Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Factual and Funny - a great read
A thoroughly riveting guide to a part of Europe shrouded in mystery to most Western Europeans. Each city is dealt with in just enough detail to give the reader a sense of life without becoming boring. A great read, I would love to see a video series of a similar trip.
Published 11 months ago by Thomas Corcoran

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable and well researched travel book
Liked the background history to each destination . Some of the minor observations and anecdotes were weak and unworthy of print. eg . Dog taking a crap under a table ! Found a "conflict" in treating the book as 2 lads out on a Balkan adventure on a limited budget eg. living off pizza slices etc. and yet jumping in taxis at 170 euros a throw !
Published 18 months ago by Tony Lobaczewski


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable and well researched travel book, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balkan Odyssey: Travels around the former Yugoslavia...oh, and Albania too! (Kindle Edition)
Liked the background history to each destination . Some of the minor observations and anecdotes were weak and unworthy of print. eg . Dog taking a crap under a table ! Found a "conflict" in treating the book as 2 lads out on a Balkan adventure on a limited budget eg. living off pizza slices etc. and yet jumping in taxis at 170 euros a throw !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Factual and Funny - a great read, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balkan Odyssey: Travels around the former Yugoslavia...oh, and Albania too! (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly riveting guide to a part of Europe shrouded in mystery to most Western Europeans. Each city is dealt with in just enough detail to give the reader a sense of life without becoming boring. A great read, I would love to see a video series of a similar trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great introduction to fascinating countries!!, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balkan Odyssey: Travels around the former Yugoslavia...oh, and Albania too! (Kindle Edition)
Written in a friendly style, this booklet combines history with geography, humour and humanity! I loved it, learnt loads, and am pondering a similar journey!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect fitting to the Balkans peninsula, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantastic book, A must read the Balkans are a fascinating part of the world with culture, religion and flavour all packed into a small corner !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable romp, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balkan Odyssey: Travels around the former Yugoslavia...oh, and Albania too! (Kindle Edition)
Not an area you can usually read about in this way so enjoyable and interesting.Tendency to be a bit flippant at times but overall a good romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Buy!, 26 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balkan Odyssey: Travels around the former Yugoslavia...oh, and Albania too! (Kindle Edition)
Have just finished this wonderful little book and am looking forward to reading more by the same author. Just the sort of book I like - enough history to keep you interested without being dry (I share the author's opinion on museums!) and great personal stories. Brought back memories of my trip to Belgrade and has whetted my appetite to explore more of the Balkan region. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 3 Aug. 2014
By 
M. J. Youngs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balkan Odyssey: Travels around the former Yugoslavia...oh, and Albania too! (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable and informative. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a really good book.. different, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balkan Odyssey: Travels around the former Yugoslavia...oh, and Albania too! (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this offering from Jason smart.. he travelled around the Balkans and gave a bit of history of the area s as he went.. some not at all pleasant and hard to stomach.. I undersatnd he has written another book and that is next on my wish list.. It made a change to read about a place warts and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent trip, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balkan Odyssey: Travels around the former Yugoslavia...oh, and Albania too! (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed revisiting places I visited in the Balkans three years ago on an Explore holiday: Journey through the Balkans. I've yet to go to Albania but Jason made me want to visit the bits of the Balkans we didn't visit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A whistle stop tour of the Balkans, 27 April 2014
By 
Miss J. M. Austin (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balkan Odyssey: Travels around the former Yugoslavia...oh, and Albania too! (Kindle Edition)
I love books like this, as they a nice quick and easy read on a subject that I love (travel), presenting an opportunity to cover several possibly difficult to find countries in one book for the Around the World Reading Challenge. Smart has written a whole series of books on his adventures around the world, and they are all very well priced at no more than £3.99 each. I suspect I shall end up reading every single one of them.

I enjoyed his witty writing, detailing a whistle stop tour of the former Yugoslavia, not forgetting of course Albania, which had to be included as Smart and his travelling companion Michael had to travel through Albania to get to some of the other countries they visited. Smart gently pokes fun at his travelling companion who is walking satnav with a love of museums, unlike Smart himself who has not a cultural bone in his body. Somehow they get along without killing each other, which is sadly more than be said for those who inhabit these former Yugoslav states.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews