Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a good light great
I use two unbranded CREE lights (£25 ish models) on my mountain bike for night time off-road riding - tow paths and similar. One mounted to my helmet and the other on my handlebars. These lights are fantastic value and put out a lot of light for a decent amount of time but it is a very concentrated spot light.

This simple diffuser, replaces the original clear...
Published 14 months ago by L. Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, could be a lot better.
As others have noted, the main problem with 1000 & 1200 lumen lights is the very bright spot created by the LED chip. Although some lights have 'orange peel' reflectors to spread the beam a bit, you still end up with a very intense spot surrounded by a relatively dimmer area. The dim area is still lit, but the bright bit tends to make it look dark. The idea of the...
Published 13 months ago by AndyR


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a good light great, 16 Oct 2013
By 
L. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C&B SEEN WIDE ANGLE/DIFFUSER LENS FOR 1000/1200 LUMEN BIKE LIGHTS (Misc.)
I use two unbranded CREE lights (£25 ish models) on my mountain bike for night time off-road riding - tow paths and similar. One mounted to my helmet and the other on my handlebars. These lights are fantastic value and put out a lot of light for a decent amount of time but it is a very concentrated spot light.

This simple diffuser, replaces the original clear one - you just unscrew the light and replace the existing one. Takes 5 mins.

The effect is quite dramatic - the light changes from a spot to a rectangular wide beam which still seems just as bright but is now much more usable on both trails and road.

The item comes in a simple jiffy bag with a small instruction sheet. For less than a fiver, I think it's an essential purchase if you're using these CREE lights, especially if you're running two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C&B SEEN WIDE ANGLE/DIFFUSER LENS FOR 1000/1200 LUMEN BIKE LIGHTS (Misc.)
I bought a couple of those cheap(but surprisingly good) bike lights earlier this year, the lights are great, really bright for the money but the beam pattern is a bit focused, this lens more or less cures that problem spreading the beam out enough to see the edge of the trail, without a noticeable loss of brightness. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, could be a lot better., 18 Nov 2013
This review is from: C&B SEEN WIDE ANGLE/DIFFUSER LENS FOR 1000/1200 LUMEN BIKE LIGHTS (Misc.)
As others have noted, the main problem with 1000 & 1200 lumen lights is the very bright spot created by the LED chip. Although some lights have 'orange peel' reflectors to spread the beam a bit, you still end up with a very intense spot surrounded by a relatively dimmer area. The dim area is still lit, but the bright bit tends to make it look dark. The idea of the diffuser is to spread the beam to make the brighter area bigger.

First the plus points. I suspect the housings for most lights that come out of China, (be they used on higher-end branded ranges, or the £3.99 no-brand models that might set your house on fire during charging), tend to come out of the same factories. Therefore the lenses are very similar in size. Before purchase unscrew the housing on your light and pop the glass out and check the diameter (bet it's about the same). Fitting the diffuser is simple, just replace the clear glass with the diffuser.

Provided you've fitted it with the ridges vertical, (as shown in the picture), the single round spot will now be replaced by a horizontal 'bar', which is still pretty much as bright as the original spot. The advantage of this is that as well as being able to see that brightly illuminated rock in front of you on the dirt track, you can now see either side of it and pick the best route to avoid it. On the road you have much brighter views of the gutter and kerb. It's a definite improvement on a clear lens.

Now the minus points. The vertical bars ridges the beam well horizontally, but it could do with some horizontal ridges to widen the horizontal 'bar' to give a greater depth of field by diffusing the light even further. You'd lose some brightness, but there's more than enough brightness to begin with, and the wider flood would be far more useable. It's possible the overall effect will vary depending on the reflector design of your light, and you may get better or worse results than I've experienced.

On the whole well worth the purchase cost, but with a bit more thought it could have been much better. It certainly doesn't deserve the one star review, but nor is it a solid 5. I give it 3 and a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great investment, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C&B SEEN WIDE ANGLE/DIFFUSER LENS FOR 1000/1200 LUMEN BIKE LIGHTS (Misc.)
The lens fitted perfectly and the spread of light over the path and surrounding area is brilliant.
Worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C&B SEEN WIDE ANGLE/DIFFUSER LENS FOR 1000/1200 LUMEN BIKE LIGHTS (Misc.)
Purchased this to give me a wider beam on my C&B Seen light and it does a superb job. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light lens, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: C&B SEEN WIDE ANGLE/DIFFUSER LENS FOR 1000/1200 LUMEN BIKE LIGHTS (Misc.)
Great item which was delivered fast , the item fitted in seconds and what a difference it makes , changes light from high main spot light to wide area beam great for night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars looks like nothing, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C&B SEEN WIDE ANGLE/DIFFUSER LENS FOR 1000/1200 LUMEN BIKE LIGHTS (Misc.)
its very small & looks like a waste of time, wrong once its in it does the job & realy spreads the light about. best use on your road bike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works a treat, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C&B SEEN WIDE ANGLE/DIFFUSER LENS FOR 1000/1200 LUMEN BIKE LIGHTS (Misc.)
It really does bend the light out widthways, just the job. Perhaps it could cost less as it is just plastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spread your beam, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C&B SEEN WIDE ANGLE/DIFFUSER LENS FOR 1000/1200 LUMEN BIKE LIGHTS (Misc.)
Diffuses a bike light /headlamp beam for cycling into a fairly generous swathe.

Would I buy again? .... YES!..Certainly

Rob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wide Angle Diffuser Lens, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C&B SEEN WIDE ANGLE/DIFFUSER LENS FOR 1000/1200 LUMEN BIKE LIGHTS (Misc.)
Good product at a good price
Got this for my sons light and he says it works very well at spreading the beam of light so you see more of road
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews