) ✔
12. The Dogs

Innocents (Everyone Is Gone EP)

1. I Tried ✔
2. Illot Mollo ✔
3. Miss Lantern ✔
4. Blindness
5. Everyone Is Gone
6. My Machines

DW Rating: ★★★★
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

INNOCENTS
INNOCENTS by Moby (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews