Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - But Not His Best
'Paradise Valley' is the sixth studio album from the seasoned singer/songwriter/guitarist John Mayer.

Mayer's protean talent is unmistakable and this is another truly enjoyable record; one that builds upon his cliche "return to roots" guided by producer Don Was. His move back to blues (which never really disappeared from his music in the first place) begun with...
Published 12 months ago by Adam Finn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best effort
Have loved Johm Mayers work so far but this album seems a bit lightweight, not a single track that i wanted to go back and listen to again. his last album born and Raised was better in my eyes, and nothing in here to match "gravity" or "belief" from his earlier work
Published 11 months ago by D. Shanks


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - But Not His Best, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Adam Finn (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paradise Valley (Audio CD)
'Paradise Valley' is the sixth studio album from the seasoned singer/songwriter/guitarist John Mayer.

Mayer's protean talent is unmistakable and this is another truly enjoyable record; one that builds upon his cliche "return to roots" guided by producer Don Was. His move back to blues (which never really disappeared from his music in the first place) begun with Born and Raised last year. Geographically, 'Paradise Valley' is more Montana than the California-esque Born and Raised; as suggested by the slightly awkward artwork (is that really Don Was on the back cover with John?!). This is now where John Mayer lives.

Following Born and Raised there was a concern that the return of his throat issues may spell the end of his career. Thankfully Mayer's vocals are back on track. There is a nasal-twang reminiscent of David Gray (such as on 'Waitin' On The Day') and his voice sounds suitably developed.

This now well matured voice is complimentary to some of his best produced music to date. The catchy opener and closer for the record are about as upbeat as the album really gets but within there are some intensely honest moments, without quite reaching the peaks met in Continuum. My particular favourite is the cover of the late J.J. Cale's 'Call Me The Breeze' and his fitting collaboration with Katy Perry is surprisingly sophisticated.

On the negative side his most catchy offering, 'Paper Doll' (apparently in response to Taylor Swift) is on the surface quite childish and hypocritical following his own comments about her track. Also the rather indolent reprise from Frank Ocean is nothing more than an unashamed plug and sours what could have been another classic. Instead the album, which only just clocks in at 40 minutes (his shorted to date) is slightly unfulfilled but still brimming with undeniable talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Valley (Audio CD)
We all really loved the style of the songs on this album which has a really great authentic country sound. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Valley (Audio CD)
Excellent album, John Mayer is amazing. Bought this and another album as a gift as I already have them, excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glad to hear the sound of John Mayer again (vocally) and that Fabulous guitar playing, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Valley (Audio CD)
Paradise Valley is not Born and Raised and it's not Continuum. But it is a good offering of a time filler, to keep us amused and entertained while there is work in progress. John Mayer's own words were that not all albums can be brilliant or #No.1, if they were, then #No.1 would mean nothing. This is a great #No.2!!! Subtle and chilled songs that (as usual) mirror Mayer's mood in his biographical type song writing - you are lead to believe he is in a much better place. Can't wait for the next album, but enjoying this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always good, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Valley (Audio CD)
John Mayer is such an accomplished musician. I haven't had a chance to play this a lot yet as I was lucky and received many CDs for Christmas but I really rate it so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice album., 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Valley (Audio CD)
Good quality album as ever from John Mayer. It was a nice stocking filler gift for my husband and he likes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New music to me, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Valley (Audio CD)
My kids were amazed and impressed I had this music. I heard a track on the Bob Harris radio show and liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It took time for me!, 27 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Paradise Valley (Audio CD)
I am a die-hard John Mayer fan but I was really disappointed with this album at first. After listening it to for a while it has proved to be as good as all his other albums. Thanks John!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars chilled and relaxing, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. D. Wiffen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Valley (Audio CD)
This album grows on you and has a superb collection of chilled songs, one of his best albums to date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise valley, paradise CD, 18 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Valley (Audio CD)
Saw John Mayer in concert, and so bought the CD. As good as you would expect from such a talented singer/songwriter. Energy and talent abound, and shine through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paradise Valley
Paradise Valley by John Mayer (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews