Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Management Book From a Quality Player
I was initially drawn to this book by a Tweet by Bill Gates, and drawn further in when I read the reasons why he is giving all the royalties to charity ([...]). Having read it I can say it is one of the best business books I have read.
The book begins with a long description of the author's journey in the business world, a true roller-coaster ride through the worst...
Published 17 months ago by Nigel Ainscoe

versus
40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Hard Thing about Reading This Twaddle
This is a book set firmly, despite desperately trying to appear otherwise, in the "entrepreneur as hero" genre. This guy really believes that he, and he alone, could make or break a company. Breathlessly he tells of how he faced "total destruction" and personal bankruptcy in one company he was involved with. Really? Not smart enough to invest any of your...
Published 6 months ago by Jim 8888


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great management read, 28 April 2014
By 
Scott Schnaars (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers (Kindle Edition)
Loved the history behind Opsware and how Ben was really honest about the struggles that he faced and how, by embracing the struggle, he was able to be successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you are a Start-Up CEO or running a Tech business, there are practical lessons of value in this book, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the honesty of the trauma and challenges CEO's face in starting, building and operating Tech companies.
The practical advice will provide CEO's and 'aspirant CEO's' with a framework of variables to consider when facing some of the tough challenges we never expect are going to occur.
I would use this book as excellent mentoring material to discuss with new and experienced executives of Software and Technology businesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent no-none sense start up and management advise book, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers (Kindle Edition)
It is unusual to get a book without mumbo-jumbo or feel-good advise. Very well written, explained and delivered with the right sets of practical examples. Highly advisable for entrepreneurs and managers in entrepreneurial companies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real, raw and entertaining. Also a tonne of great contect, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers (Kindle Edition)
A great read, an honest account from Ben on the trials of being a technology CEO. Read it, you'll learn a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, full of insights and food for thought.
Ben brings to the table not only his experience of 'having done it' but a significant analysis capacity to extract value from his experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book on management, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers (Kindle Edition)
One of the best business books I have ever read. The best thing about it is that it is told from experience and not theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best business books i've read, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers (Kindle Edition)
down to earth business management advice from someone who had done it all in the trenches - and came out the other side. tons of great advice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best ..., 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers (Kindle Edition)
This is one if the best business books I have ever read, and it would be my first recommendation for anyone who runs or aspires to run a business. It is full of direct, authentic, usable guidance from someone who has really been there. If you run a business and need a mentor, start with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Going to read it again., 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm going to read this book again. It has some of the best takes on difficult situations founders of start-ups face. Start-ups are not easy and face many decisions with no clear right or wrong answer. This book will help anybody prepare better for these situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best business book I've ever read, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Thing About Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers (Kindle Edition)
This is a fantastic book. I read a lot of books with regard to building organisations - but this is by far the best. Well written, concise and pragmatic. A lot of expletives which nearly lost it a star, but very down to earth and practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews